Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Pamphlet Collection of Sir Robert Stout: Volume 69

Savings Banks

Savings Banks.

There are seven Savings Banks other than those connected with the Post Office in the colony, which were established at the places named, in the years mentioned:—Auckland, in 1847; New Plymouth, in 1850; Nelson, in 1860; Napier, in 1864; Dunedin, in 1864; Invercargill, in 1864; and Hokitika, in 1866. The total amount to the credit of the depositors on 31st December, 1888, was at the different banks as follow:—Auckland, £471,051; New Plymouth, £6270; Napier, £10,230; Nelson, £20,396; Hokitika, £10,605; Dunedin, £111,166; Invercargill, £13,527. Total, £643,251.