Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Historic Poverty Bay and the East Coast, N.I., N.Z.


Rugby became organised on the East Coast in May, 1903. There were then clubs at Tolaga Bay, Tokomaru Bay, Tuparoa and Waipiro Bay. It was decided to form a “Waiapu Rugby Union,” but, as the New Zealand Rugby Union would not acquiesce, Waiapu became a sub-union of the Poverty Bay Rugby Union. In May, 1922, Waiapu, after another futile attempt in 1914 to form a separate union, was granted affiliation by the N.Z.R.U. under the title “The East Coast Rugby Union.” Its first management committee comprised: P. Tamahori (chairman), G. Neill, H. Poananga, J. M. Reedy, M. Hyland and Robinson, with C. T. McFarlane (secretary).

The first contest between Waiapu and Poverty Bay was held in 1903. Waiapu: T. Potae, Rangi, M. Murphy (captain), Pokihau, G. Reynolds, Hicks, E. R. Murphy, H. Fairlie, J. Haimes, Aorere, Beetham, J. Taylor, F. Manuel, R. K. Murphy and Brooking. Poverty Bay: Russell, Lear, Symes (captain), Nolan, Te Reina, Poananga, J. Hay, Morissey, Newton, Mullaney, Hatea, Holmes, Paratene, Wepiha and Wauchop. Poverty Bay won by 17–5.

Matches which East Coast has played against outside districts have resulted as under:

v. Poverty Bay—(See under Poverty Bay list.)

v. Bay of Plenty—1930, lost 3–6 and won 19–3; 1935, won 12–6; 1937, drawn 0–0; 1947, lost 9–11; 1949, won 25–24.

v. Thames Valley—1931, won 5–3; 1947, drawn 0–0.

v. Hawke's Bay—1932, lost 8–14; 1934, lost 11–22.

v. Waikato—1929, lost 11–15; 1947, lost 8–11.

v. Taranaki—1929, won 3–0.