Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Maori Deeds of Land Purchases in the North Island of New Zealand: Volume One

[Declaration No. 2 of William Henry Grace]

[Declaration No. 2 of William Henry Grace]

Declaration 2 of W. Hy. Grace I, William Henry Grace, of Shortland, in the District of Hauraki, Province of Auckland and Colony of New Zealand, a duly licensed Interpreter under "The Native Lands Act, 1865," "The Native Lands Act, 1867," "The Native Lands Act Amendment Act, 1868," "The Native Lands Act, 1869," and "The Native Lands Act Amendment Act, 1870," do solemnly and sincerely declare as follows:—1. That I was present, together with Gerald O'Halloran, of Shortland aforesaid, agent, a male adult, and did see Hunia te Weu, mentioned and described in the within-written Deed, duly sign and execute the said Deed. 2. That the signature Hunia te Weu, set and described to the said within-written Deed, is of the proper handwriting of the said Hunia te Weu. 3. That the signatures W. H. Grace and Gerald O'Halloran, set and subscribed to the said within-written Deed as the witnesses attesting the due execution thereof, are of the proper handwriting of the said Gerald O'Halloran and of me this declarant respectively. 4. That immediately before the execution of the said Deed by the said Hunia te Weu I did interpret the same to him into the Maori language, and that my translation thereof was correct, and was understood by the said Hunia te Weu. And I make this solemn declaration conscientiously believing the same to be true, and by virtue of the above-named Acts of the General Assembly of New Zealand, and of a certain other Act of the said General Assembly of New Zealand intituled "The Justices of the Peace Act, 1866."

W. H.Grace.

Made and declared at Shortland in the province aforesaid, this twenty-seventh day of February, one thousand eight hundred and seventy-three, Before me—

E. W. Puckey,
One of Her Majesty's Justices of the Peace in and for the Colony of New Zealand.