Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Spike: or, Victoria College Review, June 1910

Athletic Championships

page 48

Athletic Championships.

Summary of Events.

Event 1st (2 points) 2nd (1 point) Time or Distance
min. sec.
100 yards R. Opie, C.C. L. H. McBride. O.U. 10 1/10
220 yards R. Opie, C.C. A. T. Duncan, V.C. 23 2/5
440 yards R. Opie, C.C. A. W. P. Brookfield, O.U. 51 3/5
880 yards L. A. Dougall. C.C. A. T. Duncan, V.C. 2 7 3/5
Mile L. A. Dougall. C.C. T. Rigg, V.C. 4 37 1/5
3 Miles T. Rigg, V.C. D. S. Smith, V.C. 16 13
120 Hurdles W. C. Harley, C.C. A. H. Bogle, V.C. 17 2/5
440 Hurdles O. S. Mackenzie, C.C. A. H. Bogle, V.C. 63 1/5
Long Jump J. N. Millard, O.U. G. S. Mackenzie, C.C. ft. 20 in. 1
High Jump A. W. P. Brookfield, J. N. Millard, O.U. 5 3 ¾
O.U. min. sec.
Mile Walk R. Twyneham, C.C. C. M. Cleghorn, V.C. 7 33 1/5
Weight Putting W. Grace, C.C. C. V. Baigent, O.U. ft. 31 in. 2
Hammer Throwing J. Wilson, V.C. W. Rutherford, O.U. 98 3

Championship Shield Points.

Canterbury College 19points
Victoria College 11 points
Otago University 9 points

Special Trophies.

Ladies' Cup, R. Opie (C.C.), 6 points

Relay Cup, Canterbury College (Time 3min. 44 1/5 sec.)

Trevor Hull Memorial Shield, A. W. P. Brookfield

De la Mare Cup, L. A. Dougall (C.C.)

Lawn Tennis Championships.

Men's Singles L. S. Jennings (C.C.)
Men's Doubles L. S. Jennings and T. D. Smith (C.C.)
Ladies' Singles Miss 13. T. L. Reeve (V.C.)
Ladies' Doubles Misses B. W. Grace and L. Paterson (C.C.)
Combined Doubles Miss B. I. L. Reeve and G. M. Cleghorn (V.C.)

Canterbury College thus won the Tennis Cup with three wins.

Debating Contest.

The Joynt Debating Challenge Scroll was won by Auckland University College (R. M. Algie and A. G. Marshall)