Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient. Victoria University Student Newspaper. Volume 36, Number 10. 23rd May 1973

Manaaki Week Programme

Manaaki Week Programme

Education Minister Phil Amos will officially open "Manaaki Week" in the Conference Room of the Easterfield Building at 9 a.m. on Monday 28th May. The Manaaki Society was recently established at Victoria University with the aim of promoting more equal opportunities within our community.

James K. Baxter Plays (Memorial Theatre)
May 25- June 2
Lunch hour Literature Readings (Theatre)
May 28, 11.30 12.30
29, 12.00 -1.00
30, 12.00 2.00
31, 12.00 100
June 1, 1.00 2.00
Exhibition (Memorial Theatre Foyer
May 28 June 1
Social (Union Hall)
June 8 (Friday), 8 p.m.

Patrons of the Manaaki Society, Maori Affairs Minister Matiu Rata and the Ombudsman Sir Guy Powles will also address the gathering.

Manaaki Week will run concurrently with the James K. Baxter Play Festival in the Memorial Theatre. Proceeds from the Baxter Play Festival will go to the Manaaki Society, which will use them to help provide scholarships for Polynesian and Maori students.

Manaaki Week functions include lunch time readings of works of Maori poets and short story writers in the Memorial Theatre. Auckland author Maurice Shadbolt will travel to Wellington to take part in Manaaki Week. He has indicated his intention of reading extracts from "Pig Island Letters", which was dedicated to him by James K. Baxter, and one of his own short stories. Other writers who will read their own works, or who have authorised readings of their works include Rowley Habib, Hone Tuwhare, Bruce Mason and Witi Ihimaera.

A lunch hour concert will be presented by the Polynesian Club from the Hutt Valley Memorial Technical College on May 29.

A Manaaki Social will be held In the Union Hall on June 8 as the culmination of Manaaki Week activities and will include Hangi food prepared by Maori members of the Manaaki Society committee, Te Reo Maori and Nga Tamatoa.