Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient: Victoria University Students' Paper. Vol. 28, No. 2. 1965.

Prestige Fellows

Prestige Fellows

Following a decision of Commonwealth Ministers at the Trade and Economic Conference at Montreal in 1958, the first Commonwealth Education Conference was convened at Oxford in 1959 to initiate the scheme now known as the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan. One of the basic purposes of the Plan was the sharing of the educational facilities of the Commonwealth by the establishment of scholarships.

The New Zealand Government agreed to participate in the scheme and offered ten scholarships annually in addition New Zealand pioneered the establishment of Prestige Fellowships within the Plan. These Fellowships administered by the New Zealand Scholarship and Fellowship Committee enable the Universities of New Zealand to nominate eminent academicians for short visits of six weeks to one academic year. These visits have proved most stimulating.

During 1964 Mr. J. B. Cragg, Director, the Nature Conservancy, Merlewood Research Station, of Lancashire and Professor S. G Raybould, Professor of Adult Education and Director of Extramural Studies in the University of Leeds visited New Zealand. Professor Raybould was able to offer valuable advice during a period of re-organisation of Adult Education in New Zealand.

1965 promises to be a vintage year for visits by Prestige Fellows.

To date Sir John Eccles, a Nobel Prize winner and one time Professor of Physiology In the University of Otago and Professor B. Gale, Professor of Chemical Microbiology at Cambridge, have visited New Zealand. Other visitors during the current academic year will include the following:—

Miss Alma Reid, Director, school of Nursing, McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario who will advise on nursing training in New Zealand.

Professor O. H. K. Spate, Professor of Geography in the Research School of Pacific Studies in the Australian National University.

Sir Ronald Syme (a New Zealander) Camden Professor of Ancient History at Oxford.

Professor D. G. Creighton, Professor of History, University of Toronto.

Professor O. M. Bulman, Professor of Geology. University of Cambridge.

Professor E. L. Hirst, Professor of Chemistry, University of Edinburgh.

Sir Patrick Linstead. Rector of Imperial College, London.

Salient intends to publish interviews with some of these Prestige Fellows when they arc in New Zealand.

While the regular reporting staff of Salient will be considered for these interviews, preference will be given to any student who has a special interest and knowledge of the subject of the Prestige Fellow whom he wishes to interview.

Accordingly, if any student wishes to interview any of these Fellows, he or she is invited to call at the Editorial room and discuss the matter further with the Editors.