Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Taranaki, Hawke's Bay & Wellington Provincial Districts]

Post Office — The New Plymouth Post and Telegraph Office

Post Office,

The New Plymouth Post and Telegraph Office occupies the ground floor of the eastern end of the Government Buildings, at the corner of Devon and Robe Streets. The departments include Savings Bank, Money Order, Government Insurance, and other branches. The Telephone Exchange at New Plymouth has 320 subscribers, and there are sub-exchanges at Inglewood and Waitara, in addition to sixty-four bureaux. The chief postmaster, Mr. T. D. Holdsworth, is supported by a large staff of assistants.