Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The King Country; or, Explorations in New Zealand. A Narrative of 600 Miles of Travel through Maoriland.

List of the New Zealand Tribes, with Their Localities

page 351

List of the New Zealand Tribes, with Their Localities.

These tribes, which constitute the principal divisions of the Maori race, are all subdivided into hapus, or tribal families, bearing often a different appellation to that of the parent tribe, to which, however, each hapu claims a direct relationship.

Name of Tribe. Locality.
Aopouri and Rarawa North Cape to Hokianga.
Ngapuhi Bay of Islands.
Ngatiwhatua and Uriohau Manukau Kaipara and Waitemata.
Ngatitai Firth of Thames and Auckland.
Ngatipaoa Thames from Cape Colville to Katikati.
Ngatierangi Katikati to Maketu and inland.
Ngatiwhaka-aue Maketu and Lake Country.
Ngatiraukawa Otaki Arowhenua.
Waikato Valley of Waikato to Manukau.
Ngatimaniapoto Valley of Waipa to Mokau.
Ngatiawa West Coast from Mount Egmont to Mount Taupiri, Waikanae, Wellington, &c.
Te Whakatohea Bay of Plenty and inland.
Ngatipouri Cape Runaway and inland.
Ngatituwharetoa Lake Taupo and centre of North Island.
Ngatitama From Mokau inland.
Taranaki West Coast near Mount Egmont.
Ngatiruanui Waitotara and inland
Ngarauru Waitotara to Whanganui and inland.
Ngatihau Whanganui and inland.
Ngatiapa Rangitaue, Whanganui River, and inland.
Ngatitoa Near Wellington.
Ngatikahungunu Table Cape to Palliser Bay, and inland.
Te Urewera Taupo to Poverty Bay.
Whanauapanui Cape Runaway to Bay of Plenty and inland.
Rangitane Admiralty Bay and vicinity.
Ngahitao South and Middle Island.