Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient: Victoria University Students' Paper. Vol. 28, No. 11. 1965.

How we won the Shield

How we won the Shield

Men's Hockey

This year Massey and Lincoln were unable to send teams to Tournament, so Victoria fielded a B team. Other competing Universities were Auckland, Otago and Canterbury. The VUW B side was ineligible for Tournament Shield points. Reports of VUW games follow.

After the steady rain of the past few weeks the Karori Park hockey fields were a mud-bath and this tended to be an equalising factor in all play on this ground.


This game may have given the selectors second thoughts. As in most games, the mud stopped constructive play and the halftime score was nil-all. Ten minutes after the resumption of play M. Hollyer scored to put VUW B in the lead. Colin Milne equalised after a series of long and penalty corners, and then P. Nicholson put the B team back in front from a good centre by I. Jack. Three minutes from fulltime Milne rescued the A team from an ignominious defeat with a shot hit one foot from the backline that whistled in at head height.

Final score: VUW A 2, VUW B 2.


This was an even game with neither side showing outstanding play in the rain. VUW B made better use of their opportunities and in the first five minutes P. Parkin scored. Fifteen minutes later L. Barker took the score to 2-nil to VUW but C. Witters scored for AU just on half-time. In the second half AU kept up strong pressure and although possession was about equal managed to keep the ball in the VUW half. About 10 minutes from the end C. Moss scored the equalising goal for AU.

Final score: AU 2, VUW B 2. Otago v. Victoria B

This game was fairly even in possession, with OU attacking more than VUW, but VUW making, more use of their opportunities. Early in the game J. Strode-Penny scored for OU and later D. Duggan scored for VUW with a penalty flick, bringing the halftime score to 1-1. The mud bathing continued in the second half. I. Jack scored for VUW and I. MacBeath evened the score for OU with another penalty flick. No further score was made.

OU 2, VUW B 2.

Victoria A v. Canterbury

This game was more or less dominated by VUW. CU seemed unable to adapt their game to the admittedly atrocious conditions. C. Milne of VUW scored the only goal in the first half. Early in the second half D. Grant added another to VUW's tally, then five minutes before fulltime Mihkelson scored for CU with a good hard hit from a penalty corner. Three minutes later G. Pepper put the issue beyond doubt by scoring a third goal for VUW.

VUW A 3, CU 1.

Auckland v. Victoria A

Mud continued to prevent any constructive hockey being played. G. Pepper scored for VUW in the first half and C. Milne added another in the second half to give VUW a clear-cut victory.

VUW A 2, AU 0.

Canterbury v. Victoria B

CU were a much improved team from the morning's performance and were continually on attack. R. Crawford scored early in the first half and not long before halftime I. Stanton made it 2-0 with a penalty flick. VUW tightened up their defence in the second half and no further score was made by either side.

CU 2, VUW B 0.

Victoria A v. Otago

The decisive game of the tournament was played on a fairly good ground and produced the best hockey. VUW were continually on attack but could not score despite some conversions over the goal. At halftime the score was 0-0. The second half began with OU playing with much more determination, but having difficulty penetrating the VUW circle. Both VUW wings made good runs but the OU defence remained firm. Then about five minutes from fulltime G. Pepper scored for VUW off a fine centre by D. Reynolds, and that was it.

VUW A 1, OU 0.

Final Result

Victoria University, 8pts, 1; Otago University, 5pts, 2; Canterbury University, 4pts, 3; Auckland University, 3pts, 4.

VUW players selected for the NZU team to play Wellington were R. Rosemergy, W. Haskell, R. Grant, C. Milne, W. Williams, R. Hendricks, G. Pepper (reserve).