Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Spike or Victoria College Review 1937

Club Officers, 1937

page 80

Club Officers, 1937

Athletic Club.—Club-Captain, W. R. Birks; Coach, C. B. Allan; Secretary-Treasurer, L. S. Black; Committee, H. J. M. Abraham, R. Freeman, S. Eade, M. J. Mason and M. H. Oram; Delegate to Wellington Centre, W. R. Birks.

Basketball Club.—Club-Captain, N. Bullen; Vice-Captain, S. Phillips; Secretary-Treasurer, R. R. Singleton; Captain B Team, M. McWilliams; Fresher Member, P. Higgin.

Boxing Club—President, Mr. Earl Stewart; Hon. Medical Officer, Dr. J. D. Willis; Club-Captain, B. C. Campbell; Deputy Club-Captain, S. Walsh; Secretary-Treasurer, P. H. Ryan; Committee, E. Miller, R. W. Edgley, D. Tossman.

Chemical Society.—President, Mr. E. P. White; Secretary-Treasurer, W. J. G. Johnston; Committee, Miss B. Thompson, Messrs. D. Spiller and C. Morrison.

Cricket Club.—Club Captain, W. Trickle-bank; Secretary, J. B. Stephenson; Treasurer, T. A. Harpur; Committee, D. S. Dean, J. A. Evans, R. S. V. Simpson, A. Wiren.

Debating Society.—Chairman. Miss M. Shortall; Vice-President, R. W. Edgley; Secretary, R. C. E. Scott; Treasurer, D. M. Hatherley; Committee, Misses M. J. Stock, M.A., N. MacGhie, and Messrs. A. H. Scotney, M.A., J. B. Aimers.

Defence Rifle Club.—President. N. M. Sansum; Deputy President, B. D. A. Greig; Secretary, J. B. C. Taylor; Treasurer, S. T. Ryan; Committee, H. T. G. Olive, A. A. Gidall.

Dramatic Club.—President, Miss D. Toss-man; Vice-President, J. B. Aimers; Secretary, J. D. Freeman; Treasurer, W. Austin; Committee, Misses C. O'Halloran, M. Shortall, Messrs. P. Macaskill, N. Morrison, J. Alexander, N. Banks.

Evangelical Union.—Graduate President. Miss M. M. Boyd; President, Mr. E. A. Missen; Secretary, Miss J. Bythell; Treasurer, Mr. I. C. Edwards.

Football Club.—Club Captain, A. P. O'Shea; Deputy Club-Captain, E. Blacker; Secretary, L. O. Desborough; Treasurer, S. G. Eade; Teams' Officer, M. J. Mason; Committee, B. C. Campbell, L. S. Black, G. C Broad. R. J. Burke.

Glee Club.—President, Dr A. C. Keys; Vice-Presidents, R. L. Hutchens, L. Sandford; Secretary-Treasurer, K. B. Ball; Committee, Messrs. B. Turner, M. Fletcher, B. Sargisson, V. Emmanuel.

Harrier Club.—Club-Captain, A. G. Horsley; Vice-Captain, D. Cairns; Secretary-Treasurer, F. P. King; Delegate to Wellington Centre, A. G. Bagnall; Delegate to Sub-Committee, D. R. Scrymgeour; Publicity Officer, R. J. McElroy.

Mens Hockey Club.—Club-Captain, F. L. Newcombe; Secretary, M. H. Oram; Treasurer, J. A. Evans; Committee, L. B. Denby, G. W. Shaw, L. B. Sandford.

Women's Hockey Club.—Club-Captain, Miss G. Kean; Secretary, Miss J. Bacon; Treasurer, Miss M. Johnstone; Field Captain, Miss N. Bayfield; Committee, Miss S. Sanders, Miss J. Roberts.

Law Faculty Club.—Chairman. R. S. C. Agar; Secretary, J. D. Gerard; Treasurer, W. L. Ellingham; Committee, Messrs. Christeasen. Raynor, Scott and Ward.

Mathematical and Physical Society.—President, J. B. Taylor; Vice-Presidents, L. W. Mason, M. H. Oram; Secretary, E. E. Suckling; Committee, Miss E. A. Winstone, Messrs. A. Marks. E. I. Robertson.

Photographic Club.—Vhairman, O. A. E. Hughan; Secretary, G. A. Eiby; Committee, Misses R. Mee, M. Palmer-Brown; Mr. E. Cardale.

Phoenix Club.—President. R. G. Tosswill; Secretary, Miss Justine Smith; Committee, Misses V. Emanuel, B. Thompson; Messrs. P. Wells, D. H. Hull, M. Lima.

Rowing Club.—Club-Captain, R. P. Hansen; Secretary, C. W. McColI; Treasurer, G. C. Broad; Committee, K. W. Barnes, R. Burge, J. B. Bullock.

Students' Christian Movement.—President, H. L. Baker; Women's Vice-President, Miss E. L. Keeble; Corresponding Secretary, W. R. Cunliffe; Recording Secretary, Miss Jane Bardett; Treasurer, L. R. Nash; Committee, Miss J. Osborne, Miss J, Bacon, Mr. H. E. Arnold.

Swimming Club.—Club-Captain, C. I. W. Archibald; Deputy Club-Captain, T. E. Ennis; Women's Club Captain, Miss S. Sanders; Secretary-Treasurer, R. L. Meek; Committee, Miss M. Morton, Messrs. M. Mason, J. G. Oliver and E. Tait.

Tennis Club.—Chairman, E. G. Budge; Secretary, H. S. Sivyer; Treasurer, J. S. Smythe; Committee, Misses M. O. Bell, D. Briggs, J. Grainger, S. S. Phillips, Messrs. B. Brock, K. J. McNaught, N. A. Morrison, P. G. Pasley.

Tramping Club.—Secretary-Treasurer, P. S. Powell; Chief Guide, J. H. Croxton; Executive, Misses O. Stansell, M. Dunn, and R. Wright, Messrs. A. A. Gawith, C. W. Stewart, and J. B. C. Taylor.

Victoria House.—President, D. E. Wild; Committee, N. Goldsbury, J. Evans, N. S. Williamson, R. Armstrong.

Weir House.—President, F. D. Christiansen; Secretary, D N. Hull; Treasurer, D. M. Hatherley; Committee, T. A. Harpur, A. R. Gibson, T. J. McGlynn.