Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Taranaki, Hawke's Bay & Wellington Provincial Districts]

The 4th Battalion Wellington (Taranaki) Rifle Volunteers

The 4th Battalion Wellington (Taranaki) Rifle Volunteers
Collis, photo.Humphries' Castle, Mount Egmont.

Collis, photo.
Humphries' Castle, Mount Egmont.

has its head quarters at New Plymouth, and dates from the 1st of May, 1901. The battalion consists of eight companies; namely, A Company—Taranaki Rifle Volunteers (New Plymouth); B Company—Taranaki Guards Rifle Volunteers (New Plymouth); C Company—Patea Rifle Volunteers; D Company—Inglewood Rifle Volunteers; E Company—Eltham Rifle Volunteers; F Company—Hawera Rifle Volunteers; G Company—Waitara Rifle Volunteers; and H Company—Stratford Rifle Volunteers. Staff officers Lieutenant-Colonel E. N. L. Okey, V.D.; Major William George Malone; Adjutant Captain Claude H. Weston; Pay and Quartermaster-Captain George Cock, V.D. Medical officers: Surgeon-Major H. A. McCleland; Surgeon-Captain G. Home; Honorary Chaplain, the Rev. F. G. Evans.