Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Spike or Victoria University College Review 1948

Tennis Club

Tennis Club

With a membership of about 70 members, the Tennis Club has come to the end of another successful season. Although we did not repeat last year's achievement of winning the Tournament Tennis Shield, we did come runners-up equal with Canterbury with 11 points. Otago were the winners with 13 points. This result may have been somewhat different if our two top players, Lorna Ngata and Ben O'Connor, had been available for play. Lack of combination in the doubles was the main fault, and although good resolutions were made to choose the team early in the New Year and so give them the opportunity to practise together, these were not acted upon, and many members of the team were quite unfamiliar with each other's play. It was bad luck, also, that Joan Robbins was not able to play at the last moment.

Hugh Davidson and Jack Walls, however, lived up to all expectations by winning the Men's Doubles from Canterbury's top pair. Hugh and Avis Reed also reached the final of the Combined Doubles and were unlucky to lose to Jean MacGibbon and White of Canterbury in the third set. Jack Walls also

page 49

reached the final of the Men's Singles; our two Women's Doubles pairs, Elwyn Coull and Loris Webley, and Suzanne Ilott and Gillian Foden, and the second Combined pair, Loris Webley and Bill Pritchard, all reached the semi-finals. Bill and Jim McIvor were beaten in the first round of the Men's Doubles, and Roy McKenzie in the first round of Men's Singles, where he was unfortunate in meeting Green, of Otago, who eventually won the event.

Our Inter-club teams commenced and finished the season well but, as usual, the standard over the long vacation was low and most of the teams playing over this period were scratched together at the last minute and we had to default several times. Teams were entered for Men's and Women's Senior A. which now are separate, Second Grade and Third Grade, with four men and four women in each.

Throughout the season there have not been more than two wet weekends, and large attendances at the Club both on Saturdays and Sundays have been the rule.


Chairman: George Napier. Club Captain: Ben O'Connor. Secretary: Loris Webley. Treasurer: Brian Igglesden. Women's Committee: Jane Florance, Gillian Foden, Sylvia Frazer, Barbara Hall. Men's Committee: Ken Bliss, John Campbell, Alan Mathews, Jack Walls.