The Cyclopedia of New Zealand [Wellington Provincial District]
Professional, Commercial And Industrial
Professional, Commercial And Industrial.
Barnes, A., and Son (Albert Barnes), Auctioneer, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. P.O. Box 3. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Mr. Barnes is a native of Lowestoft, Suffolk, and came to New Zealand in 1857, per ship “Midlothian,” landing in Wellington. He has been resident in Wanganui since 1860. The present business was established in 1874 by Messrs. Barnes and Wilson, and has been conducted by Mr. Barnes personally for many years. It is purely an auctioneering and commission agency business, the cattle trade having been established in 1880. The Campbelltown yards accommodate 300 head of cattle and 5000 sheep, the yards at Turakina 100 head of cattle and 2000 sheep, and those at Fordell 150 cattle and 4000 sheep. Mr. Barnes has been a Justice of the Peace for many years. He is an ex-member of the Wanganui School Committee, and was for many years vestryman and church-warden of Christ Church, Wanganui.
Chadwick, Joseph, Auctioneer and Commission Agent, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Chadwick, Wanganui.” Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Plymouth Street. Mr. Chadwick was born in London, and after following the sea for eight years, came out of Melbourne in January, 1853, per ship “Allapore.” He was brought up as an engineer in England, and was employed in the fitting up of machinery at the London Exhibition of 1851. On his arrival in Australia with his wife and family in January, 1853, Mr. Chadwick was all over the various goldfields, and as an auctioneer sold a considerable number of Government townships within 100 miles of Melbourne. He resided in Victoria and New South Wales altogether about eight years, and came to Dunedin in the 1861 rush. He was at the Dunstan, Lake Wakitipu, Foxes, and other goldfields, and was in business in Dunedin at the time of the Hokitika rushes. He went to Havelock, and after a short stay came on to Wanganui in the year 1865, since which time he has been closely associated with the growth and development of the town. As an auctioneer Mr. Chadwick has been prominent. He despatched the first shipments of cattle to the West Coast and elsewhere, and built the first cattle wharf on the Wanganui River, thus obviating the disagreeable necessity which had hitherto existed of driving the animals into the river, and hoisting them on to the vessel in a wet condition. For page 1407 ten years Mr. Chadwick sat as a member of the Borough Council. This was not his first experience as a public man, he having sat in the first council of Ararat, Victoria, to which he was returned at the head of the poll. Mr. Chadwick is a member of the Masonio fraternity, and probably the oldest now resident in the district, having been initiated in 1857. He is a “Master” of the order. Mr. Chadwick was all through the Taranaki war. He was colour-sergeant in the Wanganui Cavalry during its continuance, and lieutenant of the Campbelltown Rifles, and he holds the medal for active service. Mr. Chadwick has been twice married, and the children and grandchildren of himself and Mrs. Chadwick number from eighty-five to ninety. He is now seventy years of age and is in comparatively good health.
Ferguson, Basil, Insurance, Land, Estate, and Financial Agent, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Mr. Ferguson was formerly the Wanganui District representative for the Colonial Mutual Life Insurance Company, and in 1896 received the appointment of district agent. Mr. A. McDuff looks after the property department of Mr. Ferguson's business, the travelling representative being Mr. D. Smart. Possessing special advantages for the disposal of properties, Mr. Ferguson has money for advance on approved security in sums ranging from £5 to £5000. Mr. Ferguson, who was born at Belfast, Ireland, came to New Zealand in 1880, and was in business with Messrs. Matson and Co., of Christchurch, for five years. Since coming to Wanganui he had charge of the works office of the Wanganui Meat Freezing Company for three years. In all out-door sports he is a thorough enthusiast, and acts as honorary secretary for several of the clubs, promoted with the idea of fostering athletic exercises. Mr. McDuff, who is a native of Victoria, has had experience in the property and financial business, for which his early training makes him specially adapted.
Mr. B. Ferguson and Staff.
Jackson, Freeman R., and Co. (F. R. Jackson, and F. A. Krull), Auctioneers, Stock and Station Agents. Office, Victoria Avenue; Yards, St. Hill Street, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Jackson, Wanganui.” Telephone 16; P.O. Box 100. Bankers, [gap — reason: illegible] Bank of New Zealand. Private residences: Mr. Jackson, Riverbank, Telephone 72; Mr. Krull, St. John's Hill, Telephone 74. London agents, Messrs. Hick, Martin and Drysdale. This large business was founded by Mr. F. R. Jackson in 1874, and was conducted by him until 1887, when Mr. Krull joined the firm. The yards at St. Hill Street will accommodate 4000 sheep and 600 head of cattle. At Brassey Street, Waverley, there are commodious yards capable of holding 1000 head of cattle and 4,500 sheep. At Ohario Road, Johnsonville, the fat [unclear: stock] sale-yards will hold 130 head of cattle and 1000 sheep, while the Waitotara yards will accommodate 300 head of cattle and 2000 sheep. At all these yards regular sales are held. The firm are agents for the Alliance Fine and Marine Insurance Company, Colonial Mutual Life Assurance Company the Shaw, Savill and Albion Company, Owen's New Zealand sheep dip, and Piercy's patent fencing. Mr. Jackson has been secretary for the Gas Company for many years, and secretary of the Wanganui Jockey Club for over twenty years.
Keesing, J. H., Auctioneer, Valuator, and Commission Agent, Commercial Sale-Rooms, Victoria Avenue Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Keesing, Wanganui.” Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, St. Hill Street. Mr. Keesing is a native of Auckland, where he learned his business as a plumber, and for ten years after coming to Wanganui he carried on business in that line. For two years previous to that he was in business in One-hunga. In 1886 he established the present auctioneering business and occupies a large one-story building of wood and iron which was altered to suit the business. His trade extends all over the Colony. He is an importer of English furniture and also hardware, and conducts sales in and out of doors as required. Mr. Keesing is known as an amateur-theatrical stage manager. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, of which he is a “past master,” and holds the office of Assistant Grand Registrar of the Grand Lodge of New Zealand. Mr. Keesing is a member of the oddfellows' fraternity, and a J.P.
Liffton, Edward N., Auctioneer and Accountant, Ridgway Street, Wanganui.” Telegraphic address “Liffiton, Wanganui.” Telephone 21. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. Private residence, Cavie House, Ingestre Street. The present business was established by Mr. Liffiton in 1871, and has been successfully carried on by him since that date. He is agent for the Standard Insurance Company, and represents the Industrial School Estate, which includes about 250 acres in the town of Wanganui. He has also large private agencies. His specialties are land and finance, including the investment of moneys and the management of estates on behalf of absentees. Before establishing the above business Mr. Liffiton was for three years clerk in a mercantile office, and previous to that, for about thirteen years, he was a farmer and farm manager, but owing to an unfortunate accident, in which he and his horse fell over a cliff at Whangarei, Mr. Liffiton had to abandon that class of work.
Lundon, Patrick, Land and Commission Agent, Phœnix Chambers, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Lundon, Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, corner Ingestre and Harrison Streets. Agents: Wellington, Mr. L. Coupland; Auckland, Messrs. Cooke and Cooke; Christchurch, W. Tonks; Hawera, C. E. Major. Mr. Lundon established himself as above in 1890. His offices are in the very busiest part of Wanganui. Besides his general business, he is agent for Mr. L. Coupland, Wellington; Messrs. Cooke and Cooke, Auckland; Mr. W. Tonks, Christchurch; Mr. C. E. Major, Hawera. Mr. Lundon is sole agent for Mr. J. Provost's now celebrated cider, and has sub-agents all over the Colony and throughout Australia. Provost's cider is said to be of really excellent quality, a fact well proved by the demand which exists for it in the sister colonies. In some parts of the Colony, especially Hawkes Bay, it has an ever ready sale. The manufactory for this cider is at Mosstown, a distance of about two miles from Wanganui. Mr. Lundon is Cook's tourist agent, secretary for the page 1408 Sommerville Small Farm Association, and for the Wanganui United Association. “Get on the soil, young man; get on the soil!” is the advice given by the subject of this sketch, and from the quantity of land which Mr. Lundon passes through annually, there can be no doubt but that many appreciate the wisdom of the injunction. Mr Lundon was born at Otahuhu, near Auckland, and educated at the Auckland Grammar School
Rodwell, William, F.I.A., N.Z., Customhouse, Commission, Insurance, and General Agent, and Accountant, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Further particulars of Mr. Rodwell will be found under “Wanganui Bowling Club,” of which he is secretary.
The Wanganui Economic Building Society. Office, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Directors: Messrs. R.M. Gatenby (chairman), H.L. Peake (vice-chairman), G. Calman, G. W. Collins, T. Dickson, J.H. Keesing, N. Meuli, C. W. Poynter, and Dr. Hatherly; solicitor, Mr. C. Burnett; secretary, Mr. C. L. Duigan. This society, which was established in September, 1896, has already met with a large amount of support.
Blake, W. J., Insurance and General Commission Agent, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Established 1885
Vine and Vine (Henry Grafton Vine), Commission and General Agents, Wicksteed Place, Wanganui. Established 1895.
Woon, James Garland, Commission and Customhouse Agent, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand.
Pinches and Co. (William Pinches), Architects and Factors, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Pinches, Wanganui. Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, River Bank. London Agent, Mr. John Pinches, Oxenden Street, E.C. Mr. Pinches is a native of London, and left in the year 1873 for New Zealand per ship “Hurunui,” arriving in Wellington early in 1874. He was apprenticed to the well-known firm of Messrs. Harrold and Sons, architects and civil engineers, of London, completing his term in 1870. He was then appointed chief draughtsman for the Colne Valley Ironworks, Essex, which situation he retained until leaving for New Zealand. Mr. Pinches established himself as above in 1880. The offices are centrally situated and commodious, the building being of wood and iron, with two lofty stories. During the time Mr. Pinches has been practising his profession on this coast he has erected no less than sixteen hotels, varying from twenty to fifty rooms each, besides a large number of shops, private houses, stores, etc. Mr. Dalziel's residence, Hunterville, a handsome edifice of twenty-four rooms, Mr. D. W. Palmer's residence in Wanganui, a splendid house of twenty-six rooms, and others, which comprise some of the finest business premises in Victoria Avenue, Wanganui, are among those designed and erected by Mr. Pinches. Messrs. Pinches and Co. have quite recently initiated a most remarkable scheme, and one that is likely to revolutionise the building trade of this part of the Colony. In an exceedingly neat circular of some dozen pages issued by the firm, specifications, plans, and agreements for any kind of home are offered free, on the condition that the firm supply the building materials. By this it is calculated that a saving of at least ten to fifteen per cent. will accrue to those availing themselves of this exceptionally valuable offer. Clients at a distance are furnished with the necessary trial plans and preliminary sketches through the post, it being necessary for the client merely to state the price to which he is prepared to go, and the number and nature of the rooms required. This firm also claim a special advantage, inasmuch as their extended experience enables them to accurately guess and estimate all the requirements in such a manner as to save all extras. As a patent agent, Mr. Pinches has had wide experience in the preparation of drawings and specifications for patents, and being a practical engineer and draughtsman his assistance and advice are naturally of great value.
Garrett, Roland, C.E., Authorised and Licensed Surveyor, Ridgway Street, Wanganui.
Jacobsen, T. B., Architect, Ridgway Street, Wanganui.
Martin, Alfred, Photographer, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Telegraphic address “Martin, Wanganui.” P.O. Box 4. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Mr. Martin is a native of England, and came to Lyttelton in 1866, by way of Melbourne. He opened his studio in Wanganui in 1882. He has first-class premises in Victoria Avenue, including a wood and iron building of two stories in height, erected on leasehold ground for the purposes of the business. The total floorage space afforded by the premises exceeds 7000 square feet. There is a splendid vestibule in front, which is literally filled with striking specimens of Mr. Martin's work. Mr. Martin's studio is a very fine workroom thirty-six feet by eighteen feet, constructed on the most approved plan. The upper story of the main building contains seven rooms, each devoted to the various branches of work, and provided with every convenience. Mr. Martin has been long known as a first-class artist, and there are few houses in the vicinity of Wanganui that do not contain samples of his work. His trade extends throughout the Colony. He is an importer of photographic goods, and undertakes both portraiture and landscape work. Mr. Martin was previously in business in Christchurch for about five years.
Partington, W. H. T., Photographer, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Partington, Wanganui” Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Taylorville. Mr. Partington established himself as above in 1891, and has during that short time worked up a very good business. He was born in Auckland, his parents being among the early settlers. He learned his business partly with Mr. Bartlett and partly with Messrs. Hemus and Hanna, of Auckland. He was subsequently in partnership with Mr. Josiah Martin, one of the leading photographers of Auckland, and in conjunction with that gentleman was the first to introduce into Auckland what is known as instantaneous photography. While still in Auckland he was at a later period in partnership with Mr. Kinsey, who is now in business in Wellington. After this Mr. Partington went into business on his own account in Grey Street, Auckland, where he remained for some seven or eight years, until, in 1891, the block of which his studio was a part was consumed by fire. He then removed to Wanganui, and took his present most centrally-situated premises, being a part of the first floor of Messrs. Paul and Co.'s drapery warehouse. Mr. Partington claims to have introduced artistic protography into this district, and certainly his specimens of portraiture are exceedingly fine. As the people of Wanganui and the surrounding district become more accustomed to high-class work, Mr. Partington's business will undoubtedly rapidly increase. His work will compare well with the best that is produced in this Colony, and his prices are such that no advantage can be gained by passing him over to give preference to the larger establishments of the older cities. His studio is handsomely fitted, and his suite of apartment is equal to all the requirements of the district for many years.
Dunlop, John, Photographer, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Established 1891.
Bain, David, Baker, Pastrycook, and Confectioner, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. The business was established in 1873 by the father of the present proprietor-the late Mr. James Bain—who came to Wanganui in the sixties, and was with Mr. John Hurley, who had the oldest business in the town. The concern was carried on till the end of the lease of the premises in 1895 by Mr. W. Hogg, and in that year Mr. Bain, who had learned the business with the former gentleman, decided to take it over on his own account. The building, which is two stories high, has a frontage of 33 feet to the Avenue, the shop being double-fronted. Miss Bain supervises the retail department. The private sitting and refreshment rooms—one of which is very large—are all well appointed. The Staunton Chess Club meets on the first floor of Mr. Bain's establishment. The factory at the rear is under Mr. Bain's own personal supervision, and here he makes a specialty of the manufacture of confectionery, three hands being employed. Mr. Bain was born in 1872 in Wanganui, where he received his education.
