The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Canterbury Provincial District]
Mr. Daniel Inwood
Mr. Daniel Inwood who was well known in the early days of Christchurch, was born at Alton, Hampshire, England, in 1803, and came to Canterbury, in 1850, by the historic ship “Sir George Seymour.” Mr. Inwood, who had been engaged in milling and farming in England, was advised by Mr. Felix Wakefield, who was known to him in the Old Country, to try New Zealand, where Mr Wakefield considered there was a brighter and better prospect for Mr. Inwood and his young family than in England. Mr. Inwood accordingly left with his family in the “Sir George Seymour,” by which he also brought out machinery for a flour mill. It was Mr. Inwood who erected at Fendalton the first flour mill on the Plains. After working it for seven years, he built, on the Avon, at Christchurch, the flour mill which was so long known as the “City Hill”; and which was afterwards purchased by Mr. Lane: the building was long one of the landmarks of Christchurch, and was demolished only a few years ago. On disposing of the City Mill, Mr. Inwood purchased page 366 the large property at Southbridge, on which his sons have since resided, and also erected at the picturesque village of Winchester, another flour mill which was long worked by one of his sons. In the latter years of his life Mr. Inwood lived in retirement at Fendalton until his death in 1878, when he left a widow, five sons and one daughter. Mr. Inwood was of a retiring disposition, and except that he had a seat on the Riccarton Road Board, he took no part in the politics of the day.