Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient. The Newspaper of Victoria University College, Wellington, N.Z. Vol. 19, No. 3. March 24, 1955

Winter Sports Annual General Meetings

Winter Sports Annual General Meetings


It was most disappointing to hear at the AGM of the Soccer Club that it was impossible to arrange for sufficient ex-members or supporters to assist the club by undertaking to coach the second and third teams.

Any team, whatever the sport, is always greatly encouraged if there is someone on the sideline, and without this support and interest is it surprising that team members themselves lose their keenness and drift away? I would therefore urge the club to do its utmost to secure the much-needed coaches before the commencement of the forthcoming season, and in so doing to build up strong, eager and keen lower grade teams which are the backbone of any club.

The elected officers were:—
  • Club Captain: B. Ready.
  • Deputy Club Captain: E. Harris.
  • Sec.-Tres.: J. Denton.
  • Coach: R. Cooks.


Amid most unusual (for an AGM) and inspiring (thanks to Mr. T.H.B.) conditions the "honourable" gentlemen who attended the Annual Meeting of the Harrier Club actually, at one stage of the meeting, elected the following officers:—
  • Club Captain: R. I. Gilberd.
  • Vice-Captain: T. H. Beaglehole.
  • Sec.-Tres.: R. C. Crocker.
  • Ass.-Sec.:, it. Orange.
  • Committee: Messrs. Whitelaw, Gow and Trucebridge.

The annual report of the club included results which possibly surpassed even the Rugby Club's record, as in the inter-club competition the harrier [unclear: ams] won all [unclear: races] in which they entered except two—an extremely creditable performance. The only blot on last year's horizon was a slight falling off in the number of medium and slow pack runners, a state of affairs which the club sincerely hopes will be rectified this year.


Officers elected at the AGM of the Rugby Club were:—
  • Club Captain: R. P. Hanson.
  • Deputy Club Captain: N. V. Ryder.
  • Hon. Sec.: C. I. W. Archibald.
  • Hon. Tres.: R. Savage.

Committee: Messrs. I. E. Stuart, A. S. Clark, G. Harris and W. Bremner.

The 1954 season must surely go down in the annals of the VUC Rugby Club as the most successful in its history. Three teams won their grades and a fourth was first equal, while the remaining four teams all performed well. In the club championship VUC finished second to Petonc.

The senior XV created a record for the club by winning the Jubilee Cup for the third successive season, and in so doing continued to play the Rugby that the public has come to expect in recent years from a University XV.

This year the club aims at emulating, or even improving on, last season's successes. All keen Rugby players at VUC are urged to watch the notice-board for details of team practice schedules or to contact a committee member as soon as possible—and, who knows, in a year or two You may be playing inside Ron Jarden or rucking with Bill Clark.


The AGM of the Hockey Club was attended by 16 people out of the 35 who had written their names on the notice-board as prepared to play the sport in the coming season. Even allowing for the usual apathy of students for annual meetings, this figure was not very encouraging for the club which last year had fairly reasonable success.

Hockey Cartoon

Last season the club fielded five teams, and their places in their grades, with the number of teams playing in parentheses, were as follows:—
  • Senior Championship—3rd (6).
  • Senior Macalister—1st (6).
  • Reserve—3rd (6).
  • 2nd. 1st. div—4th (6).
  • 2nd. 2nd. div—6th (8).
  • 3rd, 2nd. dlv—2nd. (6).

The highlight of the year's activity was, of course. Tournament—with an added interest in the visit of the Australian University team—and VUC put up an extremely good performance to win the Tournament Hockey Shield.

Officers elected for the 1955 season were:—
  • Club Captain: B. Bornholdt.
  • Secretary: M. Humphries.
  • Treasurer: G. Revell.
  • Executive: Messrs. Calkin. Comp-ton, De Cleene.