Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Pamphlet Collection of Sir Robert Stout: Volume 39


page break

Professor Newman posted a copy of this Lecture in acknowledgement of the receipt of one of "Quotations" sent by the compiler of that little work, who at once made an abstract of the Lecture (with a few notes) in order to publish those parts of it adapted to what he thought the wants of the Colony, which is suffering so severely from party government. But considering that it might be taking too great a liberty both with the Professor and the public, he has given it in its entirety with the exception of the schedule of proposed Provinces for Great Britain.

It is rather singular that about the time the warwhoop was raised against Provincial Institutions in New Zealand (destroyed by extravagance and by playing fantastic tricks) the veteran Newman was maturing his "Reorganisation of English Institutions," on a somewhat similar basis to that which was so ruthlessly dealt with in this Colony.

Professor Newman proposes that England should comprise eight provinces—Bracia, Lunia, Mercia, Fennia, Saxia, Londinia, Albia, Westia; Wales—Cambria; Scotland—Victim and Caledonia; Ireland—Ulster, Leinster, Munster, Connaught.

The lecture was delivered in the Manchester Athæneum, October, 1875.