Other formats

    Adobe Portable Document Format file (facsimile images)   TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The New Zealand Constitution Act [1852]: together with correspondence between the Secretary of State for the colonies and the Governor-in-Chief of New Zealand in explanation thereof


By His Excellency Sir George Grey, a Knight Commander of the Most Honorable Order of the Bath, (l.s.) Governor-in-Chief, and Commander-in-Chief in and over the Islands of New Zealand, and Vice-Admiral of the same, &c., &c., &c.

Whereas an Act was passed in the Fifteenth and Sixteenth years of the Reign of Her present Majesty, cap. lxxii, intituled "An Act to grant a Representative Constitution to the Colony of New Zealand;"

And whereas the said Act, in accordance with the provisions thereof, was Proclaimed in the said Colony of New Zealand on the Seventeenth day of January, in the year of Our Lord One Thousand Eight Hundred and Fifty-Three:

And whereas, by the second clause of the above-recited Act, the following Provinces were established in the said Colony of New Zealand, namely—

The Province of Auckland,

The Province of New Plymouth,

The Province of Wellington,

The Province of Nelson,

The Province of Canterbury, and

The Province of Otago.

And whereas it was by the same clause of the same Act further enacted that "the limits of such several Provinces shall be fixed by Proclamation by the Governor as soon as conveniently may be after the Proclamation of the said Act:"

Now therefore, I, the Governor-in-Chief, do hereby Proclaim and Declare, That the limits of the Provinces aforesaid shall be as follows, namely—