Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Pamphlet Collection of Sir Robert Stout: Volume 20

Election of Deacons

Election of Deacons.

At a Congregational Meeting held on the 21st May, 1872, a resolution was passed requesting the Session to take into consideration the advisability of one third of the Deacons retiring annually. At a meeting of the Session held on the 4th June, the Session having considered the said resolution, the Deacons concurring, unanimously resolved that the number of Deacons be forthwith increased to fifteen, it being understood that one-half of the present Deacons retire by lot in twelve months, and the remaining half the following year, subject to the retiring members being eligible for reelection.

Accordingly the following gentlemen were elected to the Deaconship, viz.—William Baird, The mas Cassells, Adam Johnston, James T. Mackerras, and Charles McQueen.

The change above referred to will necessitate an annual election of Deacons to fill the place of those who retire by effluxion of time.