Cormack, Alexander, Baker and Confectioner, Bon Accord Bakery, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Mr. Cormack was born in Aberdeenshire, and was brought up to the confectionery business, having served five years, completing his term in 1884. He came to New Zealand per s.s. “Kaikoura,” arriving in Wellington the 27th February, 1887. He came to Wanganui not long after landing, and was with Mr. Hogg for over two years. The present business was established in July, 1889, and has been continued since that time. The large new premises occupied by him in Victoria Avenue comprise a fine shop, a comfortable refreshment-room, and sample accommodation for the private requirements of the family. Behind the main building a large new bakehouse, fitted with a splendid furnace oven, has been constructed. Mr. Cormack has all necessary horses and carts for the delivery of his goods to his customers, who reside within a radius of some miles. Mr. Cormack is a member the Presbyterian Church.
Dustin, W. S., Baker and Confectioner, Devon Bakery, Wicksteed Place, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Dustin, Wanganui.” Telephone 81. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Mr. Dustin established himself as above in 1880. He has a fine large establishment of wood and iron and two stories in height, which, with the adjoining shops on either side, is his own freehold. The premises page 1410 were built by Mr. P. L. Sim, of Wanganui. The machinery comprises a Rout biscuit machine, a cocoanut machine, almond machine, a biscuit flour sifting machine, a pie machine, meat choppers, etc. During the time that Mr. Dustin has been in business he has been rewarded with remarkable success. He imports all lines needed for his trade which extends throughout the town and suburbs; in fact, he claims to have the largest bread business in Wanganui, his output being 5,000 loaves per week. In catering, he is well to the fore, having put through no less than 200 items in this line during the year 1894. Mr. Dustin's is an agent for Messrs. Carr and Co., biscuit manufacturers, of Carlisle, North of England. He is sole agent in Wanganui for the patent “Malt Extract.” “Dustin's Brown Bread,” in which malt extract is the principal ingredient, has a very large sale, and is highly prized in Wanganui. Mr. Dustin is a native of Plymouth, and left there in 1879 per ship “Geraldine Paget,” Captain Wilkinson. This vessel brought 320 immigrants to Wellington, and Mr. Dustin was the baker for the ship. Leaving her at that port he came to Wanganui, and, after working for some few months for Mr. Bain, began as above. He learned the bread baking with Mr. Fone, of South Side Street, Plymouth, and the fancy baking with Mr. Enoch Williams, of High Street, Tavistock, Devon. After this, and before leaving for New Zealand, he was second cook in the yacht “Guinevere,” travelling in the Mediterranean, and then at sea for a short time trading to Corunna, in Spain. Returning then to Plymouth, he had further experience in his own business, and finally came to the Colony in June, 1879. For the last nine years he has been chief petty officer in the Wanganui Navals, and is a member of the Masonic fraternity, the Manchester Union of Oddfellows, and the Ancient Order of Foresters.
Hogg, William, Baker and Confectioner, Wanganui Steam Biscuit and Confectionery Works, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Telephone 52. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, St. Hill Street. This business, which was established in 1873, is conducted in a building of two stories, the ground-floor being the shop and four refreshment rooms, one of which is of large proportions; upstairs there are two additional rooms, where parties may have their afternoon tea. The premises, which have recently been erected by Messrs. Russell and Bignell, adjoin the Bank of Australasia, and are but a few steps from the post-office. The bakery, biscuit, and confectionery factory, at the rear of the shop, is supplied with a most modern plant, and is personally managed by Mr. Hogg, five hands being engaged. The retail branch is under the supervision of Mrs. Hogg, several waitresses being employed in attending to the wants of patrons. Mr. Hogg was a lad when he came to Wanganui, where he learned the trade.
Photo by A. Martin.
Mr. J. Weatherall.
Interior of Mr J. Weatherall's Shop.
Abraham, A., Confectioner, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Established 1896.
Byres, George, Baker and Grocer, Bell Street, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Established in 1878 by Mr. W. Hogg.
Hicks, G., Refreshment Rooms, Ridgway Street, Wanganui.
Kraus and Co. (W. H. Kraus), Bankers and Confectioners, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Established 1892.
Riordan, Matthew, Baker and Confectioner, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Established 1878.
Munro, Henry, Baker and Confectioner, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Established 1896.
Gibbons and Hole (Hope Gibbons and Harry W. Hole), Brewers and Bottlers, Wanganui Brewery, Wanganui. Telephone 123; P.O. Box 38. Established in 1878, and purchased from Mr. T. B. Williams by the present proprietors in 1895, the trade is local, but is extending rapidly. The Wanganui Brewery has an excellent supply of artesian well-water, which is used in producing the beer. Five hands are regularly employed in the brewery. Mr. Hope Gibbons has had a large experience as a brewer, and this department, together with the general working of the brewery, is under his management. Mr. Harry Hole, the other partner in this well-known and old-established concern, has had a thorough experience in mercantile matters. For some time he was employed by Mr. Williams as traveller for the Wanganui Brewery. Since joining Mr. Gibbons in taking over the business, Mr. Hole has taken charge of the outside work of the firm, together with the financial management. Messrs. Gibbons and Hole are also bottlers of ale and stout, in which goods they transact a large trade, their brands being stated to be of very fine flavour and quality.
Gibbs, Thomas James, Brewer, Ridgway Brewery, Wilson Street, Wanganui. P.O. Box 133. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. The present owner has conducted this business, which was founded some thirty or forty years ago, since December 1888. The large three-story wood and iron building is well adapted to the purposes of the trade, and a six horse-power steam-engine is used on the premises. The business extends throughout the West Coast from Stratford to Longburn. Mr. Gibbs is a native of Cheshire, England, and came out to the colonies in 1877, by ship “Shannon,” to Melbourne, crossing over to this Colony by s.s. “Albion.” He has, since landing in New Zealand, been engaged in various occupations till purchasing the Ridgway Brewery as above.
Mr. David Maclellan, the Manager of the Ridgway Brewery—a position he has held for six years—is highly respected, both in business and social circles in Wanganui, where he has resided many years. He is well known all along the West Coast of the North Island, and the success attending the establishment page 1412 he represents is in no small degree due to his personal efforts. Mr Maclellan takes a keen interest in out-door sport.
Battle, Thomas Henry, Builder and Contractor, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Maria Place. Mr. Battle comes from a Trowbridge family, and was born in London. He left the Metropolis in 1874 per ship “Conflict,” arriving in Wellington the same year, and settled in Wanganui in 1875. Mr. Battle learned the business of a cabinetmaker with Mr. D. Ross, of Wanganui, completing his term in 1880. Almost immediately he turned his attention to the building line and built several churches up the river. The present considerable business was established in 1880, and Mr. Battle has conducted a growing trade since that time. The premises occupied by him consist of a leasehold building constructed of wood and iron, affording about 1800 feet of floorage space. On an average Mr. Battle employs about fourteen hands in connection with his various contracts. His trade extends along the West Coast of the North Island. During the course of his business Mr. Battle built the Bank of Australasia at Stratford and a large house for Mr. F. McBeth at Kiwitea. At the time of writing he was engaged in building a large and very beautiful residence in Victoria Avenue for Mr. G. Parker. Both the latter are from his own designs. Mr. Battle has built a large number of private residences in various parts of the West Coast. He is a member of the Volunteer Fire Brigade, and occupied the responsible position of foreman No. 1 for five years. He is now lieutenant and also fire-inspector. Mr. Battle has considerable abilities as a scenic artist, which he has displayed in connection with the Amateur Dramatic and Operatic Society, and is besides an amateur photographer.
Photo by A. Martin.
Mr. T. H. Battle.
Wilson, James William, Bricklayer and Contractor, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Born in 1857 in Kent, Mr. Wilson learned his trade with his father, a well-known contractor of Oxford. He came to Port Chalmers per ship “Sussex” in 1877. In 1895 he established himself in Wanganui and by energy and perseverence has gained a good business.
Abraham Bros., Builders and Contractors, Argyll Street, Wanganui.
Purnell, George, Fruiterer and Contractor, Harrison Street, Wanganui.
Flannary Bros., Contractors, Liverpool and Campbell Streets, Wanganui.
Johns, Henry Thomas, Builder and Contractor, Glasgow Street, Wanganui.
McGill, William and Co., Monumental Masons, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. This is a branch of the main business at Ingestre Street, Wellington.
Meuli, Nicholas, Builder and Contractor, St. Hill Street, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Established 1885.
Oliver, Thomas Henry, Builder and Contractor, St. Hill Street, Wanganui. Established 1894.
Armstrong, Walter, Coachbuilder, Engineer, Farrier and General Blacksmith, Eureka Carriage Factory, corner. St. Hill and Ridgway Streets, Wanganui. Telegraphic address “Armstrong, Wanganui.” Telephone 102. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, St. Hill Street. Mr. Armstrong is a native of Newcastle and lived in Birmingham until he was nine years old. He came to New Zealand per ship “Alma” with his father in 1857, landing at Wellington. Mr. Armstrong learned his business with his father in Wanganui. The present large factory was established in 1865 by Mr. John Armstrong, with whom the present energetic proprietor was in partnership subsequently for seven years till 1880, since which time Mr. W. Armstrong has conducted the business on his own account. The freehold premises comprise separate buildings for the coachbuilding, blacksmith and engineering departments. A portable steam engine of eight-horse-power, by Rustin and Proctor, drives the lathes, planing, punching, screwing, drilling and other machinery. From seventeen to twenty hands are employed. The trade extends all over the West Coast of the North Island. Mr. Armstrong is an importer of all materials needed in the coachbuilding line. He is agent for the Deering harvesters, and White and Peerless sewing machines. Mr. Armstrong has several patents, among which may be named a water spreader, a tube cleaner for boilers, and a wire strainer. He is vice-president of the local chest club, a position which he has held for many years.
Coupe, H., Coachbuilder, Taylorville, Wanganui. Private residence, Guyton Street. Established 1879.
Dickinson and Sarten (Sampson Dickinson and Fred Sarten), Coachbuilders and Wheelwrights, Criterion Coach Factory, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Established 1895.
James, John, Wheelwright, Contractor, and Undertaker, River Bank, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. Established 1886.
Hodren, Edwin, Aerated Water and Cordial Manufacturer, Liverpool Street, Wanganui. P.O. Box 105. Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Mr. Hodren is a native of Coventry and was brought up chiefly in Birmingham. He came to New Zealand in 1873, per ship “Helen Denny,” and settled in Wanganui page 1414 the same year. He has worked his way up in the Colony, and has been successful in establishing a good business. The freehold premises occupied by him include about half an acre of land, on which he has just erected a large eight-roomed residence. The factory, which contains about 600 square feet of floorage space, in addition to other numerous out buildings, is replete with every convenience for his trade. A horizontal steam-engine, of three-horsepower, drives the machinery, which is one of the largest plants in the Colony, its capacity being 2000 dozen per day. It comprises one of Barnett and Foster's aerated water machines, bottling racks, and every other necessary appliance. The trade extends to Waitotara and Hunterville, and two horses find carts are employed in delivering the goods. Mr. Hodren makes suitable drinks for all the seasons of the year. One special line is the orange champagne, of the quality of which the writer speaks with confidence. The essences, etc., required for the trade are all imported direct from the Old World. In this department as in the general conduct of the business Mr. Hodren is ably assisted by two sons.
Thomson, Lewis and Co., Aerated Water, Cordial, and Golden Ale Manufacturers, “The Crystal Springs Mineral Water Works,” Campbell Place, Wanganui. Particulars concerning this prosperous business and its enterprising proprietors will be found under the Wellington branch on page 612, and under “Otaki.”
Hughes, Robert, Painter and Decorator, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Telephone 63; P.O. Box 22. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, Mary Bank. Mr. Hughes was born in Ireland, and left his native land per ship “Ashburton” in 1858 for Wellington. He learned the business with his father in Wanganui, his grandfather having been in the same line in the Old Country. The present business was established in 1860 by Mr. Richard Hughes, who is still living at the advanced age of seventy-six. He conducted the business for over twenty years and in 1880 handed it over to the present proprietor. The freehold premises occupied by Mr. Hughes includes a building of wood and iron and is two stories in height, which was built from plans by Mr. J. R. Wright, under Mr. Hughes's own supervision. A large and general stock of paperhangings and everything required in connection with the painters' and decorators' art is kept on the premises. Mr. Hughes is a direct importer of all lines required in business from the best markets of the Old World. He makes a specialty of importing the newest and most beautiful designs of paperhangings. Mr. Hughes has had the contract for decorating and finishing a good many churches and schools in the locality, and has lately completed the work on Messrs. Sclanders and Co.'s new warehouse in Taupo Quay. For some time Mr. Hughes was a member of the Wanganui School Committee. He has been interested in volunteer matters for about twenty-one years past, and in the old days was on military duty in the neighbourhood of Wanganui. He is at present lieutenant of the Wanganui Volunteer Rifles. As a Mason Mr. Hughes is a “past master” of St. Andrew Kilwinning Lodge, N.Z.C. He is also vice-president of the of the Union Boating Club.
Lipsham, C. E., Painter, etc., Campbell Street, Wanganui.
Sparks, Thomas, junr., Painter, corner of Guyton and Bell Streets, Wanganui. Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Established 1881.
Tingey, R. and E., Importer of Paints, Oils, Turps, Colours, Painters' and Artists' Materials, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Established 1869.
Hogg Bros. and Brechin (Peter D. Hogg and J. C. Brechin) Drapers, Tailors, Habit-makers, Milliners, Dressmakers, and Direct Importers, Aryeshire House, Victoria Avenue. Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Brechin, Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residences: Mr. Hogg, River-bank; Mr. Brechin, Plymouth Street. This business was founded by Mrs. Hogg in 1866. The present firm have conducted the trade since 1886. The premises, which are freehold, were built by the firm from plans by Mr. W. Aiken, sen., and afford ample accommodation for the business, the building being of wood and iron two stories in height. From twenty to twenty-five hands are employed in connection with the various departments of the trade, which extends over the West coast of the North and South Islands. Everything required in the business is imported direct. A special buyer in London purchases the millinery. Mr. Hogg was born in Wanganui, and brought up to the business-with the founder. Mr. Brechin is a native of Hamilton, Scotland, and came out to Melbourne in 1853, removing to New Zealand in 1862. Mr. Brechin settled in Wanganui 1864 and was with Mrs. Hogg in this business for over eighteen years. He is a member of the session of St. Paul's Presbyterian Church. Mr. Hogg is an ex-councillor of the Wanganui Corporation, and further particulars concerning his successful career will be found under that head.
