Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Salient. An Organ of Student Opinion at Victoria College, Wellington, N.Z. Vol. 1, No. 14 July 6, 1938

Sparks Fly at Tawhai

Sparks Fly at Tawhai

At last a strong, determined working party of 14 has left its mark on Tawhai Hut, which has consequently taken a new lease of life. The leader and Ernie Tait arrived at 5.30 on Saturday to find the hut deserted. Where was the party? Two hours "hiss" up and down the river by the leader was without result, but on his return to the hut he found it full to overflowing with a noisy crowd which proved to be the party. Feeding was, of course, well under way, "Ginger" Anderson acting with his usual efficiency as Home for Lost (and Stolen and Strayed) Food.

The only excuse offered by Messrs. Bradshaw and Robertson for their arrival at 1.30 on Sunday morning was "pictures at Eastbourne." Cross-examination however elicited the fact that, overcome by a strong desire to see once more their native heath, they had climbed all the way up the Cattle Ridge to gaze wistfully at the twinkling lights of Wellington. Well, well!

On Sunday morning attention was paid to many matters about the hut, such as repairs to the fireplace, pack hangers, firewood rack, a railing along the bank, etc. The committee wishes to thank those who assisted in these good works, not forgetting the ladies who did the cooking.

E.E. Blacker, still one of the best forwards in the V.U.C. First Fifteen, was a Wellington representative for ward for the first time in 1927. In 1928 and 1929 University won the Senior A Championship. In the powerful team that represented V.U.C. In 1929 there were no fewer than ten men who also represented the province that year. R.H.C. Mackenzie captained the Wellington representatives, the other Varsity men to gain provincial honors being F. Cormack, E. K. Eastwood. F. S. Ramson (also a noted athlete). J. D. Mackay, E. T. C. Leys, H. Cormack. C. E. Dixon, R. E. Diederich and J. M. Edgar, Mackenzie and Mackay were All Blacks in 1928, Leys in 1929.