Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Taranaki, Hawke's Bay & Wellington Provincial Districts]

Railway Department

Railway Department.

The Wanganui District of New Zealand Government Railways forms part of the Wel-lington-Napier-New Plymouth section, and extends from Foxton to Woodville, from Palmerston North to New Plymouth, and to all branches, including the Main Trunk line as far as Mata-roa. The Eastown workshops at Aramoho are controlled by the Locomotive Engineer at Petone. The offices of the traffic department at Wanganui are at the railway station, Taupo Quay. Mr Walter Stringle-man is District Traffic Manager, and Mr C. H. Biss, District Engineer. 400 persons are employed in the Traffic branch; 270 in the Maintenance branch, and 175 at the Eastown Workshops.

The Railway Station is a new two-storeyed wooden building with a tiled roof. The first floor is occupied by the departmental staff, and the ground floor contains the ticket office and public lobby, ladies' and gentlemen's waiting rooms, stationmaster's office, traffic inspector's office, and luggage and porters' rooms. The office of the district engineer and his staff is in a separate building. There is also a goods department and a large wharf and shed. The station staff number forty-five permanent, and thirty casual wharf hands. Eleven trains arrive and depart daily. Mr Joseph Smith is Stationmaster-in-charge, and has served on the staff of the New Zealand Railways since the year 1875.