Littlejohn, J. J., Draper, Clothier, and Outfitter, Cash Emporium, Ridgway Street (opposite the Theatre), Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Littlejohn, Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence. Wilson Street. Mr. Littlejohn is a native of Ellon, Aberdeenshire, learned his business with Mr. Walter A. Frazer, of Dufftown, Banffshire, and gained further experience in the well-known establishment of Mr. Charles Meekings, of London. In 1879, Mr. Littlejohn left the Old World for New Zealand, per ship “Forfarshire,” and spent his first twelve years of colonial life in the employ of Messrs. Brown, Ewing and Co., of Dunedin. Thus equipped with British and Colonial experience, he soon after established himself as above. During the short time that Mr. Littlejohn has been in business in Wanganui, he has worked up a really good trade. His stock is good and well kept, and is turned over four times every year. He imports mainly from London and Manchester, and by his careful buying and cash system of selling is enabled to place his stock in the hands of consumers at the very lowest remunerative prices. As all classes have to be catered for, all classes of goods are imported. A good town and country trade is done in all branches of the business. The premises are centrally situated, being quite close to the Rutland Hotel and Post-office. The shop is between sixty and seventy feet deep, with a good frontage to Ridgway Street. Mr. Littlejohn is a member of the Manchester Unity of Oddfellows, but refrains from taking any active part what aver in public matters.
Mr. J. Paul's Resisdence, “Riverlands”
Mr. J. J. Buckrell, who entered into partnership with Mr. Paul, his uncle, in 1887, was brought up to the soft-goods trade with Messrs J. Brooks and Co., and came out from the Old Country to Mr. Paul in 1875. Outside his well-known business capacity, Mr. Buckrell is best known as a breeder of prize fowls, [unclear: and is a] judge whose excellence is appreciated at the different poultry shows held throughout the North and South Islands. He is reputed to be the most successful exhibitor of Langshans in Now Zealand, and has won the Ballance challenge trophy, valued at thirty guineas, twice in succession, besides holding many other valuable trophies. He is a Past Grand Master of the Wanganui Lodge of Oddfellows, secretary of the Wanganui Amateur Swimming Club and of the Wanganui Poultry Association, and captain of the Commercial Cricket Club. Mr. Buckrell was married at Marton in 1881.
Mr. John William Kerby, who has been before referred to as Mr. Paul's accountant, was born at Somerset, and has been in the Colony some thirty years. During his residence in the Empire City he was secretary of the Wellington Racing Club, and also of the Caledonian Society. Of a most genial disposition, and with so much ability, it is no wonder that he is an all-round popular man, and one whom to know is to thoroughly respect. Mr. Kerby is married, and has five sons and two daughters.page 1418
Mr. Robert Henry White, the founder and proprietor, is the youngest son of the late Mr. Robert White, farmer, of “Tidcombe,” Tiverton, who was well known and highly respected in the county of Devonshire. Born in 1864 at Tiverton, where he was educated, he went to the soft-goods trade on the completion of his scholastic course, serving his apprenticeship with Mr. William Henry Coldridge, of Crediton, in the same county. On the completion of his indentures, Mr. White went to London, where for several years prior to leaving England he was in the service of Messrs. Harvey, Nicholls and Co., of Knightsbridge, the famous general drapers and furnishers, whose name is a household-word in England. Being with this firm some considerable time, he largely added to his experience of the trade, and as he was engaged in various departments of this great house, his opportunities were proportionately increased, and these he strove to turn to the best account. The vastness of this important London house may be estimated when it is stated that the whole of their enormous premises have recently been re-built—a work which occupied four years, and which was executed in three sections, details of which appeared, with large illustrations, in a recent number of the Drapers' Record. Mr. White only left Messrs. Harvey, Nicholls and Co. after deciding to travel to the Antipodes. He came to New Zealand, per s.s. “Doric,” in 1884, bearing excellent references received from his Home employers. Immediately on his arrival in Auckland, he secured the appointment of manager of the Manchester department of Messrs. Smith and Caughey's large drapery establishment in Queen Street. Here he remained continuously for ten years, adding an invaluable colonial experience to his knowledge of the English trade. It is hardly surprising that he should have become imbued with the advantages afforded by the strictly cash system of business, during a decade in the employ of this well-known and highly successful house. Early in 1893 Mr. White decided that he would enter into business on his own account, and after a general survey of the Colony he decided in favour of Wanganui, and on the 8th of March in the same year, he opened business, with the result described. The amount of business already attained has eclipsed Mr. White's most sanguine expectations, and there can be no doubt that the cash lines on which such concerns as Messrs. R. H. White and Co.'s are conducted are correct in principle, and it seems highly probable that at no distant period cash trading will become the rule rather than, as at present, the exception.
Bell, Esam and Co. (William Bell and David J. Esam), Drapers, The Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Established 1896.
Dallas, Mrs., Draper, corner Liverpool and Ball Streets, Wanganui.
Eastwood and Co. (Thomas Eastwood), Drapers and General Clothiers, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Established 1896.
Huckstep, Mrs., Milliner and Dressmaker, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Mrs. Huckstep is a native of the Colony, having been born in Auckland. She served her time to the dressmaking business with Miss Price, of Onehunga, completing her term in 1863. Subsequently Mrs. Huckstep was in business for about a year at Newmarket, Auckland, and for about six years resided and carried on business at the Waikawau sawmills, Thames. She settled in Wanganui in May, 1894, and has since conducted a growing business. The building occupied is of wood and iron, and two stories in height, affording every necessary space for the business. Mrs. Huckstep's trade is principally local. She undertakes all kinds of millinery and dressmaking, and has made arrangements by which the latest British and Parisian fashions are received by every mail. Every attention and consideration is given by Mrs. Huckstep to her customers, with whom she is deservedly popular.
The Wanganui Patent Dyeing and Cleaning Works (Otto Hugo Max Buckendahl, manager), opposite Wesleyan Church, Victoria Avenue. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. These works have only been established since August, 1896, but are fast becoming popular. All work done on the premises is under the personal supervision of Mr. Buckendahl, the manager, who has had a large practical experience in the trade. He was born in 1870 in the vicinity of Berlin, and is the only son of the late Mr. C. A. H. Buckendahl, woollen manufacturer, Berlin. Coming to the Colony when quite an infant the family resided at Foxton, where he was educated. After serving a short time in a draper's shop, he went to Sydney in the latter part of 1889, and became a student in the Technical College of New South Wales, in the electrical engineering branches. Mr. Buckendahl relates that having had a coat dyed, one day he found that on getting wet the dye came through on to his clothes, and he decided to go into the art of dyeing and cleaning. He passed through all its branches. Early in 1896 he went to Victoria to see how the trade was carried on in large centres, and gained a further knowledge of the art of dyeing. He left Victoria in March, 1896, and established himself in business in Wanganui the following August. Mr. Buckendahl guarantees that all classes of goods dyed by him are fast colours, especially in dark black.
Walker, Mrs. C., Importer of Drapery, Milliner and Dressmaker, D.I.C., Ladies' Emporium, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Mrs. Walker occupies a large two-story building of wood and iron in a central position, the shop and show-rooms being on the ground-floor, and the manufacturing department upstairs. She employs about thirty hands, and her trade extends throughout the West Coast. Mrs. Walker is a direct importer of everything required in the business. Her specialties are ladies' outfitting, for which she has attained widespread patronage.
Clark, Miss. M., Milliner and Draper, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Established 1886.
Dall, Mrs. Helen, Dressmaker, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Established 1888.
Dungan, Mrs. J. B., Dressmaker, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Established February, 1896.
Hallenstein Bros. (T. Blennerhasset, manager), The Avenue and Ridgway Street, Wanganui. P.O. Box 24. Established 1895.
Roberts, Mrs. G., Milliner and Dressmaker, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Established 1889.
Rosser, Mrs. Julia, Dressmaker. Market Square, Wanganui.
Wansborough, Miss, Dress and Habit Maker, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui.
Clapham, G. H., Tailor and Habitmaker, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui (a few doors above the Rutland Hotel.) Mr. Clapham is a native of Wakefield, near Bradford, Yorkshire, and arrived in Auckland per ship “Mary Shepherd” in 1865. Prior to leaving he learned his business with Mr. Paget, of Wakefield, and subsequently was employed as a cutter for Mr. Foster, of Newcastle-on-Tyne, and came to the Colony under engagement to that gentleman, who intended starting business in Auckland. On arrival at Auckland, the idea was abandoned, and Mr. Clapham was engaged by Mr. Posseniskie, the well-known gentlemen's tailor of that city, with whom he worked for about a year. He then left for Timaru, and for eight years was in the employ of Mr. Paget, the son of his former master. Mr. Clapham then came to Wanganui, where he has remained ever since, working for well-known firms such as Mr. Flyger, Messrs. Hogg Bros. and Brechin, and Mr. Cribb. For some six years Mr. Clapham carried on a successful business on the opposite side of the Avenue, but was obliged to relinquish it on account of losses disconnected with his business. He has now, after a lapse of three or four years, re-commenced as above, and is again working into good little business.
Cribb, A. J., Tailor, Draper, and Milliner, Denton House, Victoria Avenue, opposite the Convent, Wanganui. P.O. Box 59. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, Church Place. Mr. Cribb is a native of Lymington, Hampshire. He arrived in Wellington in 1871, per ship “Salisbury,” having partially learned his business in the Old Country. He competed his knowledge of the trade in the Colony. The present business was founded in 1888. The premises are centrally situated in Ridgway Street, and comprise a commodious two-story building of wood and iron, erected on leasehold ground. There are three departments in the business, the tailoring, millinery, and general drapery, which are kept separate and distinct from each other. Mr. Cribb's trade extends throughout the West Coast of the North Island, and frequently as far as Nelson in the South Island. A large and general stock of drapery of the latest patterns and most approved quality is always on hand. In the tailoring department, which is under Mr. Cribb's personal direction, fit and finish are the main things considered. The goods are all tailor-made, and Mr. Cribb has gained a reputation which places him in a premier position. Mr. Cribb is musical, and has been a member of the Catholic Church choir for about fourteen years.
Mr. A. J. Cribb
Mr. T. Dickson.
Interior of Mr. T. Dickson's Shop.
Harris, S. G., Tailor, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Established 1896. Private residence, Wilson Street. Mr. Harris was born in Wanganui in 1859, his father, who is referred to elsewhere in these pages, being one of the earliest settlers in the district. Educated privately in his native town, he joined the railway works, where he met with an accident, in consequence of which he left the service in 1884. He served his time to the tailoring business with Mr. Clapham, of Wanganui, and after eight-and-a-half years with Mr. Cribb, of Wanganui, Mr. Harris opened his present business in Ridgway Street. The shop, a wooden building, is conveniently situated, and an increasing trade is being conducted. Mr. Harris is a good workman, and gives satisfaction to his numerous customers. He is married, and has three children.
Jones, George David, Tailor and Outfitter, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Private residence, Wilson Street. This business was established in 1890 by the proprietor, who had previously been in partnership with his father. A well-assorted and fashionable stock, two-thirds of which is imported from the Old Country, is maintained. Mr. Jones, who has had large experience, and does the cutting himself, has a good connection —from fifteen to twenty hands being kept busy in the season. Born in 1864 in London, where his father was in the tailoring business, he, with the others of his family, removed to New Zealand in 1880; and Mr. Jones, senior, started business in Wanganui, where the subject of this notice learned the trade. Socially he is popular, having taken a great interest in local sporting matters. He was a trooper in the Alexandra Cavalry for ten years. Mr. Jones is a widower with two children.
Photo by A. Martin.
Mr. G. D. Jones.
Oliver, A. and Son (Aitcheson Oliver, senr., and Charles Oliver), Tailors, etc., Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Guyton Street. The senior partner, who is a native of Scotland, arrived in the Colony in 1842 per ship “Jane Gifford,” landing in Auckland. Mr. Oliver served his apprenticeship with Mr. David Crosby, completing his term in 1851. For some years he remained in Auckland, working at his trade, and subsequently for five years was a member of the firm of Oliver and Wright, who did a large tailoring business in Shortland Crescent. Mr. Oliver was also in the soft goods line in Queen Street, on the present site of the New Zealand Insurance buildings. This business he conducted for about five years. Leaving, Auckland in 1876, he settled in Wanganui, and was with Mr. Peter Bell as cutter and manager of the tailoring department for 18 years. The present business was established in 1894. The firm undertake high-class tailoring bespoke work only. Their trade is chiefly local, but extends to the country around Wanganui. Their premises are in the busy part of the Avenue. Since founding the business the trade has steadily increased. Mr. Oliver, senior, is an ex-member of the Wanganui Borough Council, on which he served for several years.
Harding, Daniel, Tailor and Outfitter. Ridgway Street, Wanganui.
Neverman, Herman, Tailor and Gentleman's Mercer, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Established 1895.
Ross, John, Tailor, Nixon Street, Wanganui. Established 1893.
Greaves and Co. (Joseph Greaves), Coal, Firewood, Grain, and Produce Merchants, Maria Place, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Greaves, Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of Australasia. Private residence, Maria Place. Mr. Greaves is a native of Yorkshire, and reached Wellington per ship “Fern Glen” in 1879. He was a stone mason by trade in the Old Country. For twelve years after settling in Wanganui Mr. Greaves was head coachman to Dr. Tripe. He established the present business in 1894. The plant consists of a crushing mill, circular saw, &c. A four-horse-power vertical steam page 1424 engine by Messrs. Anderson and Co., of Christchurch, drives the machinery. The firm purchase their coal supplies from the Westport coal mines. They have splendid spring cart and mare for the purposes of the trade, and succeeded in taking the prize for the latter at the agricultural and pastoral show held in 1894. Mr. Greaves is a member of the Foresters' Order.
Wright, Edward, Wood and Coal Merchant, and Commission Agent, Nixon Street, near Railway Wharf, Wanganui. The subject of this sketch was born in Lucknow, East India, in 1836, on the 4th of July. His father spent many years in that country, namely, from 1800 to 1840, when he, with his wife and family, returned to England by the ship “Lady Raffles.” Mr. Wright was educated at Eagle House, Tottenham, London. In 1851 he sailed for New Zealand with the family, and arrived at New Plymouth on the 9th of March, 1852. There he, with his father and brothers, engaged in farming pursuits, which peaceful occupation they followed till 1860, when the war broke out, and the district was placed under martial law. He and other members of the family then took up arms and served in the local forces. Mr. E. Wright, with many others, was burnt out at New Plymouth by the Maoris, and he was afterwards served in a similar manner at a later date when residing at Patea. About 1870 he came to Wanganui, and in 1884 established his present business. His premises contain about 1800 square feet of floorage space, and are fitted up with circular saw, chaff-cutter, and modern bone mill, the latter being the only one in the town. All the machinery is driven by a six-horse-power steam-engine. In addition to this business he holds several agencies. Mr. Wright, as well as being a successful colonist, may justly be placed among the pioneers of the Colony, as an old resident of Wanganui.
