Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Taranaki, Hawke's Bay & Wellington Provincial Districts]

Civic Institutions — The New Plymouth Volunteer Fire Brigade

page 54

Civic Institutions.

The New Plymouth Volunteer Fire Brigade was established in 1883. The principal station is in Powderham Street, and there are branch stations in Devon Street—east and west. The brigade has thirty members, and there are five auxiliary members resident on the central station. Officers for 1906: Mr. Fred Bellringer, superintendent; Mr. A. Boon, sub-superintendent; Mr. T. R. Ford, secretary. Mr. Bellringer has been superintendent since the year 1896, and is at the present time (1906) President of the United Fire Brigades' Association of New Zealand.