Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient: Victoria University Students' Paper. Vol. 28, No. 11. 1965.

Labour Fails

Labour Fails

After the election, however, it became clear that in the sequel nothing would be heard of the public credit or its intelligent use. The association kept on its educational efforts from its office in Wellington and elsewhere.

It held annual conferences, at which evidence soon began to accumulate of a determination to take direct political action. Prominent in this urgency were Miss S. Andrew of Dunedin, Mr. R. G. Young of Hamilton, and Mr. F. C. Jordan of Auckland.

A resolution was at last carried in January, 1953, on a motion moved by Mr. W. B. Owen of Christchurch and seconded by Mr. F. W. Stevens of that city, to form a political wing of the association.

The decision having been taken, Mr. Owen continues:

A committee was formed in Christchurch which met regularly ... early in 1953 certain individuals undertook to contribute from 10/ - to £1 per week to finance the salary and expenses of an organising secretary for Canterbury and Mr. J. E. Cole-chin, who resigned from his job for the purpose, was elected to the position. From this date interest and membership increased steadily. On the Dominion level, the committee met frequently in Wellington in conjunction with the Association under the chairmanship of Mr. R. O. C. Marks. Messrs, Colechin, Mackay and Owen were commissioned to draw up a constitution and policy for presentation to the first annual conference in 1954.

Active on the dominion committee were Mr. R. G. Young and Mr. F. Jordan, who gathered considerable interest in the North Island. At the conference in 1954, the name NZ Social Credit Political League was adopted and it was decided that the League be incorporated. The constitution was adopted with minor changes and also the interim policy. Mr. J. E. Colechin was elected dominion secretary with appropriate salary, the responsibility for which was taken over by the League. Mr. W. B. Owen was elected the first president of the League.

Thus, on the eve of the 1954 election, eighty Social Credit candidates sought the franchise of the country and history began to be made.