Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient. Official Newspaper of Victoria University Students Association. Volume 40, Number 3. March 14, 1977.



South West Africa was colonised by the Germans in 1884, and occupied by South Africa in 1915. The League of Nations awarded SWA as a mandate to South Africa at the same time as New Zealand received the mandate for the former German Samoa, and Australia the mandate for the former German New Guinea, (1920). South Africa abused this trust by introducing Apartheid into the territory and making it a fifth province of the Union, denying the people their right to freedom and self determination.

In 1966 (resolution 2145 — XXI) the UN General Assembly withdrew the mandate from South Africa, but South Africa ignored the decision when it was backed up by the opinion of the International Court of Justice in 1971.