Other formats

    TEI XML file   ePub eBook file  


    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Taranaki, Hawke's Bay & Wellington Provincial Districts]

The Egmont National Park Board

The Egmont National Park Board was constituted in February, 1901, under the Egmont National Park Act of 1900, and consists of ten members, two of whom are Government nominees, and the remainder representatives of local governing bodies. The Commissioner of Crown Lands is chairman. Members for 1906: Messrs F. Simpson (chairman), S. Percy Smith and R. Dingle (Government nominees): W. A. Collis (New Plymouth borough), J. R. Hill (Taranaki County Council), N. King (Stratford borough), F. J. Wrigley (Hawera borough), F. W. Wilkie (Hawera County Council), A. J. Hastie (Stratford County Council), and A. H. Moore (Opunake Town Board). Mr. G. W. Palmer is secretary. The Park has an area of 78,922 acres, and in order to facilitate effective control and management, it is divided into four sections, each of which is under the control of local sub-committees, each consisting of about four members, who report periodically to the Board, and see to the proper conduct of the mountain houses, as well as other matters of detail.