Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Letter from Rawiri Karaha to the Editor of Te Pipiwharauroa

July 8, 1901.

To the Editor,

Te Pipiwharauroa,

I think it is proper you should publish the enclosed list of names of Ngati-Porou chiefs who were not given medals. Only two chiefs were given medals. How could Apirana Ngata have the courage to slight these chiefs? It would not have been so bad if descendants of Mokena Kohere were included, for he was the chief who enabled tribal fires to be rekindled, both in Poverty Bay and Waiapu. Other chiefs were heard of only in later years.

The following is the list of chiefs drawn up by Wi Pere to receive medals, but because of Apirana Ngata's interference only two were accepted:

Of Ngati-Porou: Pine Tuhaka, Te Whakatihi, Neho Kopuka, Wiremu Keiha, Te Houkamau, Tuhaka Kohere, Tuta Nihoniho, Tamanui-te-ra.

From Bay of Plenty: Pare Koihu, Waikura, Paora Ngamoki, Te Paea Kingi, Te Aporotanga, Te Whenuanui.

The two chiefs who were selected by Apirana Ngata were Te Houkamau and Waikura.

I remain,

Rawiri Karaha.