Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Pamphlet Collection of Sir Robert Stout: Volume 41



8. The rivers in Victoria are, for the most part, inconsiderable. Many of them are liable to be partially dried up during the summer months, so as to be reduced at that season to mere chains of pools or waterholes. With the exception of the Yarra, on the banks of which the metropolis is situated; the Goulburn, which empties itself into the Murray about eight miles to the eastward of Echuca; and the Murray itself, with, perhaps, some of the Gippsland streams, not one of them is navigable except by boats. As, however, they drain the watershed of large areas of country, some have already been, and others will ultimately be, made feeders to permanent reservoirs for the purposes of irrigation, gold washing, and manufactures. The Murray, which forms the northern boundary of the colony, is the largest river in Australia. Its total length is 2400 miles, for 670 of which it flows along the Victorian border. The names and lengths of the other principal Victorian rivers are as follow:—The Goulburn, 230 miles; the Glenelg, 205 miles; the Loddon, 150 miles; the Wimmera, 135 miles; the Avoca, 130 miles; the Hopkins, 110 miles; the Wannon, 105 miles; the Ovens, 100 miles; the Latrobe, 90 miles; the Mitta Mitta, 90 miles; the Yarra Yarra, 90 miles.