Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient. Victoria University Student Newspaper. Volume 33 No. 14. 1970

Harriers Improve

Harriers Improve

This year, the 25th the Wellington-Masterton Relay Race has been held, saw 32 teams, a record number, line up at the start.

This relay which is contested by club teams has virtually developed over the last few years into the National Road Relay championships with Northland and Southland this year being the only provinces not represented by teams.

Victoria performed extremely well finishing in ninth place with a time of 5 hours 47 min 30 sec. This was Vic's best time since 1956. The Club's best performance was in 1955 when it won the relay in what was then a record breaking time of 5 hours 44 mins 36 sec.

The ninth placing was also the highest placing Vic has achieved since the eighth placing in 1961.

The Vic team was Ian Stockwell, George Seconi, Len Watson, Martin Fisher, Tony Burge, Peter Konig, Phil Williams, Eric Cairns and Tony Woolhouse, the most outstanding performances coming from Seconi and Konig.