Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Taranaki, Hawke's Bay & Wellington Provincial Districts]

Present Members Of The House Of Representatives

Present Members Of The House Of Representatives.

Mr. Edward Metcalf Smith has been a Member of the House of Representatives for Taranaki for some years, having been returned at the general elections held on the 10th of December, 1902, and on the 4th of December, 1905. Mr. Smith is known as a consistent follower of the Liberal Government. He has taken a deep interest in the progress of Taranaki, and has been prominent in the advocacy of the development of local industries. This has been notably the case in connection with the Taranaki iron-sand, in the interest of which Mr. Smith paid a special visit to England some years ago.

Mr. William Thomas Jennings was elected member for Egmont in the House of Representatives at the general election of 1902, and was reelected at the general election of 1905. He was called by the Ballance Ministry to the Legislative Council for seven years as from the 15th of October, 1892, and was recalled on the 16th of October, 1899. Mr. Jennings resigned his seat in the Council, in order to stand for the representation of Egmont at the general election of 1902. A biographical sketch of Mr. Jennings appears at page 90 of the Auckland volume of this Cyclopedia.