Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Spike or Victoria College Review 1936

Club Officers, 1936

page break

Club Officers, 1936

Athletic Club.—Club Captain, S. G. Eade; Deputy Club Captain, W. R. Birks; Secretary-Treasurer, P. T. Bowie; Committee, L. S. Black, R. C. Morpeth, B. M. McIntosh, A. S. Henderson, and T. A. Rafter.

Basketball Club.—Club Captain, Miss I. Phillips; Secretary-Treasurer, Miss R. R. Singleton; Committee, Misses M. C. Gibbons and M. Morton.

Boxing Club.—Club Captain, R. W. Edgley; Vice-Captain, A. H. Armour; Secretary-Treasurer, W. P. Edwards; Committee, Messrs, Campbell, Lima, Stewart and Tossman.

Cricket Club.—Club Captain, J. R. Stevens; Secretary, R. W. Edgley; Treasurer, J. P. Mules; Committee, E. Blacker, J. A. R. Blandford, R. S. V. Simpson.

Debating Society.—President and Chairman, A. F. T. Chorlton; Vice-President, Miss M. Shortall; Secretary, R. E. Jack; Treasurer, R. W. Edgley; Committee, Misses J. Stock and D. Souter; Messrs. L. R. Perry and L. H. Scotney.

Defence Rifle Club.—President, D. H. K. Ross; Deputy-President, F. J. McWhinnie; Hon. Secretary, H. M. Sansum; Hon. Treasurer, B. D. A. Greig; Committee, H. J. Abraham and A. O. Gidall.

Dramatic Club.—President, Miss D. Tossman; Vice-President, J. B. Aimers; Secretary, A. Ashley-Jones; Treasurer, Miss P. M. P. Edwards; Committee, Misses C. Childs, R. Cromble; Messrs, P. Macaskill, N. A. Morrison and I. Gow.

Evangelical Union.—Student President, R. S. Miller; Graduate President, Miss M. M. M. Boyd; Secretary, E. A. Missen; Treasurer I. C. Edwards.

Fencing Club.—Club Captain, M. T. Hornsby; Committee, A. J. Hull, P. Wycherley; Secretary, C. R. Hutton.

Football Club.—Club Captain, E. Blacker; Deputy Club Captain, H. R. C. Wild; Secretary, L. O. Desborough; Treasurer, W. Tricklebank; Teams Officer, A. F. Wilton; Committee, G. G. Rae, S. G. Eade, and R. S. V. Simpson.

Free Discussions Club.—Chairman, R. E. Jack; Secretary, B. I. Harding; Treasurer, J. S. Hatherley; Committee, Miss S. Saunders, Mr. N. Hull.

Glee Club.—Patron, Professor Kirk; President, Dr. A. C. Keys; Vice-Presidents, Messrs. D. Hutchens and J. Withers; Secretary-Treasurer, Miss S. Sanders; Committee, Miss D. Briggs, Messrs. H. Baker, J. Hills, C. Smythe.

Gymnasium Club.—Patron, Mrs. Monroe; President, Miss N. Bayfield; Secretary-Treasurer, Miss S. Sanders; Committee, Misses G. Kean, K. M. Johnston, B. Bush.

Harrier Club.—President, Mr. G. F. Dixon; Vice-Presidents, Messrs. J. O. Shorland, H. H. Cornish, G. C. Sherwood, C. C. McCormack, Dr. I. L. G. Sutherland; Club Captain, M. O'Connor; Vice-Captain, A. G. Horsley; Secretary-Treasurer, R. J. McElroy; Delegate to Wellington Centre, D. Viggers; Delegate to Sub-Committee, D. R. Scrymgeour; Publicity Officer, N. T. Clare.

Men'S Hockey Club.—Club Captain, F. H. Stewart; Secretary, M. H. Oram; Treasurer, L. B. Denby; Committee, Messrs. A. E. Kennard, P. N. Grant and P. E. Webb.

Women'S Hockey Club.—Club Captain, Miss N. Bayfield; Field Captain, Miss C. Robertson; Secretary, Miss G. Kean; Miss J. Bacon, Miss M. Johnstone.

Law Faculty Club.—Chairman, R. S. V. Simpson; Secretary, R. S. C. Agar; Treasurer, H. S. Sivyer; Committee, F. D. Christensen, R. C. Connell, A. R. Perry and J. N. Sellers.

Mathematical And Physics Society.—President, G. Searle; Vice-Presidents, C. Watson-Munro and R. J. M. Meek; Secretary, J. B. C. Taylor; Committee, H. J. M. Abraham, L. W. Mason and C. W. Stewart.

Photographic Club.—Chairman, Mr. O. A. E. Hughan; Hon. Secretary-Treasurer, Mr. C. H. Smythe; Committee, Miss Mackay; Messrs. R. S. Odell, I. S. Hunt and J. T. Salmon.

Rowing Club.—Club Captain, G. Milne; Secretary, C. W. McColl; Treasurer, H. M. McIntosh; Committee, D. F. McLeod, R. P. Hansen, G. B. Gibbons.

Science Society.—President, C. W. Stewart; Vice-Presidents, D. Currie, Miss A. S. Donne; Secretary, A. Rafter; Committee Miss N. Welch, Miss H. Maysmore, R. V. Berry and N. T. Clare.

Students' Christian Movement.—President, L. R. Nash; Vice-President, Miss S. Williams; Corresponding Secretary, H. L. Baker; Recording Secretary, Miss D. Glover; Treasurer, B. H. Kelly; Committee, Misses J. Burdette, N. Hartill and Mr. H. Arnold.

Swimming Club.—Club Captain, M. J. Mason; Deputy Club Captain, J. G. Oliver; Ladies' Club Captain, Miss N. M. Webber; Secretary-Treasurer, C. J. W. Archibald; Committee, Misses J. Stock and S. Sanders, Messrs, T. E. Ennis and E. Tate.

Tennis Club.—Chairman, C. S. Plank; Secretary, H. S. Sivyer; Treasurer, E. G. Budge; Committee, Misses M. O. Bell, P. M. P. Edwards, D. Briggs and J. Grainger, Messrs. T. E. Ennis, W. H. Thodey, K. J. McNaught and J. S. Withers.

Tramping Club.—President, Professor E. J. Boyd-Wilson; Vice-Presidents, Dr. J. C. Beaglehole and Mr. F. B. Thompson; Hon. Secretary, Mr. C. E. Shaw; Chief Guide, Mr. J. H. Croxton; Committee, Misses K. Muir and R. Wright, Messrs. M. R. Coup, A. R. Perry, C. W. Stewart and C. Watson-Munro.

Victoria House.—President, Miss S. M. Sanders; Committee, Misses M. C. Denton, W. Dunkley, S. Wight and D. Wild.

Weir House Association.—President, R. W. Edgley; Secretary, R. L. Hutchens; Treasurer, K. A. Wills; Committee, Messrs. A. G. Horsley, R. S. V. Simpson and F. D. Christensen.