Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Pamphlet Collection of Sir Robert Stout: Volume 41



15. Municipalities in Victoria are of two kinds, the first being called cities, towns, and "boroughs, and the second, shires. They are regulated under an Act of the Legislature, each municipality being a body corporate with perpetual succession, and a common seal, and capable of suing and being sued, and of purchasing, holding, and alienating land. The cities, towns, and boroughs number fifty-seven, and the shires 115. Together, they covered, in 1879, an extent of 79,348 square miles, or nine-tenths of the area of the colony, and contained 869,917 inhabitants, or thirty-two thirty-thirds of its population. The total value of rateable property in that year was assessed at £83,244,116, and the annual value at £7,141,649. Rates may be levied as low as 6d. in the and as high as 2s. 6d., but the most common rating is one shilling.