Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Taranaki, Hawke's Bay & Wellington Provincial Districts]


Taranaki has troops of mounted rifle and infantry volunteers, which are included in the Wellington battalions. Its mounted corps form part of No. 1. Battalion, Wellington (West Coast) Mounted Rifle Volunteers, which has its (head-quarters in Wanganui, and dates from the 1st of May, 1901. The Taranaki companies are known as the C Company—Hawera Mounted Rifle Volunteers; D Company—Stratford Mounted Rifle Volunteers; E Company — Opunake Mounted Rifle Volunteers; and F Company—Egmont Mounted Rifle Volunteers. The infantry division forms the 4th Battalion Wellington (Taranaki) Rifle Volunteers. The headquarters of this battalion are at New Plymouth, and eight companies form the battalion. The Tarata, New Plymouth, Rahotu, Kaponga, Tariki, and Urenui Defence Clubs are all within the Taranaki district.