Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Taranaki, Hawke's Bay & Wellington Provincial Districts]

The Hawke's Bay United Hospital and Charitable Aid Board

The Hawke's Bay United Hospital and Charitable Aid Board manages the charitable finances of an extensive district. It levies contributions on the counties of Hawke's Bay, Waipawa, Wairoa, and Patangata, and on the boroughs of Napier, Hastings, Woodville, and Dannevirke. There are really three distinct boards elected by the county councils, borough councils, and contributors. The Charitable Aid District, being much larger than the others, sends a greater proportion of members, though almost the same persons represent the three different Boards. The United District Charitable Aid Board, which controls the Old Men's Home, consists of seventeen members; the Napier Hospital Trustees are eleven in number; and the Hawke's Bay Hospital District Board, which controls the Wairoa Hospital, is composed of nine members.