Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient: Victoria University Students' Paper. Vol. 29, No. 14. 1966.

Debaters aid society

Debaters aid society

Salient Reporter

The Debating Society received recently a copy of the photograph of the team that first won the Joynt Challenge Scroll for Victoria in 1906.

At The Plunket Medal dinner earlier this year Mr. P. P. Kelly, of Hastings, promised to present the photograph of himself and the late E. J. Fltzglbbon. Mr. Kelly has since forwarded the photograph, suitably framed to Cameron Rose for formal presentation to the society on Mr. Kelly's behalf.

E. J. Fitzgibbon was a very distinguished member of the Debating Society: he was the first winner of the Plunket Medal (1905), first winner of the Union Prize (1905), and with Mr. Kelly first winner for Victoria of the Joynt Scroll (1906).

F. P. Kelly, in addition to his debating success was a contestant in the 1905 Plunket Medal Contest and winner in 1907. He recently attended the Plunket Medal Jubilee celebrations and proposed the toast to the "Plunket Medal" at the jubilee dinner.

The society was the recipient of another presentation on the evening of the VUWV. UK debate. Miss C. S. Forde, having observed the cups of water provided for MPS when they debated at Victoria, presented the society with a magnificent crystal Jug and sixglass water set. The handsome set ensured the best facilities offered to the touring UK team were at Victoria.

Miss Forde won every award the society and NZU debating had to offer. The Plunket Medal (1932) and the Bledisloe Medal (1935) for oratory; the Union Prize (1931) and the Joynt Scroll (l932) for debate. Miss Forde is the only person in the society to have won all four awards: an outstanding achievement.