Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The New Zealand Constitution Act [1852]: together with correspondence between the Secretary of State for the colonies and the Governor-in-Chief of New Zealand in explanation thereof

Province of Canterbury. — Superintendent and Provincial Council

Province of Canterbury.

Superintendent and Provincial Council.

Number of Members of Provincial Council.

16. The Provincial Council of the said Province shall consist of Twelve Members.

Number of Electoral Districts.

17. The Province of Canterbury, for the purposes of the Election of the Superintendent and the Members of the Provincial Council thereof, shall be divided into Four Electoral Districts, to be named as follows, viz.:—
1.The Town of Christchurch.
2.The Christchurch Country District.
3.The Town of Lyttelton.
4.The Akaroa District.

The Boundaries of the said Districts being particularly set forth and described in the Schedule, and delineated on the Maps or Plans hereunto annexed.

Number of Members of Provincial Council for each District.

18. The number of Members to be elected to serve in the Provincial Council for the said several Districts shall be as follows:— page 101
1.For the Town of Christchurch Three Members.
2.For the Christchurch Country District Four Members.
3.For the Town of Lyttelton Three Members.
4.For the Akaroa District Two Members.