Title: Sport 3

Editor: Fergus Barrowman

Publication details: Fergus Barrowman, October 1989, Wellington

Part of: Sport

Conditions of use



    mail icontwitter iconBlogspot iconrss icon

Sport 3: Spring 1989



Rob Allan lives in Port Chalmers. Karitane Postcards have been widely published in New Zealand, Australia and Canada.

Barbara Anderson's first book of short stories, I think we should go into the jungle, was shortlisted for the 1989 Goodman Fielder Wattie Award.

Sandra Arnold lives in Christchurch. She has had short stories broadcast on Radio New Zealand and published in Antipodes New Writing and Other Voices. She is fiction editor of Cornucopia.

Nigel Cox's second novel Dirty Work was published in 1987.

Terry Driessen has recently shifted from Auckland to Christchurch. Stories in New Women's Fiction 2 and 3.

Ken Edlin is a Wellington poet who has previously had work published in Islands and the Listener. As Ken Duncan, he is co-author with Rebecca Rodden of Jism and several other plays.

Russell Haley's biography of the painter Pat Hanly is to be published in November.

Lloyd Jones is the author of two novels, Gilmore's Dairy and Splinter. He was awarded the 1989 Katherine Mansfield Memorial Fellowship.

Bill Manhire's book of short fiction, The New Land, a Picturebook, will be published in March 1990. 'Hirohito' won the 1989 PEN Lilian Ida Smith Poetry Award.

Owen Marshall's selected stories, The Divided World, is published by John McIndoe Ltd this month.

Michael Mintrom is a Wellington poet.

Vincent O'Sullivan is well-known as a poet, short story writer, playwright and critic.

Maurice Shadbolt's novels include The Lovelock Version and Season of the Jew, which won the Goodman Fielder Wattie Award in 1987.

Elizabeth Smither's latest collection of poems, A Pattern of Marching, is published by AUP this year.

Douglas Standring lives in Palmerston North.

Chris Wallace-Crabbe is one of Australia's foremost poets. His latest collection is I'm Deadly Serious (Oxford, 1988).

Albert Wendt was born in Western Samoa and is now Professor of New Zealand and Pacific Literature at Auckland University. He is the author of a number of novels and collections of poems and short stories. 'Nightflight' was written in late 1987 and early 1988.

Tom Weston: lawyer in Christchurch; reviews for the Press; contributor to Art New Zealand.

Damien Wilkins's first collection of short stories, The Veteran Perils, was joint winner of the 1989 Heinemann Reed Award, and will be published in 1990.

Forbes Williams lives in Dunedin, enjoying the benefits of ozone depletion. 'The Lost Die' is from a longer work-in-progress called 'The Back Game'.

Elizabeth Wilson lives in Auckland.