Blythe and Co. (William Henry Blythe), Coal and Firewood Merchants, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Established 1896.
Horsley and Co. (R. B. Horsley and A. Harris), General Storekeepers, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Established 1895.
Kennedy, William, Wood and Coal Merchant, Wilson Street, Wanganui. Established 1879.
Anderson, John, House Furnisher, Cabinetmaker and Upholsterer, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Anderson, Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Wilson Street. Mr. Anderson is a native of Tasmania, which colony he left in 1865 for New Zealand, arriving in Auckland. He was apprenticed to Messrs. Whiteside and Sons, of Hobart, and served for seven years, completing his term in 1865. After arriving in Auckland, Mr. Anderson worked at his trade for about eighteen months, when he decided to settle in Wanganui. He established the present business in 1867, ever since which date he has conducted a large business. The premises occupied by Mr. Anderson are large and central. The building, which is of wood and iron, is two stories in height, and was erected on leasehold ground from Mr. Anderson's own designs, and under his own supervision. Mr. Anderson is a direct importer of soft goods used in connection with his business, and bedsteads and other lines. His shop and show-rooms contain a large and beautiful assortment of furniture. He furnishes houses throughout, and supplies everything that is required. He employs about ten hands in connection with his trade, and is well known in the district as a manufacturer of substantial and well-made furniture. Mr. Anderson is a bass singer of Christ's Church choir. He has always been ready to assist by his musical abilities in any charitable object.
Calman, William, Cabinetmaker, Upholsterer, and Undertaker. Furnishing Warehouse, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Mr. Calman is a native of Wanganui, and thoroughly learned his business in Auckland, Sydney, and Melbourne, in all of which cities he gained large experience. For some time Mr. Calman had charge of the upholstery department of the Auckland Furnishing Company. He has been all through the colonies, and in the course of his travels gained very large experience. He established the present business in Wanganui in 1890. He occupied commodious premises as above, the building being of wood and iron, and one story in height, containing a floorage space of about 3000 square feet. Mr. Calman has all the necessary machinery, including turning lathes, etc. He employs from three to six hands, and his trade extends throughout the West Coast. Mr. Calman imports his goods direct from the manufacturers in England, and on the Continent of Europe, and has complete arrangements whereby he is enabled to import everything required. Mr. Calman makes a specialty of the undertaking line, and does a large business, supplying a good deal of the coffin furniture required in connection with the local trade. Being a thorough master of his business, it is not surprising that Mr. Calman should be successful. His furnishing warehouse contains a very large and varied stock of all kinds of furniture, from which selection may at any time be made.
Coleman, F., General Dealer, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Mr. Coleman was born in New Plymouth, and learned his trade in the Colony. His business was established many years ago by Mr. White, and has been conducted by Mr. Coleman since 1891. The premises are of wood and iron, two stories in height, and are held on lease by Mr. Coleman, who deals in everything, including jewellery, clothing, furniture, books, tools, etc. Mr. Coleman's connection extends all over the North Island. In the early days he served as a volunteer at New Plymouth in No. 2 Company, which was called out on the occasion when Mr. Whitely was murdered at the White Cliffs.
Cumberland, William, Builder, Cabinetmaker, and General Furniture Dealer, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Cumberland, Wanganui.” Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, St. John's Hill. Mr. Cumberland is a native of Bedfordshire, England, and arrived in Wellington, New Zealand, per ship “Cartvale,” in 1874. A year later he established himself in business as a builder, etc., in Wanganui, and has been successful in securing a large share of the building contracts since that time. The large store of Messrs. Cummins, Sharp and Co., Ridgway Street, Wanganui, and the residence of Mr. F. A. Krull, German Consul, originally erected for the late Mr. F. J. Jones, are among the principal buildings erected by Mr. Cumberland. For the latter, structure Mr. Cumberland also acted as architect. Since beginning in Wanganui, Mr. Cumberland has erected over a hundred different buildings, and in a large majority of cases has been his own architect, his principle being to give plans and specifications free in all work the erection of which is entrusted to him. The general furniture shop in Ridgway Street is well stocked with furniture and household requirements of all kinds. Every description of furniture is manufactured and upholstered on the premises. A good trade is done throughout the district, and about a dozen hands are constantly employed.
Ross, Donald, Cabinetmaker and Upholsterer, Taupo Quay. Wanganui. In conjunction with a partner, Mr. Ross established this business over thirty years ago. The premises situated in Taupo Quay are large and convenient, with a total floorage space of some 2000 square feet. Mr. Ross is a direct page 1425 importer of furnishings from England, Scotland, and elsewhere. His show-rooms contain a really creditable display of locally made furniture, of which there is a great variety. A good many hands are employed in connection with the establishment, the trade of which extends over a wide area. Born in Murrayshire, Scotland, Mr. Ross came out to New South Wales, per ship “Admiral Lyons,” in 1857. In Goulborn and elsewhere he was in business as a builder. After four years he came on to New Zealand, and established himself as above. Mr. Ross has shown great interest in local Friendly and other societies. [Mr. Ross died on the 3rd of January, 1896.]
Trussell, John, Cabinetmaker and Upholsterer, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Trussell, Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of Australasia. Private residence, St. George's Gate. Mr. Trussell is a native of London, but has spent most of his life in Wanganui. He was apprenticed to Mr. D. Ross, cabinetmaker and Upholsterer, Victoria Avenue, and completed his apprenticeship in 1887, continuing to work for Mr. Ross as a journeyman for about twelve months thereafter. The present business was established in 1888. The show-rooms and workshops occupied by Mr. Trussell are situate in Ridgway Street, opposite the Bank of Australasia. The workshop is adapted for the requirements of the business, being fitted with all the necessary appliances. The show-room contains a good variety of furniture, but Mr. Trussell's speciality is order work. He undertakes to make all descriptions of furniture and does a considerable business as a picture framer. He is a direct importer of mouldings, etc., from the best British makers. His trade ex ends within a radius of thirty miles from Wanganui. Mr. Trussell gives personal attention and oversight to his business, and any orders entrusted to him will receive earnest and constant attention. Mr. Trussell is a member of the Druid's Order. His tastes are musical, and he occupies the position of secretary of the Garrison Brass Band. He is always ready to lend his assistance to any orchestra for charitable or amateur performances.
Wild, William James, Upholsterer and Undertaker, Matheson Street, Wanganui. Mr. Wild is a native of Devizes, Wiltshire, where he served an apprenticeship to the upholstering business. He came to Wellington in 1868 per ship “Melita,” and joined the defence force. Removing to Auckland, he was employed in the establishments of Messrs. Winks and Hall, T. and H. Cook, and Halliday and Son for about seven years in all. Settling in the Wanganui District in 1874, he worked for nearly twenty years for Mr. D. Ross. As a Volunteer, he served in the Auckland Rifle Brigade, the Auckland Cavalry Corps, and the Hobson Company, and has long been colour-sergeant of the Wanganui Rifles.
Clarke, W. H., Furniture Dealer, Harrison Street, Wanganui.
Dexter, F., Cabinetmaker, Upholsterer, and Undertaker, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Established 1888.
Moult, Edwin, Crockery Importer, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Established 1880.
Tustin, Charles Edward, Cabinetmaker and Undertaker, Victoria Avenue. Wanganui. Established 1893.
Williams, Alfred, Cabinetmaker and Upholsterer, Campbell Place, Wanganui. Established 1894.
Crane, J., and Sons (James Crane), Hairdressers, Tobacconists and Cutlers. Hairdressing Saloon, Ridgway Street Wanganui. Telegraphic address “Crane, Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, Guyton Street. Mr. Crane is a native of Norfolk and came to New Zealand in 1886 per ship “Victory.” He was apprenticed in Norfolk and completed his term in 1869. For fourteen years subsequently he was in business in Rotherham, Yorkshire. Mr. Crane established his business in the same year in which he landed in the Colony and has continued it ever since. His trade is local. He has a large saloon, well appointed, and keeps a considerable stock of tobacco, fancy goods, and cutlery. His sons assist him in the business. Mr. Crane is a member of the Oddfellows' Lodge, in which he has passed all the chairs.
Messiter, Thomas, Hairdresser and Tobacconist, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Messiter, Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Mr. Messiter is a native of Hobart, and arrived in the Colony in 1870, having served his apprenticeship to Mr. Aldridge, one of the oldest business men in Tasmania. For three years he worked at his trade in Christchurch. In 1877 the present business was founded, and the results have been satisfactory in every way. Hair work is the principal specialty, and in this as well as in the other branches all needful imports are made direct from the Old Country. In his younger days Mr. Messiter was a prominent athlete, one of his winnings being the Upokongaro Points Prize for 1877, valued at £10. About that time he and his brother were the means of saving no fewer than five lives. They were in a dingy on the Lyttelton Harbour, when a boat from the ship “Pleiades” was capsized. They hastened to the rescue, and on reaching the spot were themselves capsized. The dingy, however, was found to be the more manageable boat, and five of the six men belonging to the “Pleiades” were saved. As may be imagined Mr. Messiter is very popular.
Redfern, Charles, Hairdresser and Tobacconist, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Redfern, Wanganui.” Mr. Redfern is a native of Sydney, New South Wales, where he was educated and apprenticed to the business with Mr. Anthony Horne, of George Street. Mr. Redfern worked steadily to learn his business thoroughly in all its branches, and completed his term in 1894. In the latter year, having decided to make his home in New Zealand, Mr. Redfern arrived in the Colony and settled in Wanganui. His shop, which adjoins the auction rooms of Mr. J. H, Keesing in Victoria Avenue, is convenient, and the saloon is well appointed in every respect. Mr. Redfern makes speciality of hairdressing and keeps a good and varied stock of tobacconists' goods of every description. His trade is local and is conducted entirely under his personal supervision.
Ferry, T. W., Hairdresser and Tobacconist. Ridgway Street. Wanganui. Goss, John, Hairdresser and Tobacconist, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui.
Newmarket Hotel (W. R. Tuck, proprietor), Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Newmarket, Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. This fine hotel, which contains twenty-seven rooms, of which seventeen are bedrooms, was built about 1879. It is of wood, and two stories in height, and has accommodation for from 60 to 70 visitors. There is a good bath, with hot and cold water, and every other convenience, including dining-room and six parlours. The stable accommodation of the “Newmarket” is a great feature. There are fifteen fine loose-boxes. All the leading racing people from Christchurch, Dunedin, and other parts of the Colony visiting Wanganui try to get accommodation at the “Newmarket.” Mr. Tuck is largely interested in racing, and owns a splendid racehorse, “Irish Twist,” the winner of seven races in the season 1894–5. Mr. Tuck is a native of London, and came to New Zealand in 1873 per ship “Beautiful Star,” arriving in Nelson. He was brought up to the hotel business in England. He had the “Occidental” in Wanganui page 1426 for three years, and has been the landlord of the “Newmarket” since 1890. For some two years he had the coach and horses stables in Nelson. Mr. Tuck has made two trips Home to England since first arriving in the Colony. He is a member of the Wanganui Bowling Club and the Fordell and other jockey clubs. He is also a member and committeeman to the local trotting club
Rutland Hotel (Mrs. Scott, proprietress), Victoria Avenue, corner of Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Rutland, Wanganui.” This well-known hostelry, which was established in 1845, occupies a prominent corner opposite the post-office. It is not only well known as a commercial house, but is also supported by large numbers of tourists.
Victoria Hotel (C. H. Chavannes, proprietor), Victoria Avenue and Maria Place, Wanganui. Telephone 24; P.O. Box 51. This is one of the best-situated hotels in Wanganui, contains thirty-four bedrooms, and is largely patronised by the travelling public.
Albion Hotel (F. J. Tasker, proprietor), Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Established 1865.
Commercial Hotel (Arthur H. Woolley, proprietor), Harrison Place, Wanganui.
Criterion Hotel (H. Morrow, proprietor), Ridgway Street, Wanganui.
Customhouse Hotel (J. Brennan, proprietor), Ridgway Street, Wanganui.
Foster's Hotel (W. H. G. Foster, proprietor), Taupo Quay, Wanganui.
Masonic Hotel (Charles Batt, proprietor), Plymouth Street and Riverbank, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of Australasia.
Pier Hotel (Martin O'Hara, proprietor), Taupo Quay, Wanganui.
Provincial Hotel (Mrs. A. A. Blight, proprietress), Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Established 1895.
Red Lion Hotel (F. L. K. Hill, proprietor), Taylorville, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales.
Empire Temperance Hotel (J. Shelley, proprietor), corner Wicksteed Street and Campbell Place, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Shelley, Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. The Empire Temperance Hotel is under the same proprietorship as the Buffet in the Victoria Avenue, and was purchased by Mr. Shelley in order that he might increase his accommodation. The Empire Temperance Hotel was for many years known as the Empire Hotel, and was one of a number whose licenses were discontinued. It contains no fewer than twenty-one bedrooms, besides several sitting-rooms, parlours, bathrooms, etc. There is a fine billiard-room, with one of the best tables in the town, nearly new. Good stabling is always provided. The tarriff, like that of the Buffet, is one shilling all round, and 18s. and 20s. per week. The proprietor, Mr. Shelley, has travelled a great deal, and has had experience in this line of business. The Empire is particularly well-kept and comfortable. Mr. Shelley is a member of the Ancient Order of Foresters. [For description of Mr. Shelley's other establishment, “The Buffet,” see page 1439.]
Temperance Hotel, Mrs. Adelia Henley, Proprietress, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. This fine temperance hotel, the first of its kind in Wanganui, was established about the year 1878. It is a large two-story wood and iron building, containing twenty-one rooms, available for the public. Of these, thirteen are bedrooms, which contain twenty-two beds. There is also a commercial-room and parlor, and a large dining-room, which is well appointed, and will accommodate about forty. Many of the rooms are very large. There is a bath supplied with hot and cold water. The house is comfortable, cleanly, and well kept, and under Mrs. Henley's energetic management, there can be no doubt that boarders and visitors are thoroughly well eared for. In addition to the public rooms there are private rooms occupied by the family, besides large and convenient out offices. The Temperance Hotel is largely patronised by the working classes. The tariff is very reasonable, being eighteen shillings- or for single room, one pound per week. Mrs. Henley is a native of Wellington, and has resided over eleven years in Wanganui, conducting the hotel with general satisfaction and receiving considerable support.
