Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Illustrated Guide to Christchurch and Neighbourhood

The New Zealand University

page 55

The New Zealand University.

This University was established under Act of the Assembly, and received the Royal Charter in 1877. It is an examining body only, and is governed by a senate of twenty-four members, with a Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor. In Christchurch it is located in modest rooms in Cashel-street, near Oxford Terrace, and where Mr. W. M. Maskell, Registrar and Secretary, is always to be found. Students must belong to one of the several colleges in the Colony affiliated with the University, and must keep three years term before taking a degree. But students residing at a distance from a college can obtain exemption from attendance at College lectures, but not from passing a college examination.

The examinations are held in England by the best available men, and the examinations are fully as stiff as those of the London University.

There are eight Junior Scholarships each year of £45 a year, tenable for three years, and one Senior Scholarship worth £60 for one year, and medical scholarship of the annual value of £100.

Full information regarding the University can be obtained in The New Zealand University Calendar, published yearly, which can be seen in the Reference Room of the Public Library, and is to be purchased in Christchurch of Mr A. Simpson, bookseller.