The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Taranaki, Hawke's Bay & Wellington Provincial Districts]
The Hawera District High School was established in the year 1901, and stands on a site of about ten acres on the south road. It is a large building of wood and iron, and contains thirteen rooms, including a gymnasium, a wood-working room, science and art rooms, and a fine concert hall, measuring 60 feet by 30 feet. There are five entrance porches, and accommodation is provided for about 600 pupils. The headmaster is supported by six teachers, three assistants and four pupil teachers. There is a fine school residence on the grounds. The roll contains 550 names, and the average attendance is 460.
Mr. Conrad A. Strack, Headmaster of the Hawera District High School, had considerable experience in the South Island, before his appointment to Hawera.
The Convent Of The Holy Infancy was founded in February, 1885. The original building was replaced in 1895 by a new one, which contains eight principal rooms, besides offices. There are six Sisters in residence; and music, singing, fancy work, languages and book-keeping are taught. A primary school, attended by 150 pupils, is also under the care of the Sisters.