Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Taranaki, Hawke's Bay & Wellington Provincial Districts]

Athletics — Wanganui Rugby Union


Wanganui Rugby Union has been in existence for some years, having been founded in 1888. Officers for the year 1907:—Mr W. Empson (patron), Mr G. Spriggins (president), Messrs G. R. Simpson, H. F. Tilley, and J. C. Wesney (vice-presidents, A. W. Mountfort (treasurer), W. Hall (secretary), and a committee consisting of one representative from each club. There are a number of clubs affiliated with the Union, besides three sub-unions, namely—Rangi-tikei, Awarua, and Primary Schools. The Union is one of the oldest on the Coast, under the New Zealand Union; it controls all Rugby football in the Wanganui district, holds five competitions during each season in addition to a primary school competition. Representatives from the Union have played against the British, New South Wales and Australian teams in Great Britain, Australia, and the Dominion.