Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Historic Poverty Bay and the East Coast, N.I., N.Z.

Legislative Council

Legislative Council.

Seats in the Legislative Council have been held by the following Poverty Bay and East Coast residents:

Captain William Henry Tucker (born at Auckland in 1844) started as a cadet on Woodlands (H.B.) and, in 1865, G. S. Cooper appointed him manager of Pouawa run. He saw active service during the Te Kooti revolt. For some years he was secretary to Captain Read. He then took over the management of Riparata Kahutia's properties, and acquired considerable property on his own account. In 1901 he leased the Campbell Islands as a sheep run. He was twice Mayor of Gisborne, and also served as chairman of Cook County Council, Gisborne Harbour Board, and Cook Hospital Board. His death occurred on 19 February, 1919.

William Morgan (born in Kildare in 1851) landed at Dunedin in 1874, went into business as a saddler at Roxburgh, and, in the early 1880's, moved to Gisborne. For some years he was chairman of the Central School Committee and a member of the Hawke's Bay Education Board. He then became chairman of, and, later, secretary of, the High School Board. He died on 18 February, 1918.


The most exciting local option (licensing of hotels) poll ever held in the East Coast districts took place in 1905, when Gisborne formed part of the Waiapu electorate. Result: Continuance, 2,714 votes; Reduction of Licences, 2,637; No-Licence, 4,000. The number of valid votes cast was 6,713. If 28 additional votes had been recorded for No-Licence that issue would have gained the required three-fifths majority.