Wanganui Temperance Hotel (proprietress, Mrs. E. Rees), Bell Street, corner Campbell Place, Wanganui. The house, which Mrs. Rees has recently taken over for the purposes of a general boarding-house, was formerly known as the Wanganui Hotel. The building is of wood and iron, with about fourteen bedrooms, besides parlours and sitting-rooms, etc., the whole of which have been put into a good state of repair. It is pleasantly situated, quite close to the Ferry Wharf, and opposite to the open grounds of the Law Courts. Tariff, one shilling all round, or eighteen shillings per week for permanent boarders. Mrs. Rees was born in Picton and has been in Wanganui about seventeen years. Her parents are both dead, and in October last the death of her husband necessitated her entry into business in order to provide for herself and family. The late Mr. Rees was a licensed interpreter and commission agent, and was in business in Wanganui upwards of twenty-five years. His father and uncle were both doctors in Wanganui in the early days. A long illness of some two years reduced their circumstances, but the widow made a plucky attempt to secure a livelihood, and it is to be hoped that the success which has hitherto attended her efforts will be continued and largely increased. Mrs. Rees is in every way deserving of encouragement.
Wellington House (Mrs. Gilberd, proprietress), Ridgway Street, Wanganui. This boardinghouse was established in 1880, and contains twenty-three rooms. There are sixteen bedrooms, page 1427 three sitting-rooms, a large comfortable dining-room, and a bath-room. The Wellington House has a good reputation as a quiet, respectable place for the travelling public.
Cooper and Payne, Boardinghousekeepers. Central Dining Rooms, Ridgway Street, Wanganui.
Cooper, John, Boardinghousekeeper, Wilson Street, Wanganui. Established 1870.
Martin, Mrs. J.C., Boardinghousekeeper, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Established 1895.
Railway Dining Rooms (Mrs. Markham, proprietress), Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Established 1894.
Watchlin, Mrs., Temperance Boardinghouse, Ridgway Street, Wanganui.
Graham, James, Plumber, Gasfitter, and Electrician, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Telephone No. 73. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. The shop and offices, with workshop at the rear, are centrally situated, and the proprietor does a large and increasing business throughout the district. Mr. Graham, who is a native of Edinburgh, was born in 1842, and was apprenticed to his trade in Glasgow. He came to Auckland in 1862, and served in the Maori war for nearly three years. After a goldmining experience on the West Coast and at the Thames, he settled in Wanganui in 1876. Mr. Graham has been a Volunteer, and as a member of the Wanganui Rifles was considered a good shot. As a bowler he belongs to the Wanganui Bowling Club. Mr. Graham is married, and has four children.
Hood, James, Blacksmith, Wheelwright, and Horse Shoer, Wickstead Place Shoeing Forge, Wickstead Street, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Hood, Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, Wickstead Street. The business now being successfully carried on by Mr. Hood was established about thirty-five years ago by Mr. Robert Gray. It is said to be the oldest of its kind in the district. It is therefore thoroughly well known, and has lost none of its popularity since coming into the possession of the present proprietor. Mr. Hood does a fine town and country trade. He has three forges constantly employed. His machinery comprises drilling, screw cutting, punching machines, etc., besides a new and important addition to the plant known to the trade as a “tire upsetting machine.” This handy contrivance obviates the necessity of “cutting and shutting” tires which have become too large, which was the only way in which loose tires could be dealt with until the “tire upsetting machine” was invented. Mr. Hood was born at Prahran, near Melbourne, but very shortly after, in 1856, his parents and family removed to this Colony. He learned his business in Wanganui, where he has spent the most of his life. The office of grand master of the Independent Order of Oddfellows, Manchester Unity, is at present held by Mr. Hood.
Murray, David, Wanganui Iron and Brass Foundry, and Engineering Works, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. P.O. Box 31. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, Wilson Street. These works were founded in the early days by Messrs. Ross and Milne, from whom they were taken over by Mr. Murray in 1868, New and enlarged buildings were erected some fourteen years ago, and now cover about half-an-acre, and contain a very fine assortment of modern tools and appliances for the carrying on of a large business in all the branches of engineering. About twenty-five hands are regularly employed in the works, but twice that number can easily be accommodated in busy seasons. A very large portion of the machinery, engines, boilers, and public works structures in the district bear the well-known name plate, and show that the works have been actively engaged in the past in producing good machinery and manufacturing plates. Mr. Murray, who is a native of Forfarshire, Scotland, was apprenticed to Messrs. J. Carmichael and Co., of Dundee, a celebrated firm of engineers and millwrights. After a few years at sea, he was employed in the works of J. Gourlay and Sons, Dundee, engineers and shipbuilders, and was selected by them for the position of chief engineer on the s.s. “Wanganui,” then building for the Wanganui Steam Navigation Company, on the expiration of the guaranteed period. Mr. Murray, instead of returning Home, and after visiting the other parts of the Colony, decided to settle in Wanganui, and the works as they stand to-day are evidence of his skill and industry.
Thompson, Alexander, Shoeing and General Blacksmith, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, Harrison Street. Mr. Alexander Thompson was born in Berwickshire, in Scotland, but left the Old Country in 1859, per ship “Evening Star,” arriving at Auckland during the same year. Having relatives in Taranaki, he immediately left Auckland for New Plymouth, and remained there, working for six shillings per day, though wages in Auckland at that time were just double that sum. Prior to leaving Home, Mr. Thompson had learned his trade with Mr. Jaffrey, of Berwickshire, and had worked at Edinburgh, Glasgow, Newcastle-on-Tyne, and other places. Before beginning as above in 1888, Mr. Thompson worked in Wanganui nearly twenty years, five or six years with Mr. David Murray, and about thirteen with Mr. Robert Gray. Mr. Thompson does a good business, and his premises are well situated. He is personally popular, and will doubtless continue to do well.
Breed, Charles James, Farrier and, General Blacksmith, Springvale Road, Wanganui
Edwards, Walter, Farrier, Maria Place, Wanganui. Established 1886.
Gellatly, David, Plumber and Gasfitter, Ridgway Street, Wanganui.
Irvine, John, Plumber Tinsmith, and Gasfitter, Taupo Quay, Wanganui Established 1880.
Paul and Parry, Tinsmiths, Plymouth Street, Wanganui.
Paul, William, Tinsmith, Plumber, and Gasfitter, St. Hill Street, Wanganui
Drummond and Co. (T. F. Drummond), Iron-mongers, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Drummond, Wanganui.” Telephone 95. P.O. Box 107. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Campbelltown. Mr. Drummond was born in Perthshire, Scotland, and left there in 1864, per ship “Mallard,” arriving in Wellington, New Zealand, the same year. The present business was established in 1879. The premises are of wood and iron, and two lofty stories in height, with a splendid frontage to the busiest part of Victoria Avenue. Prior to leaving the Old Land, Mr. Drummond learned his business in one of the largest ironmongery establishments of the world.
Thain, James and Co. (James Thain, J.P., and William Henry Clapham), Wholesale and Retail Iron and Hardware Merchants. Warehouse and Showrooms, Victoria Avenue and Taupo Quay; Bulk Store, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Telephone 38; P.O. Box 53. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. London agents. Messrs. T. W. and F. Walher, 36 Gracechurch Street, E.C. Private residences: Mr. Thain, Castlecliff; Mr. Clapham, Durietown. This large business, established early in the sixties, was purchased by the present proprietors in 1888. The retail premises include a handsome two-story building at the corner of Victoria Avenue, opposite the traffic bridge over the Wanganui River. The new bulk store, recently erected on the foreshore, provides storage accommodation for the large stock the firm have always on hand. The total floorage space available at these premises exceeds 22,000 square feet. Messrs. James Thain and Co.'s trade extends from Foxton to New Plymouth, where they have a large and well-established connection among settlers, station-holders, storekeepers, and blacksmiths in the various townships. The firm import direct:—agricultural implements, American goods, paints, oils, arms, ammunition, and general hardware. They are agents for the Shaw, Savill and Albion Company, Reid and Gray's manufactures, Shacklock's “Orion” ranges, Quibells” and Cooper's sheep dips, and Wilson's lime and cement. Mr. Thain, who is a native of Aberdeen, where he was educated and brought up to the hardware business by the Copper Company of that city, arrived in Wanganui in 1876. Mr. Thain is a Justice of the Peace, and was for some years a member of the Wanganui Licensing Bench. He has been connected with the Volunteer movement for many years, both in Wanganui and Scotland. During the battalion system, Mr. Thain held the position of captain and quartermaster of the West Coast Battalion, and is at present captain and quartermaster of the Wellington Rifle Battalion. Mr. Clapham's career is referred to elsewhere, as an ex-member of the Wanganui Corporation.
Alderson, Ernest Charles, Surgical Instrument Maker, Guyton Street, Wanganui.
Beale, W. J., Importer of Sewing Machines, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui.
Brown, James, Engineer, Crown Roller Mills, Wanganui.
Hadfield and Chapman, Cycle Repairers and Importers, Ridgway Street, Wanganui.
Ingle, William S., Ironmonger and Hardware Merchant, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Established 1896.
McFarlane, David, Ironmonger and Hardware Merchant, Ridgway Street, Wanganui.
Parsons and Co. (T. W. Parsons), Bicycle Manufacturers, Leo Cycle Works, Wicksteed Place, Wanganui.
Williams, Alfred, Engineer and Gunsmith, Market Square, Wanganui' Private residence, Glasgow Street, Established 1886.
Ainsworth, James, Boot and Shoe Maker and Importer, the Corner Boot Shop, Victoria Avenue and Maria Place, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Ainsworth, Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Mr. Ainsworth is a Manchester man, and served a term of seven years to the trade in his native place, completing his apprenticeship in 1849. Mr. Ainsworth left Liverpool for the Colonies in 1852, arriving in Melbourne [the following year. From 1853 to 1876 Mr. Ainsworth had a varied experience in gold-ruining, combined with business in various colonial goldfields. In Australia he resided in Melbourne and Ballarat until 1862, when he came to Otago goldfields and was in business in Dunedin some three years. Subsequently he was in Hokitika, Greymouth and-Charleston on the West Coast, and finally settling in Wanganui, established the present business in 1876. Mr. Ainsworth has all the needful machinery for the conduct of his business. His trade extends all over the Wanganui district. He is a direct importer of all kinds of English and Continental boots and shoes and keeps a considerable stock of the leading New Zealand brands. Mr. Ainsworth is an old Forester.
Mr. W. L. Coe's Premises.
Dallas, J. C., Saddler and Livery Stable Keeper, Commercial Stables, Ridgway Street and Campbell Place, Wanganui, Telegraphic address, “Dallas, Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Market Square. Mr. Dallas was born and brought up in Wanganui, and is, therefore, well known throughout the whole district. He learned his business as a saddler with his father, the late Mr. Angus Dallas, of Wanganui. About ten years ago, Mr. Dallas, senior, died, leaving his son in charge of the business. A few years later, conceiving that the saddlery and livery stable business would run well in double harness, Mr. Dallas very wisely decided to incorporate the latter business. Besides several large sheds for the protection of 'buses, brakes, buggies, dog carts, etc., the stables contain no fewer than thirty-five stalls and fifteen loose boxes. Sick and disabled horses are carefully housed and attended to. The amalgamation of the two business lines has proved a great success. Not only is Mr. Dallis able to keep his own saddles and harness in a perfectly safe condition for use, but his customers find it most convenient and economical. Repairs are effected with no trouble at all to customers, and both their time and money are saved in this way. So exceptionally situated, it is not surprising that Mr. Dallas gets a large share of both town and country trade. It is a matter of no small importance to a country client that he can have his harness repaired and his horse and trap taken care of while he runs round the town to do his marketing. The commercial stables are most centrally situated, and their enterprising proprietor well deserves encouragement.
Jefcott, Charles, Bootmaker, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. This old settler, who established the present business in 1863, served his country as a soldier in the 57th foot in Ireland, Ionia, the Crimea, Egypt, India, and New Zealand, for which services he received three war medals—the Crimean (with Balaclava and Sebastopol clasps), the Turkish, and the New Zealand.
Bird, W. H., Boot and Shoemaker, City Boot Shop, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Established 1893.
Dagg, W., Bootmaker, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Established 1890.
Ellison, George, Saddler, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Established 1893.
Hannah and Co., Boot and Shoe Manufacturers and Importers (Charles Clayton, manager), Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Established' 1879.
Hurley, Henry, Boot and Shoe Manufacturer, St. Hill Street, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Established 1887.
Loftus, Peter, Boot and Shoemaker, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Established 1892.
Potto, Henry, Saddler and Harness Maker, Ridgway Street, Wanganui, Established about 1863.
Price, Benjamin Richard, Saddler and Harness Maker, Wicksteed Place, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Established 1898.
Sharpe and Sons (J. G. Sharpe), Boot Manufacturers, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Established 1871.
Turner, William, Boot and Shoemaker, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Established 1887.
Valler, Matthew, Boot and Shoemaker, Bell Street, Wanganui. Established about 1870.
Wilson, F. and Co., Boot and Shoe Importers and Manufacturers, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Established 1890.
Caddy and Co. (Henry Caddy), Butchers, London Butchery, opposite the Convent, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Caddy, Wanganui.” Telephone 90. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Victoria Avenue. Mr. Caddy was born in Plymouth, and learned his business with his father in that town. He came to New Zealand per ship “Joseph Fletcher” arriving in Auckland in 1860. Shortly after landing, Mr. Caddy removed to New Plymouth, where he was for two or three years working at his trade. Removing to Wanganui, he subsequently obtained the appointment of manager for Messrs. Baily and Co., a position which he occupied for five or six years. In 1873 Mr. Caddy established himself in business in Victoria Avenue. The premises now occupied are built of wood and iron, centrally situated, and suitable for the trade. The motive power used to drive the meat-chopping and sausage machine is a gas-engine of one-and-a-half horse-power. Mr. Caddy has obtained notoriety for his small goods, which are unsurpassed in purity and seasoning. He has been well known in connection with the local butchering trade for over twenty years He is assisted in the business by two sons.
