Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

History of New Zealand. Vol. III.

3. Parliamentary Representation

page 461

3. Parliamentary Representation.

The Maoris return four Maori members, representing four constituencies (three in the North Island and one in the Middle Island), to the House of Representatives; and two members of the Legislative Council are Aboriginal chiefs. In 1893, the number of Maoris (of both sexes) who voted at the General Election was 11,269, or about 27 per cent, of the total Maori population.