Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient. An organ of student opinion at Victoria College Wellington, N.Z. Vol. 2, No. 5 April 19, 1939

The Disqualifications

The Disqualifications.

Sylvia Hefford finished a touch ahead of the present 100 yards women's breaststroke champion. Miss Eastgate, after swimming a fine race, and doing the distance in about 95 seconds. Ron Meek finished second in the 220 breaststroke event, which was won by J. C. W. Davies (Otago University), who equaled the New Zealand record. Unfortunately, both our swimmers were disqualified by the judge for not swimming the correct breaststroke, as was every other competitor, except Davies (Otago University) and Miss Eastgate (Otago University) in each race! Meek, it is true, was disqualified at Auckland last year, though the particular fault for which he was then disqualified was not in evidence this year: but Sylvia's breaststroke has been always held up in Wellington as a model of correctness, and it is very unfortunate that, after just falling to beat Miss Eastgate in the last two tournaments, she should be disqualified upon doing so. There were three breaststroke races on the programme, and, out of a total of ten competitors, all except Davies and Miss Eastgate were disqualified. The disqualifications included the New Zealand intermediate women's breaststroke champion. A protest was lodged against this excessively rigid interpretation of the rules, but was unsuccessful.

The water polo match, in which all the men in the team took part, was of a high standard, and resulted in a draw.

We feel we should mention the splendid way in which the contest was run, and the unfailing courtesy and consideration of the Otago officials.