Mitchell and Co. (Thomas Mitchell), Butchers and Meat Preservers, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Factory, Aramoho. Telephones: Wanganui, 53; Aramoho, 54. P.O. Box 94. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. This business was established in 1880 by Mr. Thomas Mitchell, by whom it has been conducted ever since. The slaughterhouse and factory are at Aramoho, and the shop in Victoria Avenue. They are freehold, and were erected for the purposes of the business. Mr. Mitchell is a native of Cornwall, and arrived New Zealand in 1874, and has been well known in Wanganui since settling in the district and establishing the present business.
Perritt, Edwin, Butcher, City Butchery, Wicksteed Place, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Perritt, Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. The business now being successfully carried on by Mr. Perritt was established in the early seventies by the late Mr. F. Hall. In 1831 it came into the hands of the present proprietor. The City Butchery is a fine establishment of two stories in height, stending on a section of 40 feet frontage by a depth of 120 feet. The private slaughterhouse is at Aramoho, and attached thereto is a farm of 70 acres used by Mr. Perritt for the purposes of bringing stock into condition. The receiving paddock (freehold) is 45 acres in extent, and forms a part of the Harris Estate near Lake Virginia, the distance being about a mile from the town. Mr. Perritt's business extends throughout the town and district, three carts being constantly employed. His sausage machine is drivon by a horizontal steam engine.
Tucker Bros. (William Tucker and Albert Tucker), Family Butchers, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Telephone 108. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. The business, established in 1893 by the present proprietors, is considered the largest in the town. Besides the large shop, there are offices, salting-houses, and sausage-making rooms at the rear, nine hands being constantly employed. Three carts run daily within a radius of ten miles of the town, and a cart goes to Fordell three times a week. The slaughter-yards are at Okoia (five miles from town), where the brothers own 135 acres of land. Mr. W. Tucker came to the Colony in 1892 and started the present business, in which he was shortly afterwards joined by his brother.
The Wanganui Butchery and Meat Preserving Company, Limited (Thomas page 1431 Walter Pickard, manager), Wanganui Butchery Company, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Telephone 55. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. This large business was founded about 1855 by Messrs. Mitchell and Richards. The present company has been established for some years. The premises occupied include a large two-story building of wood and iron. The building comprises shop, office, and dwelling, situate at the corner of Victoria Avenue and Guyton Street, affording a total floorage space of about 2400 square feet. The large preserving works of the company are situated at the back of the shop. They are two stories in height, and were specially built for the purposes of the business, and afford little less than 3400 feet of floorage space. The company's slaughter-house is situated at Tayfield, about four miles from Wanganui, where every modern appliance is used, there being substantial buildings and about six acres of land. The company keep about 100 pigs, which are fed on fresh offal, together with a plentiful supply of milk and corn. The company's operations are very extensive. They put through about 600 head of cattle per annum, and from 40 to 50 sheep weekly. Their preserving works are of the most complete and up-to-date description. Large pans are used for the meat, which is scalded before being put into tins, the cooking process taking place after the tinning operation. The company have a complete tinsmith's plant, so that all the tins required in the business are made on the premises. Machinery is used for every operation in connection with the tin-making, some very effective machines being in daily use. The motive power is a horizontal steam engine of four-horse-power. About twelve hands are regularly employed, and the produce of the company is sold all over the Colony, and in the Islands, shipments being occasionally made to England. Mr. Pickard, the present energetic manager, is a native of London, and arrived in the Colony per s.s., “Kaikoura” in 1893. He was brought up to the cattle trade in London, Liverpool, and Bristol, and has had very large experience as a cattle buyer in England, Scotland, and Ireland, Mr. Pickard came out to the Colony on account of his health, and under his able management the Company's business is largely increasing.
Bristol and Coleman (Thomas Swift Bristol and John Nelson Coleman), Family Butchers, The Avenue, Wanganui. Telephone 65. Established 1892.
Heinold, Conrad, Pork Butcher, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Estab, 1896.
Hines, E., Oyster Dealer, Wicksteed Place, Wanganui. Established 1875.
Clark, A. and Sons (R. Anderson, manager), Warehousemen. Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Clark, Wanganui.” P.O. Box 33. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. The head office of Messrs. Clark and Sons is in Auckland. The premises, occupied by their Wanganui branch include a two-story wood and iron building, affording over 3000 square feet of floorage space. The firm deal in soft goods of every description, saddlery, and boots. The Wanganui branch superintends the business from Foxton to New Plymouth.
Cock, J. H., and Co. (F. J. Johns, Manager), General Merchants, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Telephone 30. P.O. Box 132. Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Head office, Nelson, London agents, Messrs. A. L. Elder and Co., 7 St. Helen's Place, E.C. This large business was founded in Nelson about 1855, the present firm taking over the concern in 1880. The Wanganui branch was established in 1891. Messrs. Cock and Co. have regular shipments of general merchandise and drapery periodically arriving. They are agents for the Anchor Steamship Company, the Liverpool, London and Globe Fire Insurance Company, the Thames and Mersey Marine Insurance Company, the Shaw-Savill, and Albion Company and Peninsular and Oriental Steam Navigation Company. They are also Lloyds' agents in Nelson. Mr. F. J. Johns, the manager, was born in Wellington, and educated at the Wellington College. On leaving, he was for twelve months with Mr. T. Kennedy Macdonald in Wellington, and in 1879 went to Nelson, joining Messrs. N. Edwards and Co., predecessors of the present firm. Mr. Johns worked his way steadily upwards till he was appointed traveller, performing the duties for seven years, until promoted, on the opening of the Wanganui branch in 1891, to his present responsible position.
Hatrick and Co. (Alexander Hatrick), General Merchants, Wanganui. Offices and Warehouse, Taupo Quay; Bond and Flour Stores, Ridgway Street; Bulk Store and Coal Yards, St. Hill Street. Branches, Pipiriki and Raetihi. Telegraphic and cable address, “Hatrick, Wanganui.” Code ABC. Telephone 41; P.O. Box 34. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Wilson Street. London agents, Messrs. R. T. Turnbull and Co. East India Avenue, Fenchurch Street, E.C. This business was established in 1880 by Messrs. Walker and Hatrick, and four years later Mr. Hatrick became sole proprietor. The buildings are of wood and iron, and contain in all between 4000 and 5000 square feet, the premises being in most cases freehold. The contractor for the building was Mr. Law, and the architect Mr. Cole. The trade of this firm extends throughout the length and breadth of New Zealand, and even into the other colonies. The barquentine “St. Kilda,” running between Wanganui and Sydney, is owned and employed in connection with the business. The firm are proprietors also of the two splendid river steamers “Wairere” and “Manuwai,” plying between Wanganui and Pipiriki, a distance of sixty miles. Messrs. Hatrick and Co. have a number of valuable agencies.
Johnston and Co., Merchants, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. H. J. R. Tilly, local manager. Telephone 17; P.O. Box 106. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Established 1883. The building is of wood and iron, and two stories in height. (See page 711).
Hogan, M., and Co., Limited (Thomas Wixcey, Managing Director and Secretary. General Merchants, Taupo Quay. Wanganui. Telegraphic and Cable address, “Hogan, Wanganui,” Code ABC. Telephone 47; P.O. Box 65. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. Mr. Wixcey's private residence, Bell Street. London agents, Messrs. Vanderbyl, Pratt and Co., Great Winchester Street, E.C. This large business was established about the year 1886 by Messrs. Hogan and Co., who conducted a large and growing trade until 1890, when the company was incorporated. The operations of the company extend all over New Zealand, and to Australia and England. They are importers of general merchandise, and are large purchasers of wool and produce, on which they make liberal cash advances. The Company are also large shippers of wool, grain, and frozen meat. Mr. W. E. Morgan, who purchased Mr. Hogan's interest, is in charge of the wool department, and Mr. F. M. Field, the accountant, controls the clerical work of the Company. The firm are agents of the Shaw, Savill and Albion Company, and the Wellington Steam Packet Company. They are district agents for the Imperial Insurance Company, and for the Commercial Union Assurance Company (Marine Department). The company are also agents for Little's and other sheep dips, and Messrs. J and T. Meek's Oamaru flour, and have many other colonial agencies. They have a patent wire strainer, which commands a good sale amongst the farmers. The company's premises in Taupo Quay include a wood and iron building, partly of two stories, affording ample convenience for their large business, the total floorage space page 1432 being little less than 10,000 square feet. They have a dumping plant, which is driven by a horizontal steam-engine. Mr. Wixcey, the managing director, is a native of London, and came to New Zealand in the s.s. “Ahuriri,” arriving at Napier in 1864.
New Zealand Loan and Mercantile Agency Company, Limited (John Stevenson, manager), Wool Merchants, Land, Stock and Station Agents, Loan and Mercantile Agency Buildings, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Head office, London; Chief colonial office, Wellington. Cable address, “Mercantile, Wanganui.” Code A.B.C. and private. Telephone 26; P.O. Box 37. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. Manager's residence, Bell Street. The branch of this well-known company was established about 1867. The large building occupied by them is of wood and iron, two stories in height, erected on Harbour Board leasehold land, and contains over 10,000 square feet of floorage space. The company has wool-dumping and seed-cleaning machinery, the motive power being an Otto gas-engine of sixteen-horse-power. About thirteen hands are employed in connection with the branch, the trade of which extends from Palmerston North to New Plymouth. The company imports seeds and general merchandise. They are agents for Cannon's, Murton's, Thomas', and other sheep dips, Taylor and Bremner's wool presses, the N.Z. Shipping Company, the Wellington Steam Packet Company, and hold other agencies.
Sclanders and Co. (T. B. Young, manager), General Merchants, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Head office, Nelson. This old established firm commenced business in 1842 in Nelson, where they are still the leading merchants. The Wanganui branch was opened by the present manager in 1885, in the small premises previously occupied by Messrs. Taylor and Watt. The business has extended rapidly, a fact well evidenced by the erection in 1894 of a splendid warehouse and bond. It is a large, handsome structure of wood and iron, two stories in height, comprising nearly 17,000 square feet of floorage space. The building is finished with West Coast rimu, much of the marking being very fine. The whole of the building was erected on labour-saving lines, and has been admirably constructed to serve the purposes of the business. There is a covered yard under the roof of the building, the floor of the warehouse being level with the dray. Mr. Atkins was the architect. The departments of the business are grocery, drapery, boots, and all other lines of general merchandise. They are also part owners and agents In Wanganui for the Anchor Line of steamers of Nelson, which trade with Wanganui, Wellington, Picton, and the West Coast ports of the South Island.
Hogan and Durie (E. Hogan and C. A. Durie), Grain, Produce, and Wool Merchant, Taylorville. Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Established 1896.
Bennie, John, Brewer and Maltster, Crown Brewery, St. Hill Street, Wanganui. P.O. Box 46. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Wicksteed Street. London agents, Limley and Co., American Square, E.C. The Crown Brewery was established in 1867 by Mr. Duignan. The building is of wood and iron, three stories in height, from plans by Messrs. Barnard and Allen. The output of malt, some 10,000 bushels per annum, is sold throughout the Colony. Mr. Bennie is a native of Glasgow, and came to New Zealand per ship “Jura” in 1862. Since settling in Wanganui, the subject of this notice has been prominent in the district. He was elected to a seat in the Borough Corporation in 1890, but it is in matters concerning the recreations of the people that he stands forward chiefly. He was instrumental in founding the first Wanganui Football Club, and also the local bowling club. Mr. Bennie was one of four representative bowlers in the match New Zealand against Victoria, and holds the gold medal for that tournament, which took place in 1893. He is president of the Wanganui Bowling Club, having been elected for the second team.
Laird, James, J.P., Nurseryman, Egmont Nursery, Glasgow Street, Wanganui. This well-known nursery was founded in 1867 by Mr. Laird, by whom it has been successfully conducted ever since. Mr. James Laird, junior, is the manager. Mr. Laird is fully referred to as chairman of the Waitotara County Council.
Pownall, Mrs., Fruiterer and Confectioner, corner of Victoria Avenue and Maria Place, Wanganui. Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Mrs. Pownall was born in Nelson and removed to Wanganui with her husband, the late Mr. R. W. Pownall, artist, about 1889. Mrs. Pownall established herself as above in the latter year. She occupies a convenient shop in Victoria Avenue, and does a nice little trade.
Soler, Joseph, Vine Grower and Wine Maker, Bell Street, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Mr. Soler established himself in business in Wanganui in 1867. He is a native of Spain, and has had large and practical experience of viticulture and wine making on the continent of Europe. To Australia and New Zealand he has demonstrated by his practical experience the possibilities of the wine-making industry, which supports an immense population on the continent of Europe. Mr. Soler's freehold premises comprise two-and-three-quarter acres in Bell Street, Wanganui, where he has been making wine since 1871. He has a large vinery, which consists of a single house 120 feet long, and a double house 150 feet long, including no less than 14,000 square page 1433 feet of glass. A visit to this vinery in the summer season is a real treat. About six tons of grapes are produced here on an average every year. In addition to the fruit grown under glass, Mr. Soler grows about fifteen tons in the open. Adjoining the vinery is the factory which is always kept dark. Here Mr. Soler has for years made a large quantity of wine of the very best quality, and in considerable variety. He has been a successful prize-taker at every exhibition at which he has exhibited. At the Melbourne International Exhibition in 1880, he took six prizes; at the Indian and Colonial Exhibition in London, 1886, at the Melbourne International Exhibition of 1888, and on other occasions Mr. Soler has taken first prize. Mr. Soler keeps his wines in stock for the long period of eight years in order that they may thoroughly mature. When he started his industry he grew small fruits and vegetables, meanwhile planting his vine cuttings. His establishment has attained the present state of perfection, as the result of many years of hard work and careful management, and the proprietor is reaping the reward he so richly deserves. In front of the vineries and factory, he has crected a large eight-roomed house, which is built on concrete foundations. In addition to the Bell Street property, he owns fifty acres at Westmere, of which five acres are laid down in vines, eight acres are planted in orchard, and the balance is in grass. Mr. Soler has three sons, whom he intends to bring up to the wine industry, which has a great future in the Colony. Mr. Soler has customers in most parts of New Zealand. The engraving herewith is a good picture of this enterprising and successful colonist, together with his children and housekeeper.
Bragge, Walter F., Fruiterer and Confectioner, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Harrison Street. Established 1896.
Coburn, Mrs. J., Fruiterer, Confectioner, and Registry Office Keeper, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui.
Provost, John, Wine and Cider Manufacturer, etc., Mosstown, near Wanganui.
Siddle, Jonathan, Fruiterer and Seedsman, Ridgway Street, Wanganui.
Sinclair, J. T., Seedsman, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Established 1891.
