Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Pamphlet Collection of Sir Robert Stout: Volume 36

Who are Excise Commissioners?

page 2

Who are Excise Commissioners?

1.In towns three Commissioners of Excise are elected, in same manner as other town officers are elected, who hold their offices for three years respectively.
2.In cities, three commissioners, appointed by the mayor in some cases, and by the mayor and common council in other cases, constitute the licensing power. There is some ambiguity in the law respecting the appointment of a city Excise, which need not here be argued. (See Sections 2 and 3, act of 1870.)
3.Town and village boards meet for official business the first Monday of May, and on other days as they may direct, not exceeding one in each month.

Note.—Every license is for one year—no more, no less; and such "license is a personal trust, that cannot be sold or assigned to another," 14 Johnson, 231.