Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient. Victoria University of Wellington Students' Newspaper. Vol. 32, No. 23. September 24, 1969

Takahe-Akaroa Relay

Takahe-Akaroa Relay

This 48 mile relay event is open to all clubs in NZ every four years and is the premier road relay when this does occur.

Victoria's eight-man team comprised Peter Simpson, Peter Konig, Ian Stockwell, Tim Beaglehole, Bryan Dawkins, Murray Pinkham, Steve Havill and Tony Burge.

Victoria's overall placing of 29 out of the 72 teams competing was a creditable performance considering that the team was not Vic's number one squad.

Tim Dravitzki, a fifth year Commerce student, and a member of the renowned New Plymouth harrier family, won the Vic Harrier Club's annual handicap race for the Endeavour Cup.

This race which is between 6½ to 7 miles long, starts in Kelburn Parade opposite the Robert Stout building and from there the course is up Glasgow Street to Upland Road, along Upland Road, across the viaduct to Northland Road, up Northland Road through the Northland shopping centre to Orangi-Kaupapa Road.

From here the course is over Tinakori Hill to Wadestown Road, along Wadestown Road, Wilton Road, Curtis Street, up Old Karori Road, down Chaytor Street, through the Northland tunnel down Northland Road, along Upland Road, Glasgow Street to finish opposite the Robert Stout Building on Kelburn Parade.

Tim Dravitzki, running off 6m, soon caught the limit men John Riseborough and Connor McBride running off 20 m.

However, he had his hands full in catching Philip Burgess and did not succeed in doing so until ¼ of a mile from the finish.

Peter Konig passed Philip further along Upland Road to beat him home for second place by two seconds.