Quin, J. D., Printer, Publisher, etc., Richmond Chambers, Ridgway Street. Telegraphic address, “Quin, Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, Ingestre Street. Mr. Quin was born in Wanganui where his parents arrived in 1841. His father was a native of Belfast, Ireland, and belonged to the 65th Regiment. His time, however, elapsed while he was in this Colony. and here he decided to remain. Mr. Quin was apprenticed to Messrs. Ballance and Willis, the former proprietors of the Wanganui Herald, completing his term in 1872. Since then he has been foreman of the Chronicle office for a period of four years, in charge of the Herald jobbing department four years, and for ten years foreman for Mr. A. D. Willis. In these situations he made many friends who have not been slow to favour him with their patronage since he has been in business for himself. Mr. Quin's machinery comprises a double news albion press, a foolscap folio platen machine, a Brehmer's patent automatic wire stapling machine, perforator, a Furnival's “Express” guillotine, etc. The platen machine is the kind known as the “Gordon,”—a very neat machine, of which Mr. Quin speaks in the highest terms. The stapling machine is an exceedingly good one, cutting and forming its own staples, and capable of doing work from half-an-inch thick down to a single sheet. The type belonging to the plant is all new and in exceptionally good order, and has evidently been chosen by a man who thoroughly understands his business. Mr. Quin is an enthusiastic jobbing compositor and the best of his work is mainly done by himself, and in a style which reflects the greatest credit upon the town in which he has learned his business. Many specimens submitted to the writer will bear favourable comparison with the best work in many a larger town. The local part of the Presbyterian Monthly Magazine is produced by Mr. Quin. A good share of the local trade falls to his lot, and there is every appearance of prosperity about the establishment. Mr. Quin is a “Past Provincial Grand Master” of the Manchester Unity of Odd-fellows, and has been a volunteer for twenty-four years in the Wanganui Rifles, which claims to be the “crack” corps of the Colony. Mr. Quin is brother-in-law to Mr. Felix McGuire, the member for Hawera.
Mr. J. D. Quin.
Willis, A. D., Bookseller and Stationer, News-agent, General Printer, Chromo-lithographer, Manufacturing Stationer, Bookbinder, and Publisher, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Telephone 85: P.O. Box 5. Bankers. Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Bell Street. Cable address, “Willis, Wanganui.” London agents:—Messrs. William Dawson and Sons, Cannon Street, E.C. Manager, Mr. C. W. Poynter. Many years ago Mr. Willis established a printing office in Wanganui, to which he subsequently added the trade of a bookseller and stationer, having purchased a business which had been conducted by Mr. W. Hutchison for some years. From these two comparatively small concerns the present huge establishment has been evolved. The untiring energy and enterprise of the proprietor, and his persistent application, have been the main factors in this gratifying result, the natural growth and development of this beautiful and wealthy district having, of course, contributed in no small degree. The fine leasehold premises—situated in the busiest part of Victoria Avenue—comprise a large building of wood and iron, with two splendid show-windows opening to the street, under the handsome verandah which spans the footpath. The shop contains an enormous stock of books, stationery, and office page 1435 requisites, besides fancy goods of divers descriptions, many of the articles being displayed in plate glass show-cases of elegant design. Mr. Willis is the publisher of New Zealand Christmas cards and booklets, which are unique in style and finish. They are intended to convey to friends at a distance a knowledge of Maori life and character, and afford some idea of the almost unlimited variety of scenery which is so attractive a characteristic of the Colony. These pretty booklets and cards, which are executed by the chromo-lithographic process, for which this establishment is noted, contain glimpses of various parts of the Colony, surrounded by some of the quaint carving of the native race and typical Maori heads, showing the tattoo. As a manufacturer of Willis' New Zealand playing cards—trade mark “Ace of Spades”—the house is widely known in all parts of the Colony, a special machine being employed in this department of the business, which is claimed to be the only one of its kind in the Southern Hemisphere. Behind the shop and offices the printing and manufacturing departments of the firm are situated. The works are replete with a full plant for all branches of the trade, including double-crown and demy lithographic machines, demy roller press, self-stopping double ruling machine, demy folio platen and hand platen card machines, power label cutter and power guillotine, stapling and perforating machines, power mill board and card-board cutters, and many other contrivances for the work. A gas-engine — four-horse-power nominal but capable of working up to ten-horse-power, made by Crossley Bros.—drives the machinery. As a manufacturing stationer, Mr. Willis produces a great many account books for banks, insurance and mercantile offices, and everything required in this direction by commercial houses generally. He is the publisher of Blair's Colonial Drawing Books, freehand and geometrical, and many other works, both educational and historical. In 1895 Mr. Willis paid a business visit to Great Britain, where he has long had commercial relations with the best publishing and other firms. He is a large direct importer of general stationery, books, paper, cards, almanacs, brown paper bags, and fancy goods. He does a large job printing business, undertaking every kind of plain and fancy work, as well as paper-ruling, die-sinking, embossing, and bookbinding work. Twenty-six skilled hands are regularly engaged in the establishment. Mr. Willis' business extends throughout New Zealand, his travellers representing the firm during their periodical visits to the various towns and settlements. A sketch of this gentleman's career, together with his portrait, appears on another page of this volume, as ex-member for the district.
Ferguson, Alexander, Bookseller and Stationer, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Private residence, Nixon Street.
New Zealand Bible, Tract, and Book Society (B. Galloway, manager), Victoria Avenue. Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. The Wanganui branch was established in 1890.
Bruce, Willam, General Storekeeper, Grocer and Tea Merchant, Corner St. Hill and Guyton Street, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Bruce, Wanganui.” Telephone 68. Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, St. Hill Street. This business was established in 1881 by the late Mr. David Bell, and has been conducted by the present proprietor since 1888. The buildings, which are erected on freehold land, comprise convenient premises of wood and iron used as shop, showrooms and offices, having about 1,600 square feet of floorage space. A bulk store of two stories for grain produce is erected behind the shop and contains about 1,200 square feet. Besides groceries and other stores, Mr. Bruce has a large assortment crockery, glassware etc., and occasionally-imports direct from the Home manufacturers. He makes a speciality of tea blending, having the necessary mixing machinery. His trade extends within a radius of twenty to thirty miles. He is agent for the Man-Chester Fire Assurance Company.
Calman, George, Grocer, Produce and Provision Merchant, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Telephone 67; P.O. Box 32. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Keith Street. Mr. Calman was born in Wanganui, where he has lived most of his life. He learned his business with Mr. J. G. Sharp, and for thirteen years was in the employ of that gentleman. He established the present business in 1881. Mr. Calman occupies a two-story building of wood and iron, which was specially built for the grocery business. He has all the necessary machinery for roasting and grinding coffee, and for working and making up butter for export. Mr. Calman does a considerable trade in produce with the farmers within a radius of fifty miles. He exports heavy shipments of butter, and imports groceries from the world's metropolis. Mr. Calman is agent for Bock's well-known remedies, which include patent medicines, polish, and other articles. Mr. Calman is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and occupies the position of Senior Warden. For two years he was treasurer of that body, and also of the local Druids' lodge.
Cummins and Co. (Thomas Dick Cummins), Wholesale and Retail Grocers and Provision Merchants, corner of Ridgway and Wicksteed Streets, Wanganui. Telephone 58; P.O. Box 84. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. This is one of the oldest-established businesses of its kind in Wanganui, and was known for many years under the style of Cummins, Sharp and Co., the business being now carried on by the present proprietor, in the new, large, and commodious premises situate as above. Mr. Cummins' career is referred to under the heading of “Borough of Wanganui.”
Duigan, James, Flour Miller, Crown Roller Mills Nixon Place, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Duigan, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, Mount Desert. The Crown Roller Mills were established in 1865 by Messrs. Holland and Sim. Mr. Duigan has been proprietor since 1880. The three-story wood and iron building stands on freehold ground, and was erected for the purposes of the business. In 1894 the latest roller milling machinery by Ganz and Co., Limited, was fitted in the mill at a large cost, automatic lifts being included. A horizontal steam engine made in Scotland furnishes the necessary power. The trade is chiefly local, and wheat is imported from the South. Mr. Duigan is a native of Ireland, and came out to Tasmania about 1850; he has consequently been in the colonies for nearly half a century. Mr. Duigan lived in Tasmania and Victoria until 1867. On arrival in the Colony he joined the telegraph service, and came to Wanganui in 1870. He has had a varied experience as newspaper proprietor, brewer, flour-miller, and editor of the Wanganui Herald. The editorship he has held for about eight years in all, and is still in harness. Mr. Duignan served one term as a member of the Wanganui Municipal Corporation. He was successful in floating the Wanganui Meat Freezing Company, which has done a good deal to forward in the development of the district. Though Mr. Duigan has declined to stand for the House of Representatives himself, he has had a lot to do with political life, and no one has been more prominent in the various contests.
Harvey, O. G. A., General Storekeeper, Taylorville, Wanganui. Telephone 56. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. The Taylorville Post-office and General Store was established in 1870 by Mr. Gillies. Campbelltown is the old name of the place, which is now generally called Taylorville. Mr. Campbell succeeded the founder of the business, and conducted the trade for some time. page 1436 Mr. Harvey was in the latter's employ before taking over the business in 1876. At this time the store was erected on a bank somewhat to the south of the present site, and was approached by means of steps. Mr. Harvey had the bank cut away and considerable excavations made before erecting the large handsome store, the plans of which were prepared by Mr. A. Atkins, the contractors being Messrs. Cruick-shank and Anderson. The present store was completed about 1880. The total floorage space available exceeds 5,000 square feet, the frontage being about eighty feet. The Taylorville store is situated right opposite to the traffic and foot bridge over the Wanganui River, and can be seen from a long way up Victoria Avenue. Mr. Harvey keeps a large and general stock of groceries, hardware and soft goods, and is an occasional importer. He usually buys in the Colony. His trade extends over a considerable area. The Taylorville Post-office is visited by residents of Mary Bank, Durietown, part of No. 3 Line Petiki (including the Native Pah), No. 2 Line as far as Matiawa to No. 1 Line nearly as far as Wangaehu.
Manson, S. H., General Storekeeper, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Branches at Pipiriki and Raetihi. Telegraphic address, “Manson, Wanganui.” Telephone 61. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. This large business was established by Mr. Manson in 1870, and has been successfully conducted by him since that time. The building, which is erected on Harbour Board leasehold land having twenty-eight years to run, is built of wood on brick foundations, and is two stories in height. The frontage to Taupo Quay exceeds sixty feet, and the total floorage space occupied in the large and convenient premises is little less than 5000 square feet, Mr. Manson is a direct importer of all groceries and provisions, from such well known firms as Messrs. McConochie Pros., London, etc. His trade extends right up the Wanganui River, and very largely in the back country, where settlement is rapidly going on. Mr. Manson has a large general stock at his principalal store in Taupo Quay, and the two branch establishments at Pipiriki and Reatihi.
Nichol, Samuel, General Storekeeper, corner of Plymouth and Harrison Streets, Wanganui. Mr. Nichol is a native of the North of Ireland, and came to New Zealand in 1882 per ship “Lady Jocelyn,” arriving in Auckland. Having had a mercantile experience in the hardware trade, Mr. Nichol obtained an appointment in the well-known Auckland house, Messrs. T. and S. Morrin and Co., Limited, which he retained for two years. After this Mr. Nicol came to Wanganui, and accepted a situation in the establishment of Mr. J. W. Horn, where he remained until establishing the present business in 1887. The substantial store and dwelling-house was erected for the purposes of the business, and contains about 1600 square feet of floorage space. Mr. Nicholl's trade is chiefly local. He is an importer of grocery, crockery, and glassware, and keeps a large and varied stock in all classes.
Randal and Jones (George Randal), General Storekeepers, Guyton Street, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. This business was established in September, 1892, by Messrs. Randal and Jones, and on the 31st of March, 1894, the latter retired, leaving Mr. Randal sole proprietor. Mr. Randal has a lease of the premises in Guyton Street, including a corner shop in Victoria Avenue, which he sub-lets. The premises are large and convenient, and admirably adapted to the purposes of the business. Mr. Randal is a direct importer of grocery, and keeps a large stock of crockery and glassware. Mr. Randal is a native of Islington, London, where he was brought up to mercantile life. He came to New Zealand per ship “Eastminster,” landing in Nelson. He speedily came to Wanganui, where he has resided ever since. Mr. Randal has considerable musical ability, and is well known as page 1437 a successful conductor of musical performances and anniversary celebrations in connection with the Wesleyan Church, of which he is choirmaster. He is always ready to assist in any charitable effort, and occupies a position of trust in the Benefit Lodge of the Sons and Daughters of Temperance.
Stevenson, James Lockhart, Grocer, Provision and Wine and Spirit Merchant, corner of Ridgway Street and Wicksteed Place, Wanganui. Telephone 37;P.O. Box 91. Private residence, Wicksteed Place. This well-known business was established by Mrs. Stevenson, and on her retirement from business her son, Mr. James Lockhart Stevenson, who had managed the business for some years, came into possession. The premises are large and commodious, and are well stocked with a first-class and varied assortment of goods, which would be a credit to any firm in New Zealand. Mr. Stevenson's career is more fully referred to as Chief Magistrate of Wanganui, Mr. Stevenson having been elected mayor of the borough at the end of 1896.
Ball, George, General Storekeeper, Ball Street, Wanganui. Established 1880.
Fowler, Mrs. M. E., General Storekeeper, Barrack Street, Wanganui.
Hodgson, Mrs., Grocer, Guyton Street, Wanganui, Established 1892.
Holden, William, General Storekeeper, corner of Bell and Guyton Streets, Wanganui, Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Established 1894.
Jones, Mrs., Storekeeper, corner of Dublin and Campbell Streets, Wanganui. Established 1895.
Keith and Lennard (John Keith and Alfred Charles Lennard), Grocers and Storekeepers, Wine and Spirit Merchants, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Private residences, Wicksteed Street.
Lafferty, Mrs. M. J., Grocer, corner Bell and Liverpool Streets, Wanganui, Established 1866.
Longman, William, Grocer, corner of Dublin and Harrison Streets. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Established 1896.
Mailman, Mrs. L., Grocer, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Established 1892.
Morton, William, General Storekeeper, corner of Victoria Avenue and Gyton Street, Wanganui. Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Established 1882.
O'Hara, William Richard, General Storekeeper, corner of Guyton and Nixon Streets, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Established 1888.
Quin, Mrs. J. D., General Storekeeper, corner Bell and Ingestre Streets, Wanganui. Established 1892.
Richardson, J. C., Grocer, etc., corner Liverpool and Ball Streets, Wanganui.
Gilberd, J. B., and Sons (J. B. Gilberd, William Gilberd and Henry Gilberd), Soap Manufactories, Castlecliff, Wanga nui. Telephone 83; P.O. 11. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. The factory, which is of wood and iron and two stories in height, is erected on freehold land. Every necessary appliance is available for the manufacture of all classes of soap. The trade is chiefly on the west coast of the North and the South Island.
McFarlane, John, Ship Chandler and Sailmaker, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. P.O. Box 41. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, St. Hill Street. This business was established in 1878 by the present owner, in conjunction with his brother, Mr. Daniel McFarlane, under the style of J. and D. McFarlane, which continued till 1888, when Mr. D. McFarlane retired from the business and three years later went to California. Until 1896 the business was conducted in a wood and iron building, having about 1200 square feet of floorage space, situate on Taupo Quay, within a stone's throw of the Railway Wharf. The new premises lately taken by Mr. John McFarlane are known as Waters' Buildings. This fine two-story building, which is in every respect suitable for the requirements of the trade, is centrally situated in the Avenue. The shop and show-rooms occupy the ground-floor of the new building, which was erected to suit the convenience of Mr. McFarlane's business, the workrooms being on the upper floor. Five skilled hands are regularly employed in connection with the establishment. Mr. McFarlane has complete arrangements for procuring calico, canvas, sheetings, Irish lines, and Manchester goods, direct from the Home markets. He is, therefore, able to supply his patrons with whatever may be required in his line on the very best terms as to price and quality. As Mr. McFarlane's business is largely with the shipping, a large assortment of ship's chandlery goods is regularly stocked. Mr. McFarlane was born in 1852 at Troon, Ayshire, Scotland, where he was educated, but when still very young he went with his parents to St. John, New Brunswick, where his father started ship-building on St. John's River. After a few years the family returned to the “land of brown heath and shaggy wood”. Mr. John McFarlane was apprenticed to the sailmaking trade with Messrs Miller and Dickie, of Troon, and on completing his indentures had five years' experience at sea, during which time he learnt much that has been useful to him in his business. He visited different parts of the world—including California, New York, the West Indies, and other places—and came to New Zealand in 1874 by the ship “Auckland” (Captain McDougall), landing at Dunedin. Three days after he joined the schooner “Janet Ramsay,” and left her on arrival in Wanganui. Selecting the town as a suitable place in which to settle, Mr. McFarlane worked for three years with Captain Farnie, and gained a knowledge of the district and its people. Like many other young men, he was at the time of the West Coast rush smitten with the gold-fever, but, tiring of life on the diggings, he page 1438 went back to Scotland, and after a pleasant visit brought his brother Daniel with him to the Colony, arriving in Wanganui just three weeks before the death of Captain Farnie, his former employer. It was at this time that Mr. John McFarlane, with his brother, founded the firm of J. and D. McFarlane, as already stated. Mr. J. McFarlane is married, and has one son.
Horwood, Thomas, Umbrella Repairer, Taupo Quay, Wanganui. Estab. 1872.
Smith and Millward (Alfred Smith and Charles F. Millward). General Carriers, Forwarding and Customs Agent, Taupo Quay, opposite the railway station, Wanganui. Telephone 96; P.O. Box 60. Bankers. Bank of New Zealand. Private residences: Mr. Smith, Wilson Street; Mr. Millward, Guyton Street. Agents, at Home and throughout the colonies, New Zealand Express Company. The business so successfully carried on by Messrs. Smith and Millward was established in 1875 by Mitchell and Earl. It was purchased by the present proprietors in 1894, and under their energetic management it has made rapid progress. The outside work is attended to by Mr. Smith, the senior partner, and the mercantile part of the business is under the sole management of Mr. Millward. Both partners are thoroughly acquainted with the work of their several departments. The firm are agents in Wanganui for the New Zealand Express Company and the Wesport Coal Company. Their business operations are extensive and widespread. Mr. Smith was born at Whan, near Auckland, now named Avondale, and has been from his earliest infancy accustomed to the management of horses. He was for a time on the Thames goldfields, and has been for the last twenty years in Wanganui. Mr. Millward is a native of Liverpool, and came to the colonies via Melbourne, in 1879. He gained his mercantile experience as a clerk in the offices of the Union Steamship Company of Wellington, in which capacity he was thoroughly well known, and was very popular in the Empire City. Mr. Smith has been for several years a member of the Manchester Unity of the Independent Order of Oddfellows.
Cholmeley and Baner, Livery Stable Keepers, Wanganui.
Balmer's Commercial Livery and Bait Stables, Ridgway Street and Campbell Place, Wanganui. Established 1856.
Gordon, C., Livery Stable Proprietor, Taylorville, Wanganui. Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Established 1868.
Martin, Edward, Coach Proprietor and Signwriter, Guyton Street, Wanganui. Established 1894.
Black, Hugh, Watchmaker and Jeweller, Victoria Avenue. Telegraphic address, “Black, Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of New Zealand. Mr. Black is a native of Aberdeenshire, Scotland, where he learned his business. He came to New Zealand in 1876, per ship “Maulesden,” arriving in Port Chalmers. He found employment with the well-known firm of Messrs. G. and T. Young, of Dunedin, with whom he remained for three years, during the greater portion of which time he was manager of that firm's branch at Timaru. Mr. Black was subsequently in business for two and a-half years in Temuka, but removed to Wanganui in 1882, and established the present business. The premises are leasehold, and were built for the purpose of his business, Mr. W. Aitken designing the building. Mr. Black's business extends all over the West Coast of the North Island. He is a direct importer, as found desirable. He undertakes everything in the watchmaking and jewellery line. His shop is well appointed in every respect, and a considerable and divers stock is always on hand. Mr. Black is a member of the Oddfellows' Order, and an ex-member of the Wanganui School Committee.
Nettleship, William, Working Jeweller, Wilson Street, Wanganui. Bankers, National Bank of New Zealand. Mr. Nettleship is a native of London, and came out to Victoria as a lad in 1851, per schooner “Robert and Betsy,” ninety tons, taking eight months on the voyage. Mr. Nettleship claims to have been the first to be apprenticed to his trade in Victoria. He completed his term in 1855. Mr. Nettleship came to New Zealand in 1869, working at his trade off and on for some years. He established the present business in 1879, and has a convenient shop and comfortable dwellings erected on freehold land from his own plans as above. Mr. Nettleship has a complete plant, including rolling mill, lathe, and every appliance His trade extends along the West Coast. He undertakes every description of work that may be required, and may be depended upon to turn out anything entrusted to his care in first-rate style. Mr. Nettleship has been connected with the volunteer rifles in Wellington and Wanganui for about fifteen years.
Springman, Rodolph, Watchmaker and Jeweller, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Springman, Wanganui.” Mr. Springman is a native of Eisenbach, Germany. In 1873 he left his native place for London, where he spent some ten years. He was apprenticed to Mr. E. Dilger, watchmaker and jeweller, of 34 Perceval Street, London, completing his term in 1878. He was then for about a year employed by Mr. Ruff, of Goswell Road, London, E.C., and afterwards for some three-and-a-half years with Mr. G. W. Benson, watchmaker, etc., of Ludgate Hill, E.C. In 1883 Mr. Springman left London for New Zealand per s.s. “British Queen,” under engagement to Messrs. Petersen and Co., jewellers, etc., of Christchurch, with whom he remained upwards of three years. He then removed to Opotiki, in the Bay of Plenty, where he established himself in business, but soon removed to Coromandel, where he lived for about three years. In 1890 he arrived in Wanganui, and for one-and-a-half years was in the page 1439 employ of Mr. A. Mayer, of Victoria Avenue. He then bought out his employer's business, and has conducted it ever since. He has a good shop, in a prominent situation, and does a fair business both in town and country. Many of his customers send in their repairs, etc., from a great distance. Mr. Springman has all the necessary appliances for his business, including three lathes. He is an energetic, clever workman, and deserving of encouragement.
Drew, S. H., Watchmaker and Jeweller, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. P.O. Box 83.
Forbes, J., Watchmaker and Jeweller, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Bankers. Bank of New Zealand. Private residence, Wicksteed Street. Established 1887.
Salek and Co. (Isaac Salek), Watchmakers and Jewellers, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui.
Wychodil, Anton, Watchmaker, Ridgway Street, Wanganui. Established 1885.
Aiken, William, Junr., Timber Merchant, St. Hill Timber Yard and Sash Factory, St. Hill Street, Wanganui. Telephone 52; P.O. Box 82. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, Guyton Street. This business was established in 1887. The factory, which is a building of one and two stories, built of wood and iron, is of large size, half an acre of land being covered. The machinery is driven by an eight-horse-power steam-engine by Clayton and Shuttleworth, of Lincoln, England. Among the plant may be noted planing and moulding machines, and circular and band saws of the latest pattern, besides many other appliances for turning out well finished goods. Mr. Aiken does a large trade in sashes and doors, and sells immense quantities of timber, chiefly of rimu, totara, and matai. Mr. Aiken's parents arrived about they year 1852, in the early days of Wanganui, and here Mr. Aiken was born. Learning the business with his father, who was in the building line, he launched out on his own account, and has been successful in his enterprise. Mr. Aiken has long taken an active part in aquatics as [unclear: a] member of the Union Boating Club. In the contest, Wanganui against Foxton, he was one of the winning crew, and was also in the match against Wellington, when the team was again victorious.
Bassett, William George, Timber Merchant and Contractor, Wilson Street, Wanganui. Telegraphic address, “Bassett, Wanganui.” Telephone 84. P.O. Box 57. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. Private residence, St. John's Hill. Mr. Bassett commenced business as a contractor about 1874, since which he has secured contracts for the construction of many miles of railway, also for some of the largest bridges in the North Island. He has a specially-designed and complete plant for the manufacture of iron bridges. As a timber merchant he commenced business in 1894. He has extensive yards in Wilson Street, where he keeps a large and general stock of timber, builders' ironmongery, etc.
The Wanganui Sash and Door Factory and Timber Company, Limited (W. H. Clapham, chairman; John Notman, secretary; F. M. Spurdle, general manager). Offices, Taupo Quay; factory and yards, Churton, Ridgway, and Wilson Streets, Wanganui. Telephone 36; P.O. Box 66. Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Capital, £20,000 in 2000 shares of £10 each; £6 per share called and paid up. The company was established in May, 1883, and took over the business formerly carried on by Messrs. York and Cornfoot as timber merchants and woodware manufacturers. The factory buildings, which are situated at Taupo Quay, extend along Churton and Ridgway Streets, and occupy one-and-three-quarter acres of land, with extensive storage sidings alongside the railway. The total floorage space of the company's premises exceed 15,000 square feet. The company's business extends to all the settlements along the West Coast of the North Island, and also to Wellington, Marlborough, and Nelson. The plant is very complete, comprising all the latest improvements in planing, moulding, and other woodware machinery and is driven by a horizontal steam-engine, specially imported from Scotland for the company. The boiler was made by Mr. D. Murray, of Wanganui. About forty hands are employed in connection with this large factory. All classes of goods are turned out, including tallow-casks, butter kegs, sashes and doors, and all kinds of farmers' and builders' requisites. The company are also manufacturers of Venetian blinds, and are direct importers of glass, oils, etc. This industrial concern is one of the largest in Wanganui and its course has been one of uninterrupted success. Mr. Spurdle, the general manager, is genial and popular. He is a borough councillor, and further particulars of his career are given in that connection.
Cooper, Leonard, Cooper, St. Hill Street, Wanganui. Established 1892.
Green, Robert W., Wood Turner, Venetian Blind Maker, etc., St. Hill Street, Wanganui. Private residence, Plymouth Street. Established 1895.
Harkness, F. A., Wood and Coal Merchant, corner of Wilson and Ridgway Streets, Wanganui. Established 1895.
Robinson, Robert, Wood Turner, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui.
Collier, H., and Co. (Herbert and Henry Collier), Music sellers, Piano and Musical Instrument Importers, Wanganui Music Warehouse, Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Branch, New Plymouth. Telegraphic address, “Collier, Wanganui.” P.O. Box 111. Bankers, Bank of Australasia. Private residence, Mr. H. Collier-Nixon Street; Mr. Henry Collier, Guyton Street. Both partners are natives of Manchester, and came to New Zealand about the year 1878, when the present business was established. The firm occupy large and convenient premises, very close to the Post-office in Victoria Avenue. The building is of two stories, and erected on leasehold ground, and contains accommodation for a very large and valuable stock. The firm are direct importers of musical instruments of all kinds, as well as music, and they hold sole agencies for the West Coast for Brimsmead and Haake's pianos. The specialties of their business are pianos and organs, in which they do a very large trade between Palmerston and New Plymouth. The firm have also a large tuning connection in the same extensive districts. Mr. Henry Collier has been a prominent teacher of music in Wanganui since 1878. At the time of writing Mr. Herbert Collier was on a visit to England.
Buffett, The (proprietor, J. Shelley), Victoria Avenue, Wanganui. Branch, Empire Temperance Hotel, corner Wicksteed Street and Campbell Place. Telegraphic address, “Buffet Wanganui.” Bankers, Bank of New South Wales. Private residence, Empire Temperance Hotel. The Buffet was established in 1887 by Mr. Shelley, who is also proprietor of the Empire Temperance Hotel. The latter he purchased in 1894, in consequence of the scarcity of room in connection with the more central establishment. The Buffet is in the very heart of the town, within a few doors of the Rutland Hotel and but a few yards of the post-office. Meals of good quality are provided at all hours, the tariff being one shilling all round, or for weekly boarders 20s. single rooms, and 18s. double bedrooms. The proprietor, Mr. Shelley, is a native of Greenwich, and was apprenticed to the Eastern Extension Telegraph Company of East-Greenwich. For several years after the completion of his term he continued with the company, and was one of the party sent out with the cable steam-ship “Edinburgh” to repair the cable between Port Darwin and Singapore, and to lay the first cable between Australia and New Zealand. This was in 1875. Mr. Shelley then left the service, and page 1440 went to the Palmer Diggings in Queensland. Soon afterwards he came over to this Colony, and was employed in Christchurch and Wellington, subsequently going to the Kimberley goldfields, and finally returning to New Zealand and settling as above. Mr. Shelley has done well in Wanganui, and conducts his establishment in such a manner as to merit a good share of the public patronage. Further particulars of the branch establishment are given under the head of the Empire Temperance Hotel.