Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Spike: or, Victoria University College Review October, 1920

College Officers

page break

College Officers

Students' Association.

Patron, Prof. D. M. Y. Sommerville; President, S. Mansfield; Vice-Presidents, Miss E. W. J. Fenton (till 3/6/20), L. J. Edmondson, Miss O. Salmon (from 3/6/20) treasurers, Miss A. M. Moncrieff and H. McCormick; Secretary, K. W. Low; Financial secretary to "Spike," M. M. Smith; Committee, Misses M. A. Harle, O. Salmon (till 3/6/20), A. Pope (from 8/6/20), and M. Priestley, Messrs. A. Jackson, J. D. Hutchison, and J. L. Dighton; Auditor, G. W. Clinkard; Tournament Delegates, G. H. Lusk and L. J. Edmondson.

Football Club.

Prof. D. M. Y. Sommerville; President, Prof. B. E. Murphy; Vice-Presidents, Prof. T. A. Hunter, Prof. E. J. Wilson, Messrs. A. E. Caddick, E. K. Lomas, P. J. Ryan, A. S. Faire, H. P. O'Leary, J. Thompson, Dr. A. Thomson; Club Captain, G. G. Aitken; Deputy Club Captain, N. A. J. Parker; Hon. Secretary, L. A. Charles; Hon. Treasurer, J. D. Hutchison; Hon. Auditor, S. A. Wiren; Non-player on Committee J. N. Millard; Delegates to Rugby Union, Messrs. A. Jackson, K. W. Low, J. D. Hutchison.

Christian Union.

President, J. A. Allan; Vice-Presidents, Miss A. M. Moncrieff and G. 8. Troup; Recording Secretary, Miss G. Paterson; Corresponding Secretaries, Miss E. W. J. Fenton and W. A. Sheat; Treasurers, Miss D. Lynn and G. F. Saunders.

Haeremai Club.

President, Prof. E. Marsden; Chairman, P. Martin Smith; Secretary and Treasurer, E. A. Sapsford; Committee, H. A. Anderson, R. K. Gordon, R. J. Comrie; Cook, V. Coningham; Hon. Auditor, F. Kinross.

Hockey Club.

Club Captain, C. G. Kirk; Captain Junior "A" team, H. A. O'Connor; Captain Junior "B" team, L. W. Britton; Hon. Sec., R. C Miles; Hon. Treasurer, R. J. Waghorn; Committee, L. W. Britton, H. A. O'Connor, and W. H. Stainton; Delegates to Wellington Hockey Association, B. Kean and G. Seddon; Hon. Auditor, A. M. Cousins.

Tennis Club.

Chairman, L. J. Edmondson; Secretary, J. C. Smith; Treasurer, N. A. Byrne; Committee, Misses J. Cooke, H. Easterfield, E. Waldie, Messrs. G. G. Aitken, H. Williams, S. A. Wiren.

Athletic Club.

President, Prof. Sommerville; Vice-Presidents, Profs. Garrow, Murphy, Hunter, Easterfield, Marsden, Messrs. Geo. Dixon, J. D. Sievwright, A. B. Sievwright, F. A. de la Mare, Geo. Strack^C. Strack, G. G. G. Watson; Club Captain, N. A. J. Barker; Hon. Secretary, G. G. Aitken; Hon. Treasurer, A. Jackson; Committee, Messrs. J. D. Hutchison, G. H. Lusk; Hon. Auditor, U. G. G. Watson; Delegate to Wellington Centre, G. H. Lusk.

Woman's Club.

Patronesses, the Professors' wives, Miss Wood, Miss England; President, Miss Harle; Vice-President, Miss Sewell; Secretary and Treasurer, Miss A. Pope; Committee, Misses Moncrieff, Forsyth, Parkinson.

Glee Club.

Conductor, F. P. Wilson; Pianiste, Miss Grosvenor; Hon. Secretary, M. O'Donnell; Treasurer, Miss Spurdle; Librarian, Miss Fossette; Committee, Misses Anson, Roughton, Beaglehole.

page 9

Basketball Club.

Patron, Mrs. Sommerville; Club Captain, Miss E. Smith; Vice-Captain, Miss G. Aplin, Committee, Misses Pitkowsky, McDonald, Josephs, Mackenzie; Secretary and Treasurer, G. Patterson.

Cricket Club.

Patron, Prof. Mackenzie; President, Prof. Hunter; Vice-Presidents, Other members of the Professorial Board and Messrs. J. G. W. Aitken, C. G. Wilson, 8. Eichelbauxn, B. W. Burbidge, V. B. Willis, P. B. Broad, A. E. Caddick, J. Caughley, P. M. Martin, W. H. Morton, A. F. Wiren, Drs. Hector and McEvedy; Club Captain, A. E. Caddick; Hon. Secretary and Treasurer, E. C. Wiren; Committee, J. Stainton, F. Joplin, C. H. Hain; Delegate to Wellington Cricket Association, — Read; Hon. Auditor, E. K. Lomas.

Debating Society.

President,; Vice-President,; Chairman, G. J. Cooper, Pope Bingham; Committee, Miss Harle, Messrs J. Sutherland and S. A. Wiren; Secretary, J. G. W. Davidson; Treasurer, W. A. Sheat.

Free Discussions Club.

President, Prof. T. Hunter; Vice-President, I. L. G. Sutherland; Secretary and Treasurer, W. E. Leicester; Committee, Miss A. Harle 2nd W. Sheat.


Editor, E. K. Rishworth; Sub-Editors, Miss D. Johnson. C. Q. Pope.