Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Taranaki, Hawke's Bay & Wellington Provincial Districts]

The New Plymouth Savings Bank

The New Plymouth Savings Bank was established about the year 1850. Officers: His Excellency the Governor, President; Mr. H. Weston, Vice-President; Messrs A. Shuttleworth, W. L. Newman, J. Ward and R. Cock, Trustees; and Mr. P. C. Morton, Manager. The bank is situated in Brougham Street, and is managed on lines similar to those of the Auckland Savings Bank. The object is to provide safe custody for small savings, and interest is allowed on sums not exceeding £100. Of late years the business of the bank has greatly increased; in the year 1888, its total liabilities were £5,766, which had increased in the year 1904, to £19,243. This large sum was represented by securities to the value of £16,220, and cash amounting to £2750. The balance-sheet showed a credit of £1741 over all liabilities.