Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient. Victoria University Student Newspaper. Volume 33 No. 14. 1970

Tournament & Sport

page break

Tournament & Sport

Tournament Shield Points

Soccer 4 - - 8 2
Badminton 2 8 - 4 -
In door (men) Basketball 8 - 2 - 4
Indoor (Women) 4-2/3 - 4-2/3 - 4-2/3
Crosscountry 8 - 4 - 2
Fencing 4 8 - - 2
Golf 4 8 2 - -
Hockey(men) 2 - 4 8 -
Hockey (women) 4 - 8 - 2
Judo 2 - 4 - 8
Netball 8 - - 4 2
Shooting - 2 8 4 -
Skiing 8 2 4 - -
Squash 8 2 - 4 -
Tabletennis 4 2 8 - -
Total Points 70-2/3 32 44-2/3 32 26-2/3

Winner of Tournament Shield 1970 Otago


Vic's reps who finishd second at Dunedin last year did not perform so well this year and could only manage fourth placing behind Otago, Canterbury and Auckland.

The absence of some members through work commitments, the slow recovery of others from attacks of the "bot" and the attractions of Arts Festival meant that Vic could not field its best team.

The 7½ mile race held over a very flat terrain saw Len Watson (9) 40 min 7 sec, Ian Stockwell (13), Ian Hunt (14) and Eric Cairns (16) score 52 points to finish fourth in the teams event.

The addition of Steve Havill (29) 45 mm 1 sec (of Easter Tournament 10,000 metres fame) saw Vic finish second to Auckland in the Shackleford Cup competition for the top North Island University.

By virtue of its victory over Massey, Vic retained the Paekakariki Cup for the fourth year in succession. Vic defeated Massey by 112 points to 155.

Other Vic placings were Phil Williams (31 45 min 30 sec, and Bruce Cumming (39) 47 mm 24 sec.


While Victoria could only manage third placing overall here behind Otago and Massey there were some fine individual performances by Vic players.

Stuart Perry after some hard games succeeded in winning the Men's Individual title while A. Cambridge finished third in the Women's Individual.

Vic's reps were: Women J. Broad, A. Cambridge E. Foggo; Men S' Perry, P. Dale, D. Sorenson, R Orgias.


The Vic team of S. Musker, A. La King, H, Barley,. J. Midgely, J. Climie (women). K. Atkinson, B. Hadfield, J. Martin, B. Archbold, L. Chin performed well winning the competition with Massey second and Otago third.

Vic beat Auckland 9-7, Canterbury 12-4, Waikato 11-0 and drew with Massey 8-8.

N.Z.U. members — S. Musker, A. La King (Women;) K Atkinson (Men).

Basketball (Mens)

Vic had close hard fought games here losing to Auckland 64-75, Canterbury 69-86. Otago 59-65, and defeating Massey 74-57 and Lincoln 60-43.

Victoria's team R. Agnew, G. Peat, D. Scott. R. Colello, A. Marshall, P. Bevan, M. Rutherford. A. Treial.

Two members R. Agnew (a 1969 N.Z.U. Blue) and P. Bevan were picked for the N.Z.U. team.


Vic were thrashed by Canterbury 47-13, Otago 68-30 and by Auckland 39-23. The only game won was that against Massey (41-37).

Victoria W. Ellingham, J. Chew, S. Mustchin, M. Lavin, A. Napier, M. Johnston, B. O'Flynn, H. Richardson, M. Le Grouw.

One member, M. Le Grouw made the N.Z.U. team.

"Take your time—I've only got one pair of hands"

"Take your time—I've only got one pair of hands"


Vic's representatives had an unhappy time here only managing to beat Waikato 11-nil Vic lost to Auckland 2-8, to Massey 1-10, to Canterbury 2-4, to Lincoln 1-7 and to Otago 1-2.

The Victoria team was D. Bedford,. P. Spoonley, W. Moyes, R. Shuker, D. Bradshaw, J. Gallagher, J. Walls, C. Kaggwa, B Chand, R. Turner, P.Liddel, L. Teoh, D. Scobie.


This is one sport where Victoria can always be relied upon to perform well and 1970 was no exception with Vic finishing top again.

Victoria finished second in the Men's Epee defeating Auckland 11-5, Massey 10-6 and losing to Otago 7-9. However, in the Men's foils Vic beat Auckland 13-3, Massey 15-1 and Otago 11-5.

Vic also won the Men's sabre beating Auckland 13-3 and Otago 11-5.

Vic's female fencers continued this row of success by winning the Women's foils, defeating Auckland 10-6 and Otago 10-6.

Vic's reps were: V. McLean, S. Norris, J. Stacey, S. Grant. Taylor, A.. Apathy (Women);. G. Strati, R. Hayman, A. Leo, M. McCaffery (Men).

A. Leo was also selected tor the N.Z.U. Fencing team who competed against a Wellington Provinces team.

Three members W. Moyes, J Walls, R. Shuker were selected for the N.Z.U. team.

Table Tennis

Vic's reps finished third here behind Canterbury and Otago. The results of games were: beat Auckland 13-6, beat Lincoln 10-9, lost to Otago 9-10 and well defeated by Canterbury 13-6 and Massey 7-2.

Victoria's reps were: A. Shapely, C. Kho, I. Burgess, L. Wang; M. Tourell, Siew (women).

The match in statistics ball by ball analysis.
Them Us
Kicks 801½ 756
Hand Passes 81 87
Passes 1001 971
Breaths 90000 70000
Grunts 2000 1700
Climaxes 501 499
Obscenities 4000 3000
Ruptures 18 18
Gouges 72 65


Victoria's reps Barltrop, Drury, Watt and White finished fourth (scoring 947 points) to Canterbury 915, Massey 928 and Lincoln 930.

Rodney Barltrop in addition to selection for the N.Z.U. Golf team, was also a N.Z.U. Blue for 1970.

Harriers Improve

This year, the 25th the Wellington-Masterton Relay Race has been held, saw 32 teams, a record number, line up at the start.

This relay which is contested by club teams has virtually developed over the last few years into the National Road Relay championships with Northland and Southland this year being the only provinces not represented by teams.

Victoria performed extremely well finishing in ninth place with a time of 5 hours 47 min 30 sec. This was Vic's best time since 1956. The Club's best performance was in 1955 when it won the relay in what was then a record breaking time of 5 hours 44 mins 36 sec.

The ninth placing was also the highest placing Vic has achieved since the eighth placing in 1961.

The Vic team was Ian Stockwell, George Seconi, Len Watson, Martin Fisher, Tony Burge, Peter Konig, Phil Williams, Eric Cairns and Tony Woolhouse, the most outstanding performances coming from Seconi and Konig.