Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Taranaki, Hawke's Bay & Wellington Provincial Districts]


As the chief town of Taranaki, New Plymouth has a number of Government departments, which are domiciled in a block surrounded by four streets; namely, Devon Street, Powderham Street, Robe Street, and Silver Street. The largest building of the group is usually known as the Government Buildings. Its frontage is to Devon Street, but it also faces Silver Street and Robe Street. A substantial and imposing addition in brick and stone has lately been made to the block. The Post and Telegraph offices, Customs, Public Trust Office and Deeds Registry Office are on the ground floor; and the Department of Lands and Survey, and the meeting room of the Taranaki Land Board and Egmont National Park Board, as well as the offices of the Roads Department for Taranaki, are on the upper floor. The premises of the Supreme Court, District Court, and Magistrate's Court are at the corner of Powderham Street and Robe Street, and the Police Station is in Silver Street. The gaol is situated on Marsland Hill, at the back of the town, and the administration of bankrupt estates is conducted at the office of the local Deputy Official Assignee. The Agricultural Department's branches for its stock, dairy, and veterinary sections, are domiciled in the Union Company's buildings, in St. Aubyn Street. The Labour Department has recently established a branch for Taranaki, with its offices in Rowe's Building, Currie Street, and there also the local Registrar of Births, Deaths, and Marriages has his office. The Department of Health, and the Public Works Department, have their central offices for Taranaki at Stratford.