Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Pamphlet Collection of Sir Robert Stout: Volume 73

Central Otago Branch

page 13

Central Otago Branch.


PresidentMr. J. G. Gloss, Alexandra; Vice-PresidentMr. J. Fleming, Bannockburn; Secretary and TreasurerMiss M. Anderson, Moutere, Alexandra; Delegate to the Committee of ManagementMr. F. S. Aldred, Greytown.

I have the honour to submit for your approval the Annual Report for the year 1894-95.

Six meetings have been held during the year alternately at Clyde and Cromwell.

The average attendance has been 8, which out of a membership of 13 is very creditable, considering the long distances members have to travel to attend the meetings. All the members have attended at least one of the meetings during the year.

The following has been the programme:—
June 2—"Home Lessons" Mr. D. S. Mason.
June 29—"The Revised Syllabus" Mr. A. Warburton.
June 29—"Technical Education" Mr. M. South.
June 30—Model Lesson on "Proportion" Mr. J. E. Stevens.
June 30—"Composition for Upper Standards" Mr. J. Fleming.
Oct. 6—"Science in Schools" Mr. J. Closs.
Dec. 8—"Discussion on present system of Representation to N.Z. Council.
Mar. 2—Discussion on "Classification Scheme."

One feature of the year's work was a two days' meeting, held at Cromwell during the midwinter holidays, when a very profitable time was spent, Nor was the social element wanting, for a conversazione was held which proved most enjoyable.

page 14

List of Members.

  • Miss Weir, Tarras School
  • Miss Waddell, Cromwell School
  • Mr. Warburton, Cromwell School
  • Mr. South, Nevis School
  • Miss McGrogan, Cromwell School
  • Mr. Stevens, Clyde School
  • Mrs. Stevens, Clyde School
  • Miss Green, Hawea Flat School
  • Miss Annett. Luggate School
  • Miss McKellar, Alexandra School
  • Mr. Closs, Alexandra School
  • Mr. Fleming. Bannockburn School
  • Mr. Mason, Lowburn School

W. Anderson

, Secretary.