Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Maori Deeds of Land Purchases in the North Island of New Zealand: Volume One

The Portions reserved for ourselves

The Portions reserved for ourselves.

Reserves: 1. Puhitahi. The first; Puhitahi.—The boundaries are; on the East, Pukewhau, thence, across the Puhitahi stream, to te Kauri: on the south, te Kauri, thence to Puonetea, thence to te Uapata, turning thence to Wairurua, this being the northern boundary, thence to Pukewhau; where the boundaries meet.
2. Patumahoe. The second; Patumahoe.—The eastern boundary commences at Mataraua, thence to Takaraho; thence, turning in a southerly direction, to Tapuikaretu; thence, in a westerly direction to Karengahuanui turning thence to Whakapae-o-te-Kauri, turning thence to Otonga, turning thence, for the northern boundary, to Kiriotu, to Hunuhununga, to Puketoa, to Mataraua, where the boundaries meet.
3. Titi. The Third; Titi.—The boundary on the west commences at the two pits, which have been dug on Rangiwhakairinga, thence in a direct line to the single Koroi tree by the wood at the swamp: Turning thence, for the northern boundary, it passes through the swamp and ascends to the grove of Manuka trees in the hollow of Titi; turning thence to the eastward, it proceeds to the dry Puriri tree at te Hiwi-o-Rangiwhakairinga, thence turning in a southerly direction to the two pits which have been dug on Rangiwhakairinga where the boundaries meet.
4. Aongaonga. The Fourth; The boundary on the East commences at Ngateke, this boundary is on the Waikato river: thence inland to Huihui, thence to Pukekowhai, thence descending to the swamp, the edge of the swamp being the boundary on the North side proceeding thence along the swamp it turns to Punganui, forming the West boundary to te Mataa where it turns and proceeds until it falls in the Waikato river, at Kohikokiwi thence in the Waikato river, to Ngateke, where the boundaries meet. Te Purapura and te Anaunga are the names of this reserve.
5. Akaaka. The fifth; Te Akaaka.—The boundary on the South commences at Nihi nihi, thence in the Waikato river to Kopumore, where it turns inland to Tangatarua, this being the western boundary; thence turning to Kauaetaia and Wharaurangi, this being the northern boundary; thence turning to Nihinihi, where the boundaries meet, this being the eastern boundary.
6. Tokatiraha. The sixth.—The boundary commences at the corner of Codling's fence, that being the boundary on the west, thence to te Karaka, turning thence it runs along the bank of the Tokatiraha stream, and in the corner of that stream to the side of the wood, this being the north boundary; turning thence to Oparii, turning a little thence it proceeds onward and joins the corner of Codling's fence at Kumikumi, this is the eastern boundary; the southern boundary is formed by the north side of Codling's fence.
7. Purapura. The seventh:—Purapura, on the Awaroa. The boundary on the south commences at the Whakanu stream, thence in a northerly direction eight (8) chains twenty two (22) page 335links, which is the eastern boundary; turning thence, in the direction of the Awaroa two (2) chains forty (40) links which is the northern boundary; the western boundary is the fresh water stream of the Awaroa, and joining to Whakanu, where the boundaries meet. Now we have entirely given up this land, contained within these boundaries, to the Queen of England; that is, to the Government of New Zealand, as a lasting possession with its woods, minerals, waters, and all thereunto appertaining, all above, and all below the surface of this land. There shall be no future arrangements made for any portions of the lands which were not satisfactorily completed at any previous negotiation for land: this is the last and final settlement.
Now we have this day received from the hands of Mr. Kemp, a Government Land Receipt for £1,500. Commissioner, the Sum of One thousand five hundred Pounds £1,500 . 0 . 0. This is the final payment, and the land has for ever been transferred to the Europeans. The portions which have been marked off for us are those which have been reserved for our own use, these were perambulated by Mr. White and ourselves.

And, on the receipt of these monies, we hereunto affix our names and marks.

For D. McLean,
(Signed) H. T. Kemp, Native Secretary.

Arama Karaka.
Waata Kukutai.
E Rueti Kukutai.
Ruihana Ruihana x.
Te Rapurapu.
Te Reweti.
Here piniha.
te Putu.
Wi Putini x.
Hakopa Iwitaia x.
te Kawhena.
te Wapu.
Wiremu te Hira Huhu x.
Poharama Manukau x.
Ihaka Takaanini.
Paora te Iwi x.
te Kepa te Ngoi.
Nini Waka.
Wetere Kauae x.
Heta Pouku.
Pepene te Tihi x.
Epiha Putini.
Haimona Paetai.
Panapa Tuwao.
Rupene Apaerangi.
Hoani te Ngaru x.
Iraia te Au x.
Hone te Mahu x.
Wiremu Wata Hana x.
Paratene te Kakare x.
Haimona Paeara x.
Mohi te Ahiatengu x.
Epiha Putara x.
Hohaia Tiniwhai x.
Wetere Korewha x.
Hone Pihaone.
Hapimana Kaiora x.
Paora Tuhaere.
Reihana te rewai.
Wiremu Rewheti.


(Sd.) C. L. Nugent, Native Secretary.
" W. Gisborne, C.C. Lands.
" Archd. A. MacInnes, Clerk, N.L.P. Dept.
" John White, Interpreter.
" John Hobbs.

Memo.—"Aihipene Kaihau" promised to sign this Deed in presence of Major Nugent, Mr. White and myself, having agreed thereto.

(Signed) H. T. Kemp.

A true translation.

Donald McLean, Chief Commissioner.

25th March, 1856.

A True Copy of Original Deed and Translation.

H. Hanson Turton.

Wellington, September 11th, 1874.