Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Pamphlet Collection of Sir Robert Stout: Volume 72

Central Otago Branch

Central Otago Branch.


  • President: Mr. J. E. Stevens, Clyde;
  • Secretary, Mr. D. S. Mason, Lowburn;
  • Representative on the Committee of Management, Mr. F. S. Aldred, Greytown.

This Branch was constituted at a meeting held at Clyde on Saturday, May 6th, 1893, at which meeting the office-bearers mentioned above were elected.

The next meeting, held at Cromwell on July 1st, was devoted to making rules and drawing up a syllabus. The President, Mr. J. E. Stevens, read an address dealing in a masterly manner with several of the subjects of instruction.

At the next quarterly meeting, held at Clyde on October 7th, Mr. Warburton read a paper on "Education versus Instruction."

At the next two meetings, on February 3rd and on April 4th, no papers were read, and only business of a formal nature was transacted.

During the year the Branch had the misfortune to lose its energetic secretary, Mr. F. S. Aldred, who left the district. Mr. Warburton was appointed to act for the balance of the year.

Financially the Branch is at present in a sound position, but unless some alteration be made either in the amount payable to the Otago Institute, or in the subscription paid by its own members, it will not be in so satisfactory a position for long.

page 14

List of Members.

  • Mr. J. G. Closs, Alexandra School
  • Mr. J. F. Fleming, Bannockburn School
  • Miss M. Fowler, Kawarau Gorge School
  • Miss M. A. Green, Hawea Flat School
  • Miss Rosetta R. King, Albert Town School
  • Miss S. E. Mackellar, Alexandra School
  • Mr. D. S. Mason, Lowburn School
  • Miss M. McGrogan, Cromwell School
  • Mr. H. J. Reaks. Ophir School
  • Mr. M. South, Nevis School
  • Mr. J. E. Stevens, Clyde School
  • Mrs. Stevens, Clyde School
  • Miss Truman, Bannockburn School
  • Miss E. Waddell, Queensberry School
  • Mr. Abel Warburton, Cromwell School
  • Miss C. G. Weir, Tarras School
  • Miss Wilkinson, Galloway School

A. Warburton